Wudinna Pioneers MemorialPrint Page
Old trough and pump stands as a monument to the courage and endurance of the pioneers of Wudinna since 1860.
The Wudinna area was first settled by Europeans in 1861 when Robert George Standley lodged a claim for 10 sq. miles of land surrounding Weedna Hill ('weedna' later became changed to Wudinna which may be an Aboriginal word meaning 'the granite hill').
In 1896 W. A. Barns and A. J. Inkster acquired the Wudinna Hill lease and it was transferred to W. A. Barns in 1905. The property was sub-divided for agricultural development in 1912 and Barns retained the area adjacent to Mount Wudinna. In 1922 the South Australian government built a wall, drains, silt trap and tank on Mount Wudinna to conserve runoff water for use on nearby farms. Wudinna township, which is larger than most of the wheatbelt towns in the area, was surveyed in 1915 and gazetted the following year
|Address:||Burton Terrace & Naylor Street, Opposite Bowling Club, Wudinna, 5652|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -33.049791|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Actual Monument Dedication Date:||Saturday 10th October, 1964|
THIS PLAQUE WAS ERECTED 10-10-64 BY RESIDENTS OF WUDINNA AND SURROUNDING DISTRICTS.
IT PERPETUATES THE COURAGE, FORESIGHT AND DETERMINATION OF PIONEERS AND EARLY SETTLERS FROM THE YEAR 1860. J.R. DUNSFORD DIRECTOR OF LANDS P.H. QUIRKE MINISTER OF LANDS
THIS TROUGH WAS ORIGINALLY SITED NEAR THIS POINT WAS USED TO WATER HORSES. IT COMMEMORATES THE VITAL ROLE THEY PLAYED IN PIONEERING DAYS OF THE DISTRICTS.