Jubilee GatePrint Page Print this page

Diane Watson
Diane Watson

Photographs supplied by Diane Watson / Sandra Brown

The gate commemorates the Commonwealth Jubilee of 1951.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Mount Lindesay Highway, Woodhill Community Hall, Woodhill, 4285
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.899884
Long: 152.974645
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Gate
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-1951


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1951
Front Inscription

Erected by Woodhill and District during Commonwealth Jubilee celebrations


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design