www.monumentaustralia.org.au

Settlement

After the discovery of Australia, and as exploration continued, there came people from various countries to undertake the settlement of Australia. This category contains the public monuments and memorials which were erected to the settlement of Australia since the first arrival of Europeans in New South Wales in 1788.

Click here to perform a specific search on the `Landscape - Settlement` Sub Theme

Pioneer Memorial Gates
 Pioneer Memorial Gates
Address: Lower Hilgay Road, Cemetery
City/Town: Coleraine
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the early pioneers of the Coleraine district.



Pioneers Memorial
 Pioneers Memorial
Address: Stephens Street
City/Town: Booleroo Centre
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorates the pioneers of Booleroo Centre.



The Hundred of Booleroo was officially proclaimed in 1875 however no town was surveyed at this time. A town site in the hundred was surveyed by the colonial government in 1878, but the early European settlers established the town elsewhere. The hundred's name was derived from a local Aboriginal word. Sources vary on its meaning with suggestions including "plenty" or "soft mud". The town's location in the centre of the Hundred of Booleroo lead to the name Booleroo Centre.



" Bolt " Sculpture
" Bolt " Sculpture
Address: 2 Invermay Drive, UTAS Academy of The Arts
City/Town: Invermay
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The "Bolt" sculpture was commissioned by the School of Visual and Performing Arts, University of Tasmania to mark the city of Launceston's 2006 'It's About Us' celebrations.


"It's About Us 2006" , was a year long celebration that marked 200 years of European settlement of Launceston and recognised more than 35,000 years of Aboriginal settlement in the Tamar area.


" First Impressions " Sculpture
" First Impressions "  Sculpture
Address: Playfair Street
City/Town: The Rocks
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sandstone relief sculpture symbolises the origins and settlement of the colony. "First Impressions" was commissioned by the Sydney Cove Redevelopment Authority in 1979.



" To Sail, To Stop"
" To Sail, To Stop"
Address: George Street, Near Town Hall
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The sculpture celebrates the initiative of Viscount Sydney who sent the First Fleet in 1787 and after whom the the city of Sydney is named. It also marks the Chinese Community's early contribution to the city. The sculpture was commissioned with the support of Sydney's Chinese community and represents an anchor and a ship with sails unfurled. It was unveiled by Queen Elizabeth 11 on 23 February 1992.



"Cattle Chosen"
"Cattle Chosen"
Address: Cattle Chosen Homestead, off Vasse Highway
City/Town: Busselton
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque unveiled during Western Australia's centenary celebrations in 1929 and commemorates the first European residents home in the district in 1832.



 



"Coming and Going"
"Coming and Going"
Address: 2 Murray Street, National Maritime Museum
City/Town: Pyrmont
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

"Coming and Going " by Sasha Reid commemorates the 6000 child migrants from the United Kingdom and Malta. Around 6000 former child migrants were sent to Australia from child care institutions in the UK and Malta throughout the 20th century. These children were placed in charitable and religious institutions throughout Australia, and went on to make a valuable contribution to our society



"Counterbalance"
"Counterbalance"
Address: Bookpurnong Terrace
City/Town: Loxton
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The sculpture "Counterbalance" designed by Paul Johnson & Gail Mason commemorates 100 years since the proclamation of the town of Loxton.  The sculpture was designed in response to the Committee’s vision statement.



In 2007 Loxton celebrated the Centenary of the Proclamation of the town and in that year the community expressed a desire to develop a permanent feature to commemorate the Centenary. The committee undertook a community consultation process with over 350 individuals involving interviews, written comments, and group discussions and used the results to draft their vision statement.



The sculpture points directly north.  This creates a large sundial in which the tip of the triangle passes a shadow over the 13 rocks set in the planted areas. Silver metal beams and rods are all sandblasted, 2-pack epoxy undercoated followed by a 2-pack epoxy top coat.  10 rectangular boxes plus one triangular box made from 10mm clear Plexiglass, abraded to semi-opacity and coloured to look like both glass and the Murray River water.



The glass triangle in the dark red earth is Loxton’s Hut.  10 plates of glass represent each decade, increasing in scale and light as they unfold towards the future.  The industrial beams emphasise the constructive energy and achievement of the settlers over 10 decades. The lass area of the sculpture is illuminated at night by four LED spotlights embedded in the concrete from below and successfully sourced solar power.



"Footsteps in Time"
"Footsteps in  Time"
Address: 40 - 50 St Georges Terrace , St Martins Centre
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The five unique bronze statues, commissioned by St Martins Properties Pty Ltd, in the Footsteps in Time Sculptures commemorate the 175th anniversary of Western Australia and symbolise the business people who have built the CBD.



"La Famiglia"
"La Famiglia"
Address: Fairlight Street & Ramsay Road, Stevenson`s Reserve
City/Town: Five Dock
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The monument 'La Famiglia' is the result of collaboration between the Basilicata Region, the City of Canada Bay and Associazione Lucania of Sydney. This work symbolises the presence of Italians in Australia and the contribution given by them to the material and moral growth of this Country.



The initiative was taken by the Associazione Lucania of Sydney, in particular by its Federal President, Joe Di Giacomo, who wanted to fulfil the wish of his brother Donato, who passed away.



"Life From A Suitcase"
"Life From A Suitcase"
Address: Wharf Crescent
City/Town: Pyrmont
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Life size bronze sculpture created by Terrance Plowright was gifted to Australia as a celebration of immigration. The sculpture is located at Pyrmont Wharves 12 and 13 which was Sydney's reserve passenger terminal until 1994 and where many immigrants in the 1950s and 1960s first stood on Australian soil.



The sculpture was originally commissioned by Paul Signorelli to represent three generations of his family. Immigrant Biaggio Signorelli, from Sicily in Italy, landed here in 1954 as did his wife to be, Filipa in 1963. They raised a large dynamic family that went on to grow Doltone House, a collection of event venues around Sydney including one here in the redeveloped wharf building behind the sculpture.



"M.V Tom Brennan"
"M.V Tom Brennan"
Address: Birdsville Track, North of Etadunna
City/Town: Etadunna
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the restoration of the "M.V Tom Brennan" barge to commemorate South Australia's 150th Jubilee.



South Australia celebrated the 150th anniversary of European settlement in 1986 with a year of activities. The year of celebration was officially launched on New Year's Eve 1985, and concluded on Proclamation Day, 28 December 1986. Proclamation Day is South Australia's official birthday and commemorates the proclamation of the province of South Australia by Governor John Hindmarsh at Glenelg in 1836.



"M.V Tom Brennan" barge was used during major floods between 1949 and 1956 for transporting mail, stores and drovers across Cooper(s) Creek at Kopperamana Crossing, to stranded settlers on the Marree/Birdsville travelling stock route.



One of the early operators of the punt was Tom Kruse, the well-known Marree to Birdsville Mail Contractor. The barge was named after Dalgety’s Livestock Manager, Mr Tom Brennan, who was instrumental in providing it for the settlers. Dalgety & Co. Ltd presented the punt to the settlers on the Birdsville to Marree travelling stock route in 1949.



"Mick the Miner"
"Mick the Miner"
Address: Esplanade
City/Town: Cooktown
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A statue commonly known as "Mick the Miner" commemorates the 125th anniversary of the establishment of Cooktown.



On 14 August 1872, William Hann`s exploration party found gold in the bed of the Palmer River. His reports of the find led to the establishment of Cooktown and a rush to the Palmer goldfields. George Dalrymple was dispatched to investigate the feasibility of a port on the Endeavour River. Before receiving his report, the Leichhardt was sent with Government staff and prospective settlers. Dalrymple`s party arrived at the Endeavour River on 24 October 1873.



The Leichhardt steamed into the harbour one day later on 25 October. On board were Archibald Campbell MacMillan an engineer, who was to establish the overland track to the goldfield and seventy nine miners. As an alluvial field the Palmer River reached its peak in 1875. By 1886 it had declined and the fevered rush to mine its rivers, creeks and hills was almost over. Hard rock mining began in January 1876 and the last of the hard rock miners, Sam Elliot, died at his mine in 1986.



Despite the shortness of its reign as `The Queen of the North` the Palmer was an exceedingly rich field. Total production was in excess of 5.5 million pounds sterling ($11m). 94% of this sum was derived from alluvial workings with the remaining six percent coming from reefs.



"Nexus"
"Nexus"
Address: Lake Street, Between Aberdeen & Newcastle Streets
City/Town: Northbridge
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A stone and water sculpture marks Plateia Hellas (Plateia meaning town square and Hellas being the Ancient Greek name for Greece), an area between Aberdeen and Newcastle Streets that was designed to acknowledge and celebrate the Greek community in Northbridge.



Around the time of World War One, as the elite began to move out of the area, Northbridge became a hub of European immigration, especially Greek and Macedonian.  In the 1950s, post-war European migration brought with it a culture of outdoor coffees and al-fresco lifestyle.



