Centenary of Federation & Australian CustomsPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

A plaque at the site of the former Customs House (now the Broome Historical Society Museum) commemorates the Centenary of Federation and Australian Customs. Customs House occupied the site in Broome from 1910 to 1979. 

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia agreed to unite and form the Commonwealth of Australia, establishing a system of federalism in Australia. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia. 

The Department of Trade and Customs is established as one of the first seven Commonwealth Departments of State following Federation. The Customs Act 1901 is given Royal Assent (3 October) and officially commences as the sixth act of Federation.


Address:67 Robinson Street, Broome Historical Museum , Broome, 6725
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -17.967851
Long: 122.236542
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event STart Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2001
Front Inscription

This plaque commemorates Customs House

Centenary of Federation


Customs occupied this building 1910 - 1979

Centenary of Federation
Centenary of Australian Customs


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design