Rats of Tobruk MemorialPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The monument commemorates those who gave their lives during the Siege of Tobruk and those who have died since.   It is a replica of that built by Australian Divisional Engineers in the Tobruk Cemetery, Libya during the siege, and it lists more than 100 names of local men who served at Tobruk.

The Siege of Tobruk was a confrontation that lasted 241 days between Axis and Allied forces in North Africa during the Western Desert Campaign of World War Two. The siege started on 10 April 1941, when Tobruk was attacked by an Italo–German force under Lieutenant General Erwin Rommel and continued for 241 days up to 27 November 1941, when it was relieved by the Allied 8th Army during Operation Crusader.

The “Rats of Tobruk” was the name given to the soldiers of the garrison who held the Libyan port of Tobruk against the Afrika Corps during the Siege. 

The garrison, commanded by Lieutenant General Leslie Morshead, consisted of the 9th Australian Division (20th, 24th, and 26th Brigades), the 18th Brigade of the 7th Australian Division, four regiments of British artillery and some Indian troops.



Address:Goldsmith Street , Queens Park, East Mackay, 4740
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -21.146379
Long: 149.194558
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict
Actual Event STart Date:10-April-1941
Actual Event End Date:27-November-1941


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 4th March, 2001
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design