The first Greek Church, the Greek Orthodox Church of Saints Constantine and Helene, was built in 1937 in what is now known as Northbridge. It soon became an integral part of the Greek community and a well known landmark within Perth.



"Ravenswood Estate" Soldier Settlement
"Ravenswood Estate" Soldier Settlement
Address: Bendigo-Maldon Road & Pinjarra Drive
City/Town: Lockwood
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the soldier settlement of "Ravenswood Estate" in 1952.


 


"SS Juno"
"SS Juno"
Address: Marine Parade
City/Town: Port Vincent
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque featuring SS Juno commemorates the centenary of the pioneers of the district, and the ships that served Port Vincent from 1875 to 1975. SS Juno was one of the ships that used to visit Port Vincent.



 



"The Beacon"
"The Beacon"
Address: Circular Quay, First Fleet Park
City/Town: The Rocks
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

" The Beacon"  sculpture was given to the people of Sydney by James Fairfax, in 1992, to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the first meeting of the Sydney City Council and the city's incorporation.



"The Gig" River Rescue Boat
"The Gig" River Rescue Boat
Address: Railway Street, Memorial Park
City/Town: Lowood
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A display of the rescue boat the "The Gig" commemorates the pioneers of the district.  



"The Gig" was a rescue boat built as a response to the February 1893 floods, which the Lowood community raised funds for its purchase.   The boat was used for rescuing flood victims and the transporting of supplies to isolated homes.



"Walking Together"
"Walking Together"
Address: Landsborough Highway & Curlew Road, Stockmens Hall of Fame
City/Town: Longreach
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The sculpture "Walking Together " commemorates pioneer women.



'The Crossing' Obelisk
Address: Edward & Myall Streets
City/Town: Dalby
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The memorial commemorates the first settlement of the area.  Known as "The Crossing " it pays tribute to Henry Dennis and other pioneers, teamsters and settlers. It was here that a camp was established on what would eventually become the township of Dalby by Henry Dennis, who was seeking out land on behalf of his wealthy employer Charles Coxen.


100 years of community
100 years of community
Address: Willaura-Wickliffe Road
City/Town: Willaura
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the contribution made by residents to the Willaura township and district for the last 100 years



100 Years of Settlement
100 Years of Settlement
Address: Bruce Highway, Cardwell Lions Park
City/Town: Cardwell
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates one hundred years of settlement in the Cardwell Shire.



100 Years of Settlement
100 Years of Settlement
Address: Pelican Waterhole
City/Town: Winton
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates 100 years of settlement at Winton which was originally called Pelican Waters. Pelican Waterhole was the original name of the settlement of Winton, and the original settlement was situated about one and a half kilometres from Winton. It consisted mostly of a tent city with only a few buildings. After being flooded out in 1876, the settlement was moved to its current location, to avoid flooding, and renamed to Winton. There are still remnants of the previous settlement at the site.

100 years of Settlement
100 years of Settlement
Address: Newell Street
City/Town: Marnoo
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorate 100 years of settlement in the Marnoo District from 1873 to 1973


100th Anniversary of Perth
100th Anniversary of Perth
Address: Barrack & Hay Streets, Perth Town Hall
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the 100th anniversary of Perth. The plaque was unveiled at the Town Hall by the Governor, Sir William Campion of the 12th August 1929.

100th Anniversary of the City of Sydney
100th Anniversary of the City of Sydney
Address: 483 George Street, Sydney Town Hall
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the centenary of the declaration of the town of Sydney as a city.



European settlement dates from 1788 when the soldiers and convicts of the First Fleet dropped anchor at Sydney Cove. Sydney began its life as a penal colony, with free settlers arriving from 1793. Early industries included whaling, sealing and shipping of wool. After the crossing of the Blue Mountains in 1813, growth began to increase. In 1842, shortly after transportation of convicts to New South Wales was abolished, Sydney was declared a city.



100th Archway
100th Archway
Address: Byrnes Street, Centenary Park
City/Town: Mareeba
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Trees in Byrnes and Mammino Streets commemorate the pioneers of Mareeba.



125 years of Fish Creek
125 years of Fish Creek
Address: Keane Street
City/Town: Fish Creek
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 125th anniversary of the Fish Creek township



125 Years Settlement of Yacka
125 Years Settlement of Yacka
Address: Main North Road
City/Town: Yacka
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Memorial commemorates the 125th anniversary of settlement of the township and district of Yacka.

125th Anniversary of Gazettal of Broome Townsite
125th Anniversary of Gazettal of Broome Townsite
Address: Hamersley & Weld Streets, Bedford Memorial Park
City/Town: Broome
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaques erected at the spots where two time capsules were buried to commemorate the 125th anniversary of the gazettal of Broome townsite in 1883. One time capsule buried by Mr Kim Male, Freeman of the Municipality of Broome is to be opened in 2083. The other buried by the children of Broome is to be opened in 2033.



In 1883, John Forrest selected the site for the town, and it was named after Sir Frederick Broome, the Governor of Western Australia from 1883 to 1889. Broome was gazetted as a townsite on the 27th November 1883. 



125th Anniversary of Port Adelaide
125th Anniversary of Port Adelaide
Address: 163 St. Vincent Street
City/Town: Port Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument consisting of a bell and plaques commemorates the 125th anniversary of the foundation of the City of Port Adelaide. It commemorates the services of Captains Collet Barker & Charles Sturt, Colonel William Light and the Pioneers of Port Adelaide.



125th Anniversary of Settlement
125th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: Victoria Road, Centennial Park
City/Town: Loch
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the 125th anniversary of the settlement of Loch.



Loch is a town in the South Gippsland region of Victoria, Australia which was established in 1876. The town was named in honour of a Governor of Victoria, Henry Loch.

125th Anniversary of the City of Sydney
125th Anniversary of the City of Sydney
Address: 483 George Street, Sydney Town Hall
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the 125th anniversary of the declaration of the town of Sydney as a city.



European settlement dates from 1788 when the soldiers and convicts of the First Fleet dropped anchor at Sydney Cove. Sydney began its life as a penal colony, with free settlers arriving from 1793. Early industries included whaling, sealing and shipping of wool. After the crossing of the Blue Mountains in 1813, growth began to increase. In 1842, shortly after transportation of convicts to New South Wales was abolished, Sydney was declared a city.



125th Anniversary of the Municipality
125th Anniversary of the Municipality
Address: Geelong Road
City/Town: Drysdale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Time capsule commemorates the 125th anniversary of the municipality


150 Years of British Settlement
150 Years of British Settlement
Address: 1 Logan Road, Falls Park
City/Town: Evandale
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The entrance gates to Falls Park were erected to commemorate 150 years of British settlement in Tasmania since 1803.



150 Years of European Settlement
150 Years of European Settlement
Address: Hunter Street
City/Town: Hobart
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates 150 years of European Settlement in Hobart.



The first European settlement in the Hobart area began in 1803 as a penal colony and a defensive outpost at Risdon Cove, officially named Hobart on the eastern shores of the Derwent River. This was undertaken under British concerns over the presence of French explorers in the South Pacific.  It began as a collection of tents and huts, with a population of 178 convicts, 25 marines, 15 women, 21 children, 13 free settlers and 10 civil officers.



In 1804 the settlement was moved was moved to a better location which was named "Hobart's Town" at the present site of Hobart at Sullivans Cove, making it the second oldest city in Australia.



 



150 Years of Robe Township Proclamation
150 Years of Robe Township Proclamation
Address: Beacon Hill Road, Beacon Hill Lookout
City/Town: Robe
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Beacon Hill Lookout commemorates 150 years of the proclamation of the Robe township.

150 years of Settlement
150 years of Settlement
Address: Livingstone Street
City/Town: Mathoura
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

 Commemorates 150 years of the settlement of Mathoura from 1846 to 1996



150 years of Settlement
150 years of Settlement
Address: Murray Street
City/Town: Barham
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates 150 years of the settlement of Barham Station and 100 years of the township



150 years of Settlement
150 years of Settlement
Address: Franklin Street, Sports Ground
City/Town: Westbury
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Entrance gates at the sports ground commemorate the Sesquicentennial year of settlement at Hobart in Tasmania.



The first settlement was by the British at Risdon Cove on the eastern bank of the Derwent estuary in 1803, by a small party sent from Sydney, under Lt. John Bowen. An alternative settlement was established by Capt. David Collins 5 km to the south in 1804 in Sullivans Cove on the western side of the Derwent, where fresh water was more plentiful. The latter settlement became known as Hobart Town, later shortened to Hobart, after the British Colonial Secretary of the time, Lord Hobart. The settlement at Risdon was later abandoned.

150 Years of Settlement in Napoleons
150 Years of Settlement in Napoleons
Address: 4715 Colac-Ballarat Road, Memorial Hall grounds
City/Town: Napoleons
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A cairn erected in 1988 commemorates 150 years of settlement in Napoleons.



