Seafarers Memorial (Flying Angel House) Print Page
The Sydney Bethel Union Society (as it was known initially) was formed in Sydney in 1822 on the initiative of the Rev William Cowper an Anglican clergyman to provide 'religious and secular instruction and social recreation to seamen of all nations visiting the port of Sydney.'
In late 1990 the Trustees of the Sydney Bethel Union submitted a successful tender to the NSW Government to acquire a property at 320-324 Sussex Street, Sydney for A$2.35 million After completion of necessary alterations to render it suitable for the Mission's operations, the building was officially named Flying Angel House by the Governor of NSW, Rear Admiral Peter Sinclair AC RAN (Rtd) at a dedication ceremony on 20 June 1993.
|Address:||320-334 Sussex Street , Sydney, 2000|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -33.875135|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Actual Monument Dedication Date:||Sunday 20th June, 1993|
This Historic Building Is Classified By The National Trust Of Australia (N.S.W) And Is Listed In The Heritage Inventory Of The Council Of The City Of Sydney. It Was Formerly The Sussex Street Public School Erected In 1875 Under The Architectural Direction Of George Allen Mansfield. The Property Was Purchased In 1990 By The Sydney Bethel Union To Serve As The Home Of The Flying Angel International Seafarers' Centre Originally Established At 100 George Street North In 1856 As A Mission To Seamen.
These Premises Stand As A Memorial To The Seafarers Of The Merchant Service Whose Sacrifice In The Wars Often Passed Unnoticed, But Upon Whose Skill And Service The Nations` Survival Depended.
The Sydney Bethel Union Is A Public Charitable Organisation Founded In 1822 And Subsequently Constituted By An Act Of The New South Wales Parliament In 1851 To Provide For The Welfare Of Seaman Of All Nationalities Visiting The Port Of Sydney.
Trustees Of The Sydney Bethel Union:
John Grant Denton O.B.E. Clive Benson Goodwin
William Macquarie Cowper Peter Corsar Anderson
Secretary: J.A.Pringle 20.6.1993