The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area Print Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams
Plaque officially dedicates the Greater Blue Mountains as a World Heritage Area in 2001. 

An area of one million hectares of vast, ancient and spectacular national park and wilderness, dominated by temperate eucalypt forest was formally inscribed on the World Heritage List on 29 November 2000 marking the formation of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area.


Address:Govetts Leap Road, Obelisk, Govett`s Leap Lookout, Blackheath, 2875
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.627975
Long: 150.311497
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 12th May, 2001
Front Inscription

Senator the Hon Robert Hill
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
On behalf of the Commonwealth Government 

The Hon Bob Debus MP
Minister for the Environment 
On behalf of the NSW Government

officially dedicated
The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area 
12th May 2001

On 29 November 2000 The Greater Blue Mountains Area was inscribed on the World Heritage List of Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage. Inscription on the World Heritage List confirms international recognition of the outstanding and universal value of the Greater Blue Mountains Area and provides the protection of the property for the benefit of all humanity. 

The property comprises eight protected areas : - Wollami, Yengo, Gardens of Stone, Blue Mountains, Kanangra-Boyd, Nutta and Thirlmere Lakes National Parks and the Jenolan Caves Karst Conservation Reserve - and covers 1,032, 649 hectares. It is adjoined by seven other protected areas which form a buffer of 86,200 hectares. 

The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area  provides outstanding examples of on-going ecological and biological processes. These processes are significant in the evolution of Australia's mighty diverse ecosystems and communities of plants and animals, particularly its eucalypt-dominated ecosystems. 

The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area includes significant habitats for in situ conservation of biological diversity. This outstanding biological diversity includes the eucalypts and eucalypt-dominated communities, species with Gondwanan affinities and species of conservation significance. 

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design