150th Anniversary First Settlement
150th Anniversary First Settlement
Address: Gilbert Street , Latrobe Council
City/Town: Latrobe
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque marks the 150th anniversary of the first settlement in the municipality at Northdown in 1826.



 



150th Anniversary First Settlement (George Evans Memorial )
150th Anniversary First Settlement (George Evans Memorial )
Address: 44 Macedon Street, Bulla Shire Council Chambers
City/Town: Sunbury
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bust of pioneer settler, George Evans (1785-1876) of Emu Bottom set on a cylindrical blue column with a plaque at the base, placed in front of the Council offices, celebrating the 150th anniversary of the settlement of Sunbury.



The building of Emu Bottom homestead commenced circa 1836. George Evans (1785–1876), who had arrived on the Schooner Enterprize from Van Diemen’s Land in 1835, settled near modern day Sunbury. Emu Bottom, later called Emu Vale, was occupied by Evans, by squatting licence, as one of many large squatting runs on Crown land.



150th Anniversary Grove
150th Anniversary Grove
Address: Lovekin Drive, Kings Park & Botanic Garden
City/Town: Kings Park
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A grove of trees commemorate the 150th Anniversary of the founding of the state of West Australia.



The Swan River Colony was a British settlement established in 1829 on the Swan River, in Western Australia. In 1832, the colony was officially renamed Western Australia, when the colony's founding Lieutenant-Governor, Captain James Stirling, belatedly received his commission. However, the name "Swan River Colony" was used informally for many years afterwards.



150th Anniversary Mornington Township
150th Anniversary Mornington Township
Address: Main Street & Esplanade, Mornington Museum
City/Town: Mornington
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sculpture of a girl in period dress commemorates the 150th anniversary of the gazettal of Mornington township.



150th Anniversary of First British Settlement
150th Anniversary of First British Settlement
Address: Amity Quay, Outside Amity Brig
City/Town: Albany
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque unveiled during Queen Elizabeth's Silver Jubilee visit to Australia commemorates the 150th anniversary of the first British settlement in Western Australia. 



On the 9th of November 1826, Major Edmund Lockyer, together with a contingent of convicts, soldiers, a surgeon and storekeeper, left Sydney aboard the 'Amity' bound for King George III Sound. The Amity arrived on Christmas Day 1826.



Lockyer selected the site of what is now known as Albany for the crown and thus formed the first Western Australian settlement. Major Lockyer named his new town 'Frederickstown', after King George III's second son, His Royal Highness Prince Frederick Augustus, Duke of York and Albany - 'The Grand Old Duke Of York'.



Albany was settled some three years before the Swan River colony, later to be known as Perth.



150th Anniversary of Free Settlement
150th Anniversary of Free Settlement
Address: Hedley Avenue, German Station Park
City/Town: Nundah
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A tree commemorates the 150th anniversary of the free settlement in Nundah.

150th Anniversary of Macarthur
150th Anniversary of Macarthur
Address: High Street
City/Town: Macarthur
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A carving of a pioneer commemorates 150 years since Mcarthur was declared a town



150th Anniversary of Mooloolah
150th Anniversary of Mooloolah
Address: King & Bray Roads
City/Town: Mooloolah Valley
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A tree commemorates the 150th anniversary of the settlement of Mooloolah.

150th Anniversary of North Sydney
150th Anniversary of North Sydney
Address: Miller & Falcon Streets , St Leonards Park
City/Town: North Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A wishing tree planted for children and presented by Soroptomist International of North Sydney in 1988 commemorates the 150th anniversary of the settlement of North Sydney.



The township of St Leonards was laid out in 1836 in what is now North Sydney, bounded by what is now Miller, Walker, Lavender and Berry Streets. The plan of the township was approved by Governor Gipps and gazetted as St. Leonards on the 10th October 1838 and was changed to North Sydney on the 9th September 1893.



 



150th Anniversary of Oakbank
150th Anniversary of Oakbank
Address: Main Street, Oakbank Soldiers`Memorial
City/Town: Oakbank
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A time capsule commemorates the 150th year of the settlement of Oakbank.



The town was founded in about 1840 by Scottish brothers James and Andrew Johnston. The Johnstons had come out to South Australia in 1839, and by the following year were opening up the country in the Onkaparinga Valley near the present site of the township. The Johnston family hailed from Oakbank, Scotland district, and hence decided to name the new township Oakbank.



150th Anniversary of Parramatta
150th Anniversary of Parramatta
Address: Church St Mall , Town Hall
City/Town: Parramatta
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected in 1938 commemorates the proclamation of Parramatta as a city and its 150th anniversary. A second tablet also lists the names of the first council.



Parramatta became a city yesterday, the first day of its 150th anniversary celebrations. At a civic reception which inaugurated the celebrations The Governor, Lord Wakehurst, announced that he had that morning signed the bill which gave the town its new status. Lord Wakehurst was replying to an address presented by the Mayor of Parramatta, Alderman W. J. Irwin. He said that the close association of the early Governors of New South Wales with Parramatta, which was their country home until the middle of last century, gave him an added interest, in the celebrations. The people of the new city might well be proud of the wealth of history and tradition surrounding the institutions within their boundaries. The pen with which Lord Wakehurst signed the bill was brought to the reception in the pocket of the Chief Secretary, Mr. Gollan, who is the local member.



Mr. Spooner, the Minister for Local Government, said that Parramatta was the first city established by Act of Parliament In New South Wales and, as far as he knew, in Australia. It had already become the commercial centre of a Iarge district, But, he suggested, it had now the responsibility of establishing a new civic individuality and a new centre of culture.

The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW), 28 October 1938.



150th Anniversary of Perth
150th Anniversary of Perth
Address: Barrack & Hay Streets, Perth Town Hall
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the 150th Anniversary of the founding of Perth

150th Anniversary of Portland
150th Anniversary of Portland
Address: Cliff Street, Botanic Gardens
City/Town: Portland
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the 150th Anniversary of Portland.



150th Anniversary of Settlement
150th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: High Street
City/Town: New Norfolk
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the 150th Anniversary of the first settlement of the municipality of New Norfolk.



150th Anniversary of Settlement
150th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: Albury & Bathurst Streets, Mill Park
City/Town: Murrumburrah
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates 150 years of the settlement of Murrumburrah 


150th Anniversary of Settlement
150th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: High Street, Botanic Gardens
City/Town: Koroit
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the 150th anniversary of the settlement of Koroit.



150th Anniversary of Settlement
150th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: Queen & Bishop Streets
City/Town: Binda
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the 150th anniversary of the proclamation of Binda as a village, and past and present residents of Binda and district 


Binda is the oldest settlement in the area. Police were stationed at Binda in 1840 due to the number of bushrangers in the area. They set up a residence, lock-up and horse paddocks on the townsite.  The village was gazetted in 1851 and one of NSW's earliest national schools opened here in that year. Until the 1880s it was the main administrative centre of the district. The shire's first post office, government school, courthouse and police station were set up here.


150th Anniversary of Settlement
150th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: Colac-Ballarat Road, Beeac Windmill Heritage Park
City/Town: Beeac
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park which consists of a number of windmills commemorates the 150th anniversary of the township of Beeac . A pavilion covered in informative displays show the history of not only the windmills but how the town has evolved over its 150 years



The park contains examples of the work of the six manufacturers known to have conducted business there from the 1890s to the 1940s. All the windmills on display were donated by property owners in the district and restoration work was carried out by local Dick Shinners, a retired general engineer.



Beeac was originally created as a reserve for campers, and the name is thought to mean either "salt lake" or "grubs" in the local Aboriginal language. From 1860, the area was opened for selection and a townsite was surveyed in 1864.



 



150th Anniversary of Settlement
150th Anniversary of Settlement
Address: Heathcote - Nagambie Road, Costerfield Hall
City/Town: Costerfield
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 150th anniversary of the founding of Costerfield in 1861.


The Costerfield veins were discovered in the 1860s and have been mined for both gold and antimony, most extensively during two periods: 1860 – 1883 and 1904 – 1925. Ongoing exploration and intermittent small scale production continued during the period 1934 – 1980. Since 1983,  the Costerfield deposits have undergone more extensive exploration, resulting in the construction of a processing plant in 1995 to re-treat tailings and the oxide portion of the Brunswick deposit which was mined by open pit methods. In the period 1975 – 1981 the Augusta deposit was discovered with continued exploration and resource definition drilling resulting in the completion of a successful feasibility study and development of the Augusta underground mine in 2006.

 


150th Anniversary of Settlement of Hervey Bay
150th Anniversary of Settlement of Hervey Bay
Address: 13 Zephyr Street , Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
City/Town: Scarness
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates 150th Anniversary of Settlement of Hervey Bay.



