Vincent Guy Kable Print Page
The building was dedicated in memory of Town Clerk and Electrical Engineer, Vincent Guy Kable. Inside the building is a bas relief sculpture and plaque erected by the Local Government Clerks Association of New South Wales in his memory.
Known as The V Guy Kable Memorial Arts Memorial Arts Building, it was opened on the 16th June 1961. The building has since been renovated and is now known as the V Guy Kable Building.
Guy Kable became Town Clerk at the age of 21 and the town`s chief electrical engineer in 1925. In his post of Town Clerk and Electrical Engineer he involved himself in Tamworth`s electricity undertakings, expanding electricity supply to rural areas and towns more than 100 miles away. This experience led to his appointment to the State`s Electricity Advisory Committee in 1939, and then to the State Electricity Authority. Described by some as the "ablest town clerk in the State", he was a constant advocate of increased powers for local government.
A fund launched shortly after his death for a memorial park raised only 713 pounds. Five years later the idea of a Memorial Arts building was adopted, and this was built partly through the funds raised by the sale of the Town Hall annexe to the Peel Valley County Council, despite the opposition from some aldermen.
In 1961 a set of decorative panels for the Arts Building were completed and the building was officially opened. The panels are fashioned in plastic by an Italian artist and depict Australia without human habitation, the pursuits and legends of the Aboriginal people, the labours of white men and the Tamworth skyline in its contemporary form.
|Address:||203 Marius Street, Tamworth, 2340|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -31.089722|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Sub-Theme:||Government - Local|
AND TO THE MEMORY OF
VINCENT GUY KABLE
FROM THE ASSOCIATION
OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT CLERKS
OF NEW SOUTH WALES
OF WHICH HE WAS
AT THE TIME OF HIS DEATH