William O`DonnellPrint Page
Memorial recognises the contribution to the East Kimberley by William O'Donnell who surveyed the Lower Ord River with William Carr-Boyd in 1883.
In 1883 an expedition led by W. J. O'Donnell, on behalf of the Cambridge Downs Pastoral Association, left Katherine to explore the country around the Cambridge Gulf hoping to establish a sheep station. The party of six men, including a cook and an Aboriginal boy, with twenty-six horses and provisions for six months, left Katherine on the 26 March. O'Donnell named the impressive Carr Boyd Range after his companion on 26 May 1883.
|Address:||O`Donnell Street, Wyndham HIstorical Society Museum , Wyndham, 6740|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -15.461533|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Monument Manufacturer:||Wyndham Historical Society|
THIS MEMORIAL RECOGNISES THE
CONTRIBUTION TO EAST KIMBERLEY BY
WHO (WITH WILLAM CARR-BOYD)
SURVEYED THE LOWER ORD RIVER IN 1883.
O'DONNELL STREET ADJACENT TO THIS MEMORIAL
WAS NAMED IN HIS HONOUR
Erected By The Wyndham Historical Society