European settlement at Hervey Bay commenced in the 1850s when it became part of a large cattle run. In 1863 Martin Boyle, who is credited as the first person to grow sugarcane in the area, became the first European settler on the bay.



During its early European settlement Hervey Bay was regarded as part of the Port of Maryborough, which served as an immigration port after Queensland gained independence from NSW in 1859. Sailing ships carrying migrants arrived at Hervey Bay from where their passengers were transported to the site of Maryborough on smaller vessels.



150th Anniversary of South Australia
150th Anniversary of South Australia
Address: King William Road, Brougham Gardens
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Floral Clock commemorates the 150th Anniversary of South Australia.



The mechanism for the clock was given by the Simpson family in memory of their son who was killed in a car accident in 1983. The remainder of the clock is from the Women’s Sesquicentenary Executive of the 150 Jubilee. The clock was started by Queen Elizabeth on Monday 10th March 1986.



150th Anniversary of the Foundation of Australia
150th Anniversary of the Foundation of Australia
Address: 483 George Street, Sydney Town Hall
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the 150th anniversary of the foundation of Australia in 1788.



 



150th Anniversary of the Naming of Hamilton
150th Anniversary of the Naming of Hamilton
Address: 2 Tarleton Street, Council Offices
City/Town: Hamilton
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the 150th anniversary of the naming of Hamilton

150th Anniversary of Town Naming
150th Anniversary of Town Naming
Address: High Street
City/Town: Seymour
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 150th anniversary of the naming of the township of Seymour in November 1843



150th Anniversary of Township
150th Anniversary of Township
Address: Perkins Street, Gerrans Reserve
City/Town: Jamieson
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the 150th anniversary of the foundation of the town of Jamieson.



150th Anniversary of Western Australia
150th Anniversary of Western Australia
Address: 27 St Georges Terrace
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Two street lamps commemorates the 150th anniversary of the founding of Western Australia.

170 Years of European Settlement
170 Years of European Settlement
Address: Randles Road, Connewarre and District Memorial Hall
City/Town: Connewarre
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plough commemorateS 170 years of European settlement at Connewarre.



The bluestone foundation for the farming implement came from the former Connewarre State School.



170 Years of Settlement
170 Years of Settlement
Address: Turner Street, Soldiers Memorial Park
City/Town: Helidon
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Helidon Town Clock and sculpture commemorates 170 years of settlement in the Helidon area. To celebrate 170 years of settlement in Helidon, the Helidon and District Progress Association Inc. invited families to purchase a brick to record their family their family name and date of settlement in the Helidon area. The bricks are paved around the Town Clock, which is erected in Soldiers Memorial Park.



 



Land on the Darling Downs was opened to Squatters in or around 1840. Brothers by the surname of Leslie were the first to setup a 'Run' (means large area of land) in the Helidon, Lockyer Creek Valley. In 1841 this area of land was still under the control of the Commissioner of Crown Lands at Port Macquarie and was named as part of the 'Colony of New South Wales'.

Upon obtaining a "License to Occupy", squatters could produce a Run for depasturising stations for sheep and cattle. the land and any new squatters within the Helidon Run had to be approved by the original license holder before the application was made to the commissioner.



170th Anniversary of the Sutton Grange Run
170th Anniversary of the Sutton Grange Run
Address: Faraday - Sutton Grange & Church Access Roads
City/Town: Sutton Grange
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the 170th anniversary of the settlement of the Sutton Grange Run by William Hutchinson and William Bowman in March 1838.

175th Anniversary "Solway" Arrival
175th Anniversary "Solway" Arrival
Address: Seaview Road, Reeves Point
City/Town: Kingscote
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the 175th anniversary of the arrival of the ship Solway at Reeves Point in 1837.



People from many parts of Germany gathered in Hamburg in June 1837 to board the Solway which was bound for South Australia. Many of the 52 who boarded were Lutherans seeking to practise their faith freely in a new land. All were setting out with the hope of a better future. They were brought by the South Australian Company to help establish its new base at Kingscote



The Solway, under Captain Robert Pearson, arrived at Reeves Point on October 16, 1837. Their first duty on arrival was to conduct the funeral of Mrs Maria Kleemann who had died two days before arrival.



175th Anniversary Naming of Springwood
175th Anniversary Naming of Springwood
Address: Macquarie Road
City/Town: Springwood
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque commemorates the 175th anniversary of the naming of Springwood by Governor Macquarie in 1815.

175th Anniversary of First Settlement
175th Anniversary of First Settlement
Address: College Street, Hyde Park
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Three trees planted on Australia Day 1963 commemorate the 175th anniversary of the foundation of the first settlement in Australia on the shores of Sydney Cove by Governor Arthur Phillip in 1788.



1876 Landing Party
1876 Landing Party
Address: The Esplanade, Fogarty Park
City/Town: Cairns
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Anchor commemorates the landing party of 1876.



In October 1876 the Porpoise arrived in Trinity Bay with a postmaster and customs officers aboard. The government was not slow in responding to the establishment of a new settlement. The public servants cut out an area for themselves near where The Esplanade now stands. At the time the whole area was covered with dense scrub. On 1 November Trinity Bay was declared a port of entry and clearance. It was renamed after the then-Governor of Queensland, Sir William Cairns.



1881 Pioneers of Eureka
1881 Pioneers of Eureka
Address: Eureka Road, Little Benny`s Creek
City/Town: Eureka
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the pioneers and the first Christian service at Eureka held nearby on the 25th July 1883.



1954 Survey & Mapping Expedition
1954 Survey & Mapping Expedition
Address: O`Donnell & Gambier Streets, Wyndham HIstorical Society Museum
City/Town: Wyndham
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the survey seeking potential grazing land in the Gibb River region.



This survey was considered to be the last of the old style, using horses and donkeys for transport during exploration. The aims of the survey expedition were to seek potential grazing land in the Gibb River area, find a suitable port site in Napier Broome Bay and to survey and cut a rough road from Gibb river Station to Kalumburu.



200th Anniversary First European Settlement
200th Anniversary First European Settlement
Address: Point Nepean Road & Leggett Way, Collins Settlement Historic Site
City/Town: Sorrento
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the 200th anniversary of the first European settlement of Victoria. The monument lists the names of the settlers including convicts.



The Collins Settlement Historic Site commemorates the first European settlement in Victoria which was established here in October 1803 under Lieutenant-Governor David Collins. It consisted of 308 convicts, 51 marines, 17 free settlers, 12 civil officers, a missionary and his wife.



They had been sent from England principally out of fear that the French, who had been exploring the area, might establish their own settlement and thereby challenge British `rights` to the continent. When Lieutenant-Governor David Collins led a party of 300 convicts and 50 Marines ashore at Sullivan Bay in 1803 he ensured Sorrento’s place in history as the first European settlement in Victoria.



Collins Settlement Historic Site on the clifftop overlooking the bay includes a memorial to Collins and graves of some of those pioneer settlers. The British outpost on the Mornington Peninsula was short-lived and the penal colony was moved to Hobart the next year.



50 Years of Larundel Soldier Settlement
50 Years of Larundel Soldier Settlement
Address: Elaine-Mount Mercer Road
City/Town: Elaine
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates 50 years of the Larundel Soldier Settlement in the district from 1952 to 2002.



Soldier settlement refers to the occupation and settlement of land throughout parts of Australia by returning discharged soldiers under schemes administered by the State Governments after World Wars One and Two. In Victoria after World War Two, the Soldier Settlement Scheme was refined in the light of past failures. Blocks were bigger, were more carefully selected and roads, housing and fences were supplied to prospective settlers.



50th Anniversary -City of Wagga Wagga Proclamation
50th Anniversary -City of Wagga Wagga Proclamation
Address: Baylis & Morrow Streets, Council Chambers
City/Town: Wagga Wagga
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the fiftieth anniversary of the Proclamation of the City.


50th Anniversary of City
50th Anniversary of City
Address: John Watson Drive
City/Town: Mount Gambier
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park seat commemorates the 50th anniversary of Mount Gambier being declared a city in 1954.



The council was created in 1932 when the District Council of Mount Gambier West and District Council of Mount Gambier East merged to become the District Council of Mount Gambier which was later proclaimed a city in December 9, 1954.



50th Anniversary of Onslow Township
50th Anniversary of Onslow Township
Address: Second Avenue
City/Town: Onslow
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the 50th anniversary of the township.



The area around Onslow was first settled in the early 1880s by graziers who brought sheep into the area. In 1883 the town was founded and named after Sir Alexander Onslow (1842-1908), the chief justice of Western Australia at the time. The discovery of gold on the Ashburton River in the 1890s gave the town a brief boost but the town was destroyed by a cyclone in 1926 and relocated to its present site on the Beadon River shortly afterwards.



