Temora War MemorialPrint Page Print this page

31-March-2018 (Peter Williams)
31-March-2018 (Peter Williams)

Photographs supplied by Roger Johnson / Peter Williams

Temora War Memorial commemorates those from the district who have served in conflicts in which Australia has been involved. The original memorial was unveiled in 1922 and stood at the intersection of DeBoos and Loftus Streets. It was removed to its present location in 1971. 

Monument Characteristics:
The memorial is in three parts with the central original monument being a 4.5m high trachyte obelisk with polished grey granite tablets bearing names from World War One. There are panels of wrought iron between the stone corner buttresses, and on either side are granite obelisks commemorating those who served in later wars.


Address:Loftus Street, Callaghan Park, Temora, 2666
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.445625
Long: 147.536815
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Tuesday 25th April, 1922
Front Inscription

[ Names ]

Erected in memory of the men who fought and died for the cause of freedom in the Great War 1914 - 1918.

"Their Name Liveth For Evermore."

Lest We Forget
1939 - 1990

For God King & Country
Temora & District
1939 - 1945 
[ Names ]


Left Side Inscription

[ Names ]

Back Inscription

[ Names ]

Right Side Inscription

[ Names ]

Lest We Forget 1939 - 1990

[ Names ]

Inscription in Proximity

The 1914 - 18 Memorial
This memorial was originally built by public subscription in the centre of the intersection of DeBoos and Loftus Streets. The foundation stone was laid by Mr Duncan Sinclair on the 4th August 1921. The memorial was unveiled by Mrs R Harvey on ANZAC Day 1922.

Senator Pearce, Minister for Home Affairs represented the Prime Minister, and the Dedication was lead by the Rev Malcomson, the Presbyterian Minister. This memorial was moved to its present position in March 1971.

The 1939 - 2000 Memorial
These memorials were erected by the Temora RSL Sub-branch and were unveiled by Mr Bert Donaldson and Mr Gerry Mannion. They were dedicated by members of the Ministers Fraternal, Father Harding, Rev Woodlands Envoy Maynard and Flt Lieut Harvey of RAAF Base, Wagga

Source: SKP, NRWM, MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design