Bill Nutting Print Page
A cross commemorates stockman, Bill Nutting, who went missing in 1927. The cross was supplied by the Council and erected by a local tradesman is set in a small stone cairn using the depression dug by Nutting`s dog who stayed with his master for several weeks before returning home.
Bill Nutting was a stockman for a family living at Meander. During the summer he worked as a stockman and in winter he trapped animals for furs. He left Split Rock House in Liawenee in July 1927 and was never seen alive again. His two dogs returned one after another followed by his horse. Extensive search parties were organised once the heavy snow had eased in August and September and some of Nuttings movements were retraced. The trail petered out and when Nutting was not discovered by late September he was presumed dead. Not until November 1927 did George Ritter discover his remains near a place called the Walls of Jerusalem. His remains were brought back to Meander for burial.
|Address:||Lake Nutting near Walls of Jerusalem, Meander, 7304|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -41.80931|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Approx. Monument Dedication Date:||1986|