Seymour War Memorial Print Page Print this page

Seymour War Memorial : 21-October-2011
Seymour War Memorial : 21-October-2011

Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders / Sandra Brown

Commemorates those who have served in the various conflicts in which Australia has been involved.


Address:ANZAC Avenue, Seymour, 3660
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.028439
Long: 145.142792
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 9th November, 1986
Front Inscription

Lest We Forget

Plaque 1 :

This memorial cairn honours the memory of all men and women of the armed forces of Australia who have served and paid the supreme sacrifice in the defence of our nation.

"They shall not grow old as we that are left grow old, age shall not weary them nor the years condemn.  At the going down of the sun and in the morning we will remember them."

"Lest We Forget"

Plaque 2 :

Memorial Cairn ANZAC Avenue, Syemour

This memorial cairn was unveiled by the State President of the Returned Services League Victorian Branch Mr. Bruce Carlyle Ruxton OBE at the dedication service held on SUnday 9th November 1986

Plaque 3 :

This plaque is dedicated to those who served in Vietnam 1962 - 1975



Back Inscription

Lest We Forget

Plaque 1 :

This memorial cairn was erected by the Seymour SUb-Branch of the Returned Service League to replace the original avenue of trees which were planted by the citizens of Seymour in 1917.  Each tree represented a district soldier who enlisted and served in the 1914-1918 war.  The carriage-way known then as Old Trawool Road was renamed ANZAC Avenue.

In 1982, to permit road duplication, the avenue of trees was removed, and by the erection of this memorial the Seymour Sub-Branch R.S.L. trust that the history and tradition of ANZAC Avenue will always be preserved.

President : Ralph E. Wilson  Secretary : Ian D. Paterson

Plaque 2 :

Korean War 1950 - 1953 Active Service  1953 - 1956 Peacekeeping

Plaque 3 :

This plaque is dedicated to those who served in the Boer War 1899 - 1902 

Plaque 4 :

This plaque is dedicated to those who served in WWII 1939 - 1945 

Plaque 5 :

The Seymour Sub-Branch of the Returned Services League gratefully acknowledge the assistance given for the erection of this memorial cairn :

By the officers and men of : 21 Construction Squadron, R.A.E., Puckapunyal

Also the co-operation from : Shire of Seymour  Seymour Water Board  Road Construction Authority  A. Giannarelli & Sons  Mr. P. F. Block   Aggregate Contracting Co. Pty. Ltd.  Mr. L. W. McCarthy  The citizens of Seymour who freely gave their time.

President : Ralph E. Wilson Secretary : Ian D. Paterson


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design