British Pacific Fleet & East Indies Fleet Print Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Bryan Hardy
A monument commemorates those who died and those who served in the British Pacific and East Indies Fleets during World War Two.

The British Pacific Fleet (BPF) was a Royal Navy formation which saw action against Japan during the Second World War. The fleet was composed heavily of British Commonwealth naval vessels. The BPF formally came into being on 22 November 1944. Its main base was at Sydney, Australia, with a forward base at Manus Island.

The British Eastern Fleet (also known as the East Indies Fleet and the Far East Fleet) was a fleet of the Royal Navy which existed from 1941-1971. The Eastern Fleet was formally constituted on 8 December 1941, amalgamating the East Indies Squadron and the China Squadron. During the war, it included many ships and personnel from other navies, including from the The Netherlands, Australia, New Zealand and the United States. With the creation of the British Pacific Fleet in 1944/1945, the Eastern Fleet became the East Indies Fleet until the end of the war, when it became the Far East Fleet and operated in all Far East areas, including parts of the Pacific Ocean.


Address:Rockingham Beach & Governor Roads, Naval Memorial Park , East Rockingham , 6168
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -32.262431
Long: 115.74614
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict
Actual Event STart Date:03-September-1939
Actual Event End Date:15-August-1945


Front Inscription

In memory of those who died and all who served in the British Pacific Fleet and the East Indies Fleet

1939 - 1945

They are not forgotten

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design