50th Anniversary of the Dog on the Tuckerbox Pioneer Memorial
50th Anniversary of the Dog on the Tuckerbox Pioneer Memorial
Address: Hume Highway, Dog on Tuckerbox
City/Town: Gundagai
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the 50th Anniversary of the unveiling of the Dog on the Tuckerbox statue dedicated to the pioneers of Gundagai.



50th Anniversary War Service Land Settlement
50th Anniversary War Service Land Settlement
Address: Wedgewood Road
City/Town: Parndana
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the 50th Anniversary of the War Service Land Settlement on Kangaroo Island.



75th Anniversary of Croation Settlers
75th Anniversary of Croation Settlers
Address: Deakin Avenue
City/Town: Mildura
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the 75th anniversary of the arrival of Croation settlers in the Mildura District

A Farmer & His Dog
A Farmer & His Dog
Address: Penshurst-Warrnambool Road, Moyne Shire Offices
City/Town: Hawkesdale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 150th anniversary of the foundation of Hawkesdale



Acton House Memorial Fountain
Acton House Memorial Fountain
Address: Balmain Crescent, Former Canberra Community Hospital
City/Town: Acton
State: ACT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial fountain commemorates the first settler in Canberra , Lieutenant J.J. Moore. The stones from the old Acton House, Moores home which was built in 1826 , are included in the construction.



The Advisory Council will conduct a public ceremony to mark the completion of the Acton House Memmorial Fountain, in the grounds of the Canberra Hospital, next month. The fountain commemorates the first settler in Canberra, Lieutenant J. J. Moore. Stones from the old Acton House, Moore's home, are included in the construction. In a letter to the council yesterday the Secretary of the Department of the Interior, Mr. W. A. McLaren, suggested it would be appropriate for the council to conduct a ceremony.

The Canberra Times (ACT), 19th October 1954.



Judith Timpson, granddaughter of former Commonwealth Surveyor-General, Mr. A. Percival, placed a sheaf of flowers on the plaque of the Acton House memorial fountain yesterday. Stones from the house, the first in Canberra, have been set in the fountain.

The Canberra Times (ACT), 6th December 1954.



 



Addington Pioneers Monument
Addington Pioneers Monument
Address: Sunraysia Highway , Near Langi Kal Kal Road
City/Town: Addington
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Pioneers Memorial at Addington formally remembers the original settlers. The Aboriginal plaque in the shape of a boomerang remembers the original inhabitants of the area. 



Adelaide Survey Monument
Adelaide Survey Monument
Address: North Terrace, North Parklands, opposite Acre No.1
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorating the starting point of the survey of Adelaide, the sites of the first public offices of land and survey and the homes of the first Surveyor-General and Resident Commissioner, North Terrace, Adelaide.



"If Col. Light were able today to view Adelaide he would be astounded at what has been done since the first peg was driven in at the spot where we are gathered now." Mr. J. Lavington Bonython (Lord Mayor) said this morning, at the unveiling of a memorial at the intersection of North terrace and West terrace. A dignified tablet has been erected by Adelaide City Council at the request of the Royal Geographical Society and the Historical Committee.

An inscription on the face records that it commemorates the opening of the survey of the city by Col. Light. and the residences occupied by Col. William Light, first Surveyor-General. and James Hurtle Fisher, first resident Commissioner of the Colony. These premises were later destroyed by fire.

News (Adelaide, SA), 16th July 1929.



Adelphi Homestead
Adelphi Homestead
Address: Brockman Highway
City/Town: Alexandra Bridge
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial cairn at the site of the Adelphi homestead.


The Adelphi homestead was built by the Bussell Family , who were pioneers of the area. Ironically, the homestead burnt down on Guy Fawkes Day in 1833.


Afghan Cameleers
Afghan Cameleers
Address: Whitmore Square
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to Afghan Cameleers who made a contribution to the settlement of South Australia,



From the 1860s to the 1920s approximately 3,000 Muslim cameleers came to Australia, mainly from the hills and plains of Afghanistan and British India, which today is Pakistan.  They opened lines of supply, transport and communication between isolated settlements. 



Afghan Cameleers
Afghan Cameleers
Address: Todd Street, Civic Centre
City/Town: Alice Springs
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument and park commemorates the contribution of Afghan Cameleers. Alice Springs Council wanted to more formally recognise the role of the Cameleers in developing the region and as a part of the diverse community so renamed the park around the Civic Centre. The Cameleer`s Islamic faith also found a home here.



In 1921 the semi-retired Cameleer Saleh (Charlie) Sadadeen leased the block which now houses the Council`s Civic Centre. Sadadeen was born in the Punjab, northwest India, and arrived in Alice Springs in 1890 after ten years in Australia and previous service in the British Army as a Cameleer. Two tall date palms outside the Council Civic Centre were planted in 1916 by Walter Smith who worked with the cameleers bringing supplies from the railhead at Oodnadatta.



In front of the palms is a monument and seat, built in the 1980`s, dedicated to the Cameleers. The wording on the plaque on the monument is difficult to read. The park was rededicated in 2001 and a plaque was added to the seat in 2002 commemorating the last camel train. 



Afghan Cameleers
Afghan Cameleers
Address: Wolfram & Sulphide Streets, Sturt Park Reserve
City/Town: Broken Hill
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the re-enactment and centenary of the Afghan cameleers trek and recognises the contribution of the Afghan community to inland Australia.



Afghan Cameleers
Afghan Cameleers
Address: Daw Street, Standpipe Hotel
City/Town: Port Augusta West
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque in memory of pioneering Afghan Cameleers who indirectly serviced Australia's outback for 50 years. The Standpipe Hotel was originally a watering place for teamsters and camels. Another plaque unveiled on the 14th May 1988, commemorates the re-enactment of the Afghan Cameleers Trek. 



The introduction of camels and the so-called 'Afghan' cameleers proved to be a turning point in the exploration and development of the Australian interior.



For a short period of time from the 1860s to the early 1900s, these cameleers and their 'ships of the desert' became the backbone of the Australian economy. They accompanied exploration parties, carrying supplies and materials where horses and oxen could not. They carted supplies, mail and even water to remote settlements. They transported the supplies, tools and equipment needed for the surveying and construction of some of Australia's earliest, and greatest, infrastructure projects, such as the Overland Telegraph and Trans-Australian Railway.



Afghan Cameleers
Afghan Cameleers
Address: Great Northern Highway
City/Town: Wyndham
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Afghan Camels Silhouette commemorates the Afghan cameleers and the pioneering spirit of the Wyndham Area.



The Afghan Cameleers played a significant role in the development and settlement of the Kimberley region and particularly in and around the Wyndham area. Once gold was discovered at Halls Creek and Wyndham was proclaimed a port, the Cameleers were required to move goods and supplies from the port to the Goldfields. They interacted well with Aboriginal people and many Aboriginal descendants of Wyndham owe their mixed heritage to this interaction.



 



Afghan Community
Afghan Community
Address: Victoria Street, Royal Society of Victoria gardens
City/Town: Melbourne
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the contribution of the Afghan community to Australia

Afghan Mosque
Afghan Mosque
Address: Buck Street
City/Town: Broken Hill
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Afghan Mosque memorial commemorates the camel drivers who opened up the inland. It was renovated in 1968 by the Broken Hill Historical Society as a recognition of the importance of the Afghan cameleers mode of transport for the western Darling District of New South Wales.



The Mosque is situated on the site of the former `Camel Camp` where Afghan and Indian Camel drivers loaded and unloaded their camel teams, from the earliest days of Broken Hill. The Mosque was constructed around 1891 as a place of worship for the followers of the Prophet Mohammed (or Mahomet). The camel drivers who built the mosque were actually Indians. They came from Sindh (now part of Pakistan with Karachi as its capital) and Balochistan (once under Alexander the Great, and now bordering Iran, Afghanistan and the Sindh province). The Moslem Temple of Broken Hill is the only surviving Mosque in Australia which was built by early cameleers.



Albert and Ann Field
Albert and Ann Field
Address: Princes Highway, Thompson Park
City/Town: Narooma
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of the first settlers at Wogonga Heads.


Alberton Settlers
Alberton Settlers
Address: Alberton Settlers
City/Town: Alberton
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial in cemetery to early settlers who lie in unmarked graves.


Aldersyde Pioneer Memorial Church
Aldersyde Pioneer Memorial Church
Address: Railway Terrace
City/Town: Aldersyde
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Aldersyde Pioneer Memorial Church dedicated to the memory of the district pioneers.



Land for a proposed townsite at the 18½ mile peg on the Brookton-Kunjin Railway (Kunjin being near Corrigin) was resumed from four properties in 1913. One of the properties, owned by Mr Frederick Pyke was named "Aldersyde", and this name was suggested as the name of the town by the local progress association in 1914. Nuralgin and Markegin were other names considered, and Aldersyde was gazetted in 1915.



