Royal Australian Air Force Memorial Cairn Print Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The Memorial cairn commemorates the service of the men and women of the Royal Australian Airforce in war and peace. 

In 1952, five sites on the Federal Highway near Canberra were selected by the Canberra Remembrance Driveway Auxiliary, comprising community and ex-service organisations, to be part of the proposed Remembrance Driveway from Sydney to Canberra. Three sites near the junction with Majura Road were assigned for the Army, Navy and Air Force. The memorial cairn was commenced in the 1960s with plans for it to become the centrepiece in the Memorial Grove. The memorial cairn was not completed until 1980. An ex-RAAF member tradesman stonemason George Kerridge dedicated his time and skills voluntarily to design the cairn and to bring out the qualities of the sandstone.  

Two bottles inside the cairn contain a record of the construction - a lay person's time capsule.  One contains the names of all those who laboured so hard to bring the project to fruition, the other holds the names of Harry Stenborg and Kerridge.  They were the last two to work on the cairn and put their own "time capsule" inside before the top was sealed and the job considered finished as far as the base was concerned. To complete the task, an aluminium cross was later erected on top using a helicopter and with assistance of  air force personnel from RAAF Base Fairbairn.

The memorial was rededicated in 2003.



Address:Federal Highway, RAAF Memorial Grove, Majura, 2609
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.211571
Long: 149.190164
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Conflict
Monument Designer:George Kerridge


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 20th July, 1980
Front Inscription

Plaque 1 :


We Remember Them        

Plaque 2 : 

This memorial commemorates the service and committment of the men and women of the Royal Australian Air Force to the people of Australia in times of war and peace. 

Constructed in the 1960s by RAAF veterans 
the memorial forms part of the Remembrance Driveway.

First dedicated on 20 July 1980 by Chaplain J.G. (Jack) Leonard AM.
The memorial was rededicated on 22 February 2003 by 
Principal Air Chaplain Royce Thompson in the presence of 
the Chief of Air Force, Air Marshal Angus Houston AM AFC 

"Lest We Forget" 

RAAF Association - ACT Division

Source: MA, SKP
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design