St George`s BellsPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Father Ted Doncaster

The bells were dedicated, and inscribed accordingly, to each of the first three Bishops of Perth, Hale, Parry and Riley; to W. T. Loton, Treasurer of the Memorial Committee; to J. J. Talbot Hobbs and J. J. Harwood, Wardens in 1901; and to F. Goldsmith, the Dean. The bells were made and hung in the traditional English way, for change ringing, in which each bell describes an arc of 360 degrees to ring.

The original Bells were removed from the tower in 1974, seven of them being sent to England for recasting. Upon their return to Perth they were rededicated by Archbishop Sambell on 21 December 1975 and were rung for the first time on 4 February 1976.



Address:38 St Georges Terrace, St Georges Cathedral, Perth, 6000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -31.955866
Long: 115.861189
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Technology
Monument Theme:Culture
Monument Designer:John Warner & Sons (London, England)


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 22nd January, 1903
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design