At a function held during the "back-to-Aldersyde" weekend recently, Mr. J. I. Mann, M.H.R., praised the initiative of local residents in forming the Aldersyde Historical Society. lt was a move which could well be followed by other centres, he said. During the weekend a united church service was held followed by a ceremony dedicating three garden seats to the memory of the district's pioneers.

Western Mail (Perth), 24th April 1952.



Aldgate Pump
Aldgate Pump
Address: Mount Barker Road, Adjacent to Village Car Park
City/Town: Aldgate
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A memorial commemorates the Aldgate Pump after which the town was named.



The Aldgate area was surveyed and subdivided into sections and allotments during 1857. It had become firmly established on 23 July 1864 when Richard Dixon Hawkins, son of a London publican, who had arrived in South Australia on the Lady Fitzherbert in 1842, opened his Inn. It began as a Coaching Inn on the way to the Echunga Diggings in 1852. To attract as many visitors and customers as possible Hawkins, placed a water pump outside the Inn so men and beast could have a drink.



Alexander Berry
Alexander Berry
Address: Princes Highway & Prince Alfred Street
City/Town: Berry
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Alexander Berry, a merchant and settler of the Shoalhaven District.  



 He arrived in Sydney in January 1808 but had much difficulty in selling his cargo and replacing it with the sawn timber which he had agreed to take to the Cape. Accordingly he accepted a charter to transfer settlers from Norfolk Island to the Derwent, but the City of Edinburgh was badly battered on the voyage and involved him in costly repairs on his return to Sydney.



Berry then decided to go to New Zealand for spars and to Fiji for sandalwood. Returning to New Zealand he rescued the survivors of the massacre of the Boyd and then sailed east to rejoin his partner. On this voyage the City of Edinburgh lost her rudder, and limped into Valparaiso and thence to Lima where she was repaired. Berry sold his timber profitably on long terms and was permitted to take on a cargo at Guayaquil for Cadiz. 



In Cadiz Berry met Edward Wollstonecraft who subsequently became Berry's London agent, and later his partner when they decided to start a business in Sydney. On 22 September 1827 Berry married Wollstonecraft's sister Elizabeth (1782-1845). Berry returned to Sydney in the Admiral Cockburn on 31 July 1819.



Like other merchants Berry and Wollstonecraft often had to accept stock in payment of debts, and Berry sought a grant of land on which to accommodate it. Governor Macquarie refused, as Berry was about to leave for England, but promised him a grant when he took up permanent residence. While he was away Wollstonecraft obtained a grant and located part of it on the North Shore where he built a cottage, Crow's Nest.



On Berry's return he sought a site for the grants made to himself and Wollstonecraft, travelling widely even in unsettled districts because 'Everybody was flocking to the Hunter River, Bathurst, and other places … and all were elbowing one another. But we neither wished to elbow any one nor to be elbowed'. Berry first visited the Shoalhaven in January 1822 taking the cutterSnapper into Crook Haven (formerly Shoals Haven on the charts) from which he proceeded overland to examine the country on either side of the river. The rich alluvial soils and natural grassy 'meadows' led him to choose the Shoalhaven as the site for an estate and he returned in June 1822 to occupy it. While a boat was seeking a passage into the river, it was overturned and Thomas Davidson was drowned, an accident that Berry bitterly regretted. To allow vessels to enter the Shoalhaven, Berry had a short canal cut between the river and an arm of Crook Haven so creating Comerong Island which the government later refused to regard as part of his grant. 'The Canal' and Crook Haven later became the virtual mouth of the Shoalhaven River which discharges through them except when it is in flood and flows over the sand bar across its original mouth.



The two original grants made to Berry and Wollstonecraft were located on the south side of the river between the Shoalhaven and Crookhaven Rivers, but Berry established his headquarters at the foot of Mount Coolangatta on the north side of the river. In February 1822 Berry and Wollstonecraft had jointly applied for a grant of 10,000 acres (4047 ha), under the regulation introduced that those accepting grants should maintain, free of expense to the crown, one convict for each hundred acres of the grant. This grant was approved and located on the north side of Shoalhaven, though the deed was not issued until 1830. Later purchases of land from the crown and private individuals increased the size of the estate to about 32,000 acres (12,950 ha) by 1840, and to more than 40,000 acres (16,187 ha) by 1863.



Unlike other Sydney merchants who took up land but seem to have kept their mercantile and pastoral activities separate, Berry and Wollstonecraft set out to integrate the two and during its early years the Shoalhaven estate was the source of much produce sold in the George Street store. When the Blanch returned to Sydney after establishing the settlement at Coolangatta she carried a cargo of hay and cedar from the Shoalhaven.



The partners' effort to enlarge their estate at every opportunity was probably to secure for themselves the cedar growing in the district, for by the 1820s the supply of cedar from the Illawarra and the Hunter River valley was nearing exhaustion. Maize, tobacco, wheat, barley and potatoes were planted and marketed in Sydney; pigs were also reared and cattle were brought to Shoalhaven from the Illawarra over a road made for the purpose. Besides buying a ship to provide transport between Sydney and Shoalhaven the partners built a sloop (registered in 1824, the first of several vessels built at Shoalhaven) and began to drain the extensive swamps included in their grants. 



In February 1823 in the New South Wales Equity Court, Francis Shortt claimed a share in Berry & Wollstonecraft, on the grounds that his own partnership with Berry had not been dissolved. Berry proved that he had heavy expenses for repairs and wages in the City of Edinburgh and that he had paid part of the profits to Shortt. Half the merchants in Sydney appeared to be involved and the case dragged on until 1828 when the Chief Justice ordered Berry to pay Shortt another £6000 to close their partnership.



With this setback the enthusiasm of the partners appeared to flag: in 1830 Wollstonecraft claimed that 'It becomes imperative to have some other dependence than upon our wood', and in 1831 complained of the 'silly wheat culture, the same thoughtless Expenditure on Improvements, the same useless Employment of People, and same lavish display of money', and suggested dividing the Shoalhaven estate into 'two fair and equitable portions, of which each party shall take one, … or selling the whole of the Land, Stock and Implements'. This disagreement appears to have been patched up, or perhaps was still in progress, when Wollstonecraft died in December 1832. It seems certain that Wollstonecraft felt that the lands at Shoalhaven were not being satisfactorily developed, a complaint that Berry repeated in 1863 to his brother David, and one reason for the attacks made on Berry by the Reverend John Dunmore Lang in the 1850s.



The estate certainly brought Berry much trouble: he was publicly accused of negligence in his care of convict servants and of ill treating them; it was said that a government tax on cedar cut on crown land was engineered to give Berry and Wollstonecraft a virtual monopoly, and that a tax on imported tobacco was introduced for their benefit. By 1846 Berry wrote that he had lost interest in the estate and 'would gladly part with it upon any terms'; this feeling grew as labour became more scarce after the abolition of transportation and the discovery of gold. In the 1850s Berry began to let farms on clearing leases, and with this occupation by tenant farmers the real development of the Shoalhaven district commenced.



Like other prominent merchants and landowners Berry was active in colonial affairs, becoming a justice of the peace in 1822 and, for a time, secretary of the Agricultural Society. A man of learning and wide reading he was particularly interested in the natives and geology, making a collection of Aboriginal skulls and sending mineral specimens to the Edinburgh University museum. He was a member of the short-lived Philosophical Society, founded in 1821, before which he read a paper, and a councillor of the Australian Philosophical Society formed in 1850.



In 1828-61 Berry was a nominee in the Legislative Council, but spoke rarely, and only on matters affecting his own interests. His opinions were not taken seriously either by the council or the press which regarded him as 'a person of retired habits, and singularly antiquated ideas'. A self-confessed conservative, Berry entertained no high opinions of politicians or governors, and in 1834 attributed the colony's troubles, not to her convict population, but to 'the ill conduct of our Rulers—the fact is the present disorders arise from their affected Liberal principles which induces them to take the part of the Servants against the Masters'.



He achieved notice for his opposition to the municipal bill of 1842 and particularly to the Municipal Council Act in 1858, the weaknesses of which were revealed by the action, Berry v. Graham, wherein both the Supreme Court and the Privy Council upheld his refusal to pay rates on his land at Shoalhaven. He believed that none but men of property should be empowered to manage the property of their fellow citizens and seemed to fear that under a system of local government the country people would become 'serfs': 



For all his conservative views Berry was solicitous of the welfare of his own assigned servants. He considered that many were the victims of harsh laws and found that they worked well and faithfully if well treated. Consequently he was outraged by suggestions that he treated his servants harshly, and opposed representative and municipal government firmly believing that his people would be better off under his paternal care than under any form of democratic government in the hands of 'unprincipled ignorant Ruffians'. 



After his wife's death in 1845 and the unpleasant notoriety Lang had given him, Berry became a recluse in Crow's Nest House. After his brother David (d.1889) took charge of the Shoalhaven estate in 1836 he appears to have visited it rarely, but he poured abuse on his brother for his indolence and mismanagement, and on his tenants for their Methodism, Presbyterianism, drunkenness and desire for local government. In severe pain but still in full possession of his faculties he died at Crow's Nest on 17 September 1873. He had no children and his property passed to his brother David.



Alstonville Centenary
Alstonville Centenary
Address: Ballina Road & Daley Street
City/Town: Alstonville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A fountain commemorates the centenary of settlement of the Alstonville district.



On the 21st of December 1865 Andrew Freeborn and his brother became Duck Creek Mountain`s (as Alstonville was originally called) first selectors. Andrew became the first person from the area to commercially sell butter in Sydney. It was shipped in wooden kegs to Sydney by ship. He also grew arrowroot. Andrew Freeborn, along with John Barlow, Martin Schmidt, Frank Morrish and G.T. Kemp applied for a school in Alstonville. Alstonville Primary School opened on the 11th of January 1875.



Amity Brig
Amity Brig
Address: Princess Royal Drive, Albany Historical Precinct
City/Town: Albany
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Ship built to commemorate European settlement in Western Australia but also as a tribute to sailing ships.



The Amity Brig was built in North America in 1816 and had carried convicts , whalers , explorers, farmers and settlers to various parts of Australia from Queensland to Western Australia. The first European settlers to West Australia were carried in the `Amity` from Port Jackson to King George Sound stepping ashore at Albany on Boxing Day 1826.



Anderson Creek Monument
Anderson Creek Monument
Address: Tamar Highway, Anderson Creek
City/Town: York Town
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the discovery of the creek by Ensign Robert Anderson in 1804 and marks the site where settlers from Norfolk Island established farms in 1805.



ANZAC Memorial Garden
ANZAC Memorial Garden
Address: Byres Road & Martin Street
City/Town: Blackwood
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The ANZAC Memorial Garden commemorates the Bicentennial of Australia in 1988.



The plaque is mounted on the Blackwood War Memorial



Apex Lake
Apex Lake
Address: Cohuna Island Road, Apex Park
City/Town: Cohuna
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Apex Lake project commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia



Ardachy Estate Soldier Settlement Memorial
Ardachy Estate Soldier Settlement Memorial
Address: Dartmoor-Hamilton & Branxholme-Murndal Roads
City/Town: Branxholme
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The  Soldier Settlement Monument commemorates the Ardachy Estate established on February 14th, 1947 for the Returned Servicemen and their families.The estate consists of 9,324 acres which was subdivided into 15 allotments.


 


Argyle Downs Station Graves
Argyle Downs Station Graves
Address: Argyle Downs Station
City/Town: Lake Argyle
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Graves at Argyle homestead of Durack Family members and station hands commemorate the early pioneers



The Duracks fled famine and subjugation in Ireland, coming to Australia in 1853 in search of opportunities and a future. Hungry for property, Pat Durack sent the family across the continent from Queensland to the unexplored reaches of the Kimberley. They occupied land the size of Belgium and dispossessed the original inhabitants. Having claimed their property, the Duracks, over successive generations would struggle to survive and one by one their stations foundered.



Artarmon Village Green
Artarmon Village Green
Address: Hampden Road
City/Town: Artarmon
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Village Green refers to the narrow park alongside Artarmon Station. It commemorates the pioneers of the District.



It was originally part of the land put aside for the building of the North Shore Railway, and is now leased by Council from Railcorp. It was dedicated by Council on 21 September 1968.



Arthur Phillip Landing
Arthur Phillip Landing
Address: Wharf Road , Meditation Park
City/Town: Gladesville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Ashcroft Memorial Gates
Ashcroft Memorial Gates
Address: Maxwells Avenue, Ashcroft High School
City/Town: Ashcroft
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The site demonstrates the history of the early settlement of the Ashcroft area. It is associated with an early prominent family, the Ashcrofts who gave their name to the locality. The site is also associated with the now demolished St Lukes Rectory. The grand entrance gates are an aesthetically pleasing memorial and are rare within the wider Liverpool area.


Australian Bicentenary
Australian Bicentenary
Address: Belmore Street
City/Town: Yarrawonga
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Tourist Information Centre was erected in 1988 to commemorate the Bi-centenary of the settlement of Australia 


Australian Bicentenary
Australian Bicentenary
Address: Sunraysia Highway
City/Town: Cope Cope
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument was erected at the site of the former Cope Cope Park State School to commemorate the bi-centenary of European settlement in Australia 


Australian Bicentenary
Australian Bicentenary
Address: Main Street,
City/Town: Montville
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A flagpole commemorates the Bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia 


Australian Bicentenary
Australian Bicentenary
Address: 323 Bungaree -Wallace Road, Bungaree and District Historical Society
City/Town: Bungaree
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque notes that the restoration of the Bungaree School was carried out on behalf of the Shire of Bungaree residents to commemorate the nation's bicentenary in 1988.



Australian Bicentenary
Australian Bicentenary
Address: 420 Clarendon Lal Lal Road, Lal Lal Soldiers Memorial Hall
City/Town: Lal Lal
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A picnic area built by the residents of Lal Lal commemorates the bicentnary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.

Australian Bicentenary Plaque - West Wallsend
Australian Bicentenary Plaque - West Wallsend
Address: Carrington & Hyndes Street, Soldiers Memorial Park
City/Town: West Wallsend
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Plaque commemorating the bicentenary of Australia details the history of West Wallsend.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage. State Councils were also created to ensure cooperation between the federal and state governments. The result was a national programme of events and celebrations to commemorate the Bicentenary,

Australian Bicentennial
Australian Bicentennial
Address: Lyons Street, Gardens
City/Town: Rosedale
State: VIC
Theme: landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Australian Bi-Centennial


Australian Bicentennial
Australian Bicentennial
Address: Beach Road & Hampton Street, Triangle Gardens
City/Town: Sandringham
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Bicentennial of the European settlement of Australia 


Australian Bicentennial Police Overland Camel Expedition
Australian Bicentennial Police Overland Camel Expedition
Address: Todd Street, Civic Centre
City/Town: Alice Springs
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the police who were stationed along the Overland Telegraph Line from Adelaide to Darwin and also commemorates the use of camels in South Australia and the Northern Territory from the 1880s to the early 2950s.



From 30th September 1987 to 1st January 1988, members of the South Australian and Northern Territory Police Force undertook a camel expedition from Darwin to Adelaide as a joint contribution to Australia's Bicentenary. 



The South Australian and Northern Territory police forces hope to shift the focus of the bicentenary from the east coast to early police efforts in the harsh Australian outback. They believe the bicentennial police overland camel expedition, which arrives at Adelaide Town Hall on the first day of 1988, may do just that. The first completed bicentennial event involved more than 40 police officers, all on annual leave. The expedition, in the form of a police procession of 12 adult and two young camels, will arrive at Adelaide Town Hall one minute into January 1, 118 days after leaving Darwin.



Travelling an average of 45 kilometres per day, the expedition has been a joint venture of the South Australian and Northern Territory police forces. Expedition leader Mr Robert Clyne said the historic north to south crossing of Australia commemorated the use of camels for police work in the South Australian outback and the Northern Territory from the 1880s to the early 1950s.  The $300,000 journey was funded by private sponsorship and a $ 10,000 bicentennial grant. The expedition has collected about $5000 from motorists along the way to aid the Crippled Children's Association in South Australia.

The Canberra Times (ACT), 28th December 1987.



 



Australian Farmer
Australian Farmer
Address: Eyre Highway & Byrne Road
City/Town: Wudinna
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Local granite was used in the construction of this monument which is an 8 metre high statute that was carved in the town as a community project to commemorate the early settlers.



It took 17 years to produce from initial proposal to the final unveiling in 2009, and two years for the artist, Marijan Bekic (with the assistance of his son, David), to carve. 



The sculpture is a stylised representation of a farmer. While it takes a basic human form, the top represents the sun, while in the body are carved grain crops. Sheep are placed at the foot of the statue, representing the sheep farmers in the district as well as creating the feet of the figure when viewed from a distance.



 



Australian Natives Association
Australian Natives Association
Address: Alma Street, Phillips Garden
City/Town: Maryborough
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Drinking fountain as a Jubilee memorial to the founders of the local Australian Natives Association.


The Australian Natives` Association was founded in Victoria in April 1871 as a Friendly Society with a difference. Its membership was restricted to those born in Australia - hence the name `natives`. By 1871, there was an increasing number of native-born Australians who did not have the same nostalgic ties to Britain as previous generations. T


here was also a perception amongst the native born that they were second class citizens in their own land. Positions of influence were always held by men born in Great Britain. The Australian Natives` Association (ANA) continued for one hundred and twenty-two years until September 1993, when it merged with Manchester Unity Friendly Society to become Australian Unity Friendly Society.


Australian Standing Stones
Australian Standing Stones
Address: Watsons Drive, Martins Lookout
City/Town: Glen Innes
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates all Celtic people who helped pioneer Australia. The memorial of 24 * 3 metre stones is arranged as a calendar and is based on Ring Brodgar in the Orkney Islands, Scotland.



It was in Australia`s 1988 Bicentenary Year that the Celtic Council of Australia developed the idea of erecting a national monument to honour all Celtic peoples who helped pioneer Australia. Glen Innes responded with a 46-page submission for Australian Standing Stones, inspired by the Ring of Brodgar in Scotland`s Orkneys.



When viewed from above the arrangement of the Australian Standing Stones also incorporates a Celtic Cross and the Southern Cross. The former indicates that the monument was erected in Christian times, the latter symbolises the heritage link between the old Celtic civilisation and the new.



Australind Land Settlement
Australind Land Settlement
Address: Old Coast Road
City/Town: Australind
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument to the pioneers of the Australind Land Settlement.



Australind was the site of an unusual and ambitious land scheme during the 1840s. In 1840-41, only a little over a decade after the establishment of the Swan River colony, the newly formed Western Australian Land Company purchased land in the area and surveyed a town site which they named as a kind of bizarre combination of Australia and India. There was already a horse breeding station in the area and it was hoped that the horse trade would be the beginning of a continuing trade relationship between Australind and India.



The first settlers arrived in 1841 and by the following year over 440 immigrants had settled in the area Marshall Walter Clifton was appointed Chief Commissioner. The plan was to divide a huge land grant of over 40 000 ha into small farming lots of 40 ha and establish an English style village in the centre of this project. The philosophy behind the plan was similar to that of Edward Gibbon Wakefield who had developed the notion of settlements for ordinary citizens to ease the burden of poverty which characterised so much of English society at this time. In the case of Western Australia the settlement had the added bonus of providing the infant colony with a much needed labour force. The settlement was short-lived and had been abandoned by 1843.



A memorial to the pioneers of the Australind settlement, which has been erected from public subscriptions by the Western Australian Historical Society (Inc.) will be unveiled by His Excellency the Lieutenant-Governor (Sir James Mitchell) on Saturday afternoon. The ceremony will begin at 3 p.m. The chairman of the Bunbury Road Board (Mr. F. Guthrie) will preside at the ceremony and a short paper on the history of the settlement will be read by Miss E. L. Burgess, of the Bunbury High School, who has made a close study of the subject.

The West Australian (Perth), 30th November 1938.



Avenue of Honour
Avenue of Honour
Address: Hurns Road
City/Town: Blampied
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Avenue of honour with significant indigenous trees commemorates the pioneering families of Blampied.



Avenue of Honour
Avenue of Honour
Address: Wright Road
City/Town: Goomalibee
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Trees, chiefly silky oak, pine and white cedar, planted as memorials to the pioneers and the war dead of the district.



Enamel plaques bearing family names are set on concrete pitchers at the foot of each tree. The final planting of the pioneer family trees took place on the 30th May 1940. 



The central marker is a granite stone on a concrete block raised on a pile of local rocks. The individual plaques include five names of those who died in World War One and two who died in World War Two. There are 27 individual family names.



Avenue of Honour
Avenue of Honour
Address: High Street
City/Town: Mansfield
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The avenue of trees commemorates all those who have lived in the Mansfield District.    The avenue incorporates the following plantings :- 



1934 Victorian Centenary : C.W.A., Mansfield Branch, poplars

1938 Australian Sesquicentenary : Shire of Mansfield, oaks

1984 Victorian Sesquicentenary : Shire of Mansfield, eucalyptus

2001 Australian CEnteneary of Federation : Delatite Shire, poplars / pinoaks



Also in 2001, 100 trees were planted to commemorate a hundred years of community endeavours as part of the Centenary of Australian Federation.



 



B.C.A.E Gold Mill Sculpture
B.C.A.E Gold Mill Sculpture
Address: 408 Warrenheip Road, Desoza Park
City/Town: Buninyong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The B.C.A.E Gold Mill Sculpture was erected in 1985 to commemorate the sesquicentenary of Victoria.



The 150th anniversary of European settlement in Victoria was commemorated in 1984 and 1985. The theme of the celebrations, 'Growing Together', was promoted by the State Government's 150th Committee, which distributed grants to each municipality and encouraged sesquicentenary projects with a high level of community participation.



Back to Campbelltown Plaque
Back to Campbelltown Plaque
Address: Queen Street, Valentine Park
City/Town: Campbell Town
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque and time capsule commemorate "Back to Campbell Town "celebrations in 1996.



Back to Quambatook
Back to Quambatook
Address: Guthrie Street
City/Town: Quambatook
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the bi-centenary of the European settlement of Australia



Balt Camp
Balt Camp
Address: Camp Road, Balt Camp
City/Town: Bullarto
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates Balt Camp which was a refugee work camp for displaced persons from World War Two, including those from the Baltic States.  The Forestry Commission constructed the camp in 1946.

Bankstown Settlement
Bankstown Settlement
Address: Henry Lawson Drive, Garrison Point Mirambeena Reserve
City/Town: Georges Hall
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates European settlement of Bankstown which originated with Governor Hunter establishing some marines and naming the area Bankstown in honour of Sir Joseph Banks. Major George Johnston of the New South Wales Corps, was granted 172 acres on the 16th April 1798 and it was on this site that his first homestead was built and named Georges Hall.


Bankstown Settlement
Bankstown Settlement
Address: Hume Highway, Wood Park
City/Town: Bankstown
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates European settlement of the district in 1795, just seven years after the first settlement at Sydney Cove.


Governor Hunter commissioned Matthew Flinders (then a Royal Navy midshipman), and George Bass (a surgeon), together with the boy servant called William Martin, to explore the `western arm` (Georges River) of Botany Bay to see if the area was hospitable. The trio sailed the winding course of the Georges River aboard an eight-foot craft called the Tom Thumb. They sailed 20 miles beyond any previous survey and landed at what is now known as Garrison Point, located at Georges Hall. Following their favourable report on the area Governor Hunter decided to make it a settlement, and at a later date, named the area Banks` Town in honour of Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with Captain James Cook aboard the `Endeavour` on Cook`s voyage of discovery from 1768 to 1771.


Barellan Centenary
Barellan Centenary
Address: 72 Yapunyah Street, Barellan Museum
City/Town: Barellan
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the centenary of the town of Barellan. Barellan was proclaimed a township in 1909.



Barossa Pioneer Memorial
Barossa Pioneer Memorial
Address: Mengler`s Hill Road, Barossa Sculpture Park, Mengler`s Hill Lookout
City/Town: Bethany
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorates the pioneers of Barossa.



Neuschlesien, New Silesia or Bethanien and later Bethany, about 2 kilometres from Tanunda in the Barossa Valley, was established by a group of Lutheran migrants who arrived with Pastor Gotthard Daniel Frietzsche in 1841. Most of these 270 immigrants had come from Posen and Silesia. After their arrival at Port Adelaide on the Skjold, on 27 October, the majority of them moved to the established German settlements of Hahndorf and Klemzig. The young colony of South Australia had now more than 1,800 German immigrants among its population of 14,000.



Early in 1842 nearly a hundred of this group of migrants were joined by other Lutherans, already living at Hahndorf, to establish the first village in the Barossa Valley on land the local Aborigines referred to as Taninda. About 2080 acres were leased, and later bought, from George Fife Angas to start their new venture. The remaining members who had come on the Skjold founded Lobethal in the Adelaide Hills. The settlement of Bethany in 1842 was arranged by Angas` second agent, Forster, and in the first year, 28 Lutheran families, comprising 117 persons including 34 children arrived. The majority of these people were farmers, while others were tradesmen of various kinds.



Barry Antaw
Barry Antaw
Address: Wallendoon Street
City/Town: Cootamundra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gardens commemorate the nation’s Bicentenary in 1988 and the contribution by Barry Antaw towards the establishment of Cootamundra parks and gardens.



Barunga Gap Pioneers
Barunga Gap Pioneers
Address: Lochiel-Snowtown Road
City/Town: Barunga Gap
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A Memorial erected by the residents of Barunga Gap district commemorates the pioneers of Percyton which was later renamed Barunga Gap.

Bass Pioneer Memorial
Bass Pioneer Memorial
Address: Hade Avenue, George Bass Park
City/Town: Bass
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Circular brick pond with tall granite stone erected in 1985 for the South-Eastern Historical Association and the Bass Valley Historical Society commemorates Samuel Anderson, his brothers Hugh and Thomas, and his partner Robert Massie who made the first permanent settlement in Eastern Victoria here. The memorial also commemorates George Bass after whom the town is named.



In 1835 a Scottish immigrant from Kirkudbright Scotland named Samuel Anderson sailed up the Bass River and with a partner Robert Massie established the third permanent settlement in Victoria.  Samