## Dr. K. O. Jones' Memorial Baby Health Centre, Campbelltown

## (CONTRIBUTED)

The committee of the above Memorial held its final meeting on the Thursday evening in the last week in May, when the President (Mr. P. C. Marlow) occupied the chair. Also present were Mrs. M. Lysaght and Mr. Fred Sheather (Vice-Presidents), Mrs. P. C. Marlow, Mrs. F. J. Sedgwick, Mrs. J. Nash. Mr. Harley Daley, Mr. W. J. Farrow (Hon. Treas.), Mr. E. M. Clissold and Mr. Ray Veness (Hon. Sec.). An apology was received from Mr. C. A. Nicol. A letter was received from the Campbelltown Municipal Council agreeing, at the request of the Committee, to take over the balance of the debt owing on the Centre. A resolution was unanimously carried placing on record the committee's appreciation of the Council's action. It was further decided to pay an amount of £220 to the Council towards the liquidation of the debt and to make available to the Ladies' Committee of the Baby" Health Centre the sum of £20 to enable it to purchase some necessary equipment. A resolution was also carried placing on record the committee's appreciation of the services rendered by Mr. Ray Veness during the period he had been Hon. Secretary. Also, that the Dr. K. O. Jones Memorial Committee cease to function any further.

Appended is a short synopsis dealing with the inauguration of the memorial up to the time of the ceasing of the committee's activities.

1944—April 20th. The Memorial Committee was formed as the result of a Public Meeting called by the Mayor. a Public Meeting called by the Mayor.
Foundation officers were: President, Mr.
P. C. Marlow; Hon. Treasurer, Mr. D.
M. James; Hon Secretary, Mr. R. F.
Blomfield. July—It was decided to erect
a Baby Health Centre.

1945—The committee had the sum of  $\pounds 401$  in hand. In the month of March the first annual meeting was held, when the Hon. Treasurer reported that there was an amount of  $\pounds 637$  in hand.

1946—in the month of February the Department of Lands refused to grant the committee a site on "Mawson Park" for the Centre. A site in Railway Street was suggested. In March the second annual meeting was held, when it was disclosed that there was a sum of £931 in hand. Mr. P. Solomon was elected President and Mr. Ray Veness Hon. Secretary. In July a suggestion was made to purchase a site for the Centre on the School of Arts land in Lithgow Street. Mr. W. J. Farrow was elected Hon. Treasurer.

1947—During the month of August the committee decided to re-open the question of endeavouring to secure a site for the Centre on "Mawson Park."

1948—During this year the committee was successful in securing a site for the Centre on "Mawson Park," and Mr. R. Lindsay Little was appointed Architect, but the Building Permit was not obtained until 1949.

1949—In August the Building Permit was granted and tenders were called for the erection of the Centre. During the month of November the tender of Messrs. Webb Bros., of Parramatta, was accepted. In December, Messrs. W. J. Farrow and F. Rider offered to act as guarantors if such were required.

1950—The erection of the Centre was completed in the month of September. On the 28th October the Centre was officially opened by Mrs. H. Jones on the ficially opened by Mrs. H. Jones on the occasion of the holding of a Carnival to raise funds. At that time the Centre was being used.

1951—The nett proceeds of a Carnival held amounted to £190.

1952—in the month of April the Campbelltown Municipal Council agreed to take over the balance of the debt outstanding on the Centre. Mr. J. Lappin was Hon. Auditor during the entire period of the Committee's activities.