Rotary Peace MonumentPrint Page Print this page

Rotary Peace Monument was erected to commemorate the advancement of international understanding, goodwill and peace, through a world fellowship of business and professional persons, united in the ideal of service "to work for peace".

The current Rotary Peace City/Town project started on November 13, 1990, when the Rotary Club of Wagga Wagga Kooringal agreed to support the project, to dedicate Wagga Wagga as a Rotary Peace City and to erect a peace monument in the city. The project was officially launched in Wagga Wagga in October, 1991, inspired by Past President Rajendra Saboo's theme Look Beyond Yourself with the symbol of the dove of peace flying over the world taken as the official Peace City/Town emblem.

On February 23, 1993, the first peace monument was unveiled by Past World President Royce Abbey and the then Mayor Pat Brassil declared the City of Wagga Wagga the first Rotary Peace City in the world.

There now are more than 20 peace counties, cities and towns in different countries in the world. Manila, in the Philippines, was the second Rotary Peace City to be declared on June 22, 1994, and the first outside Australia


Address:Ivan Jack Drive & The Esplanade, Wagga Wagga, 2650
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.110209
Long: 147.367275
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Tuesday 23rd February, 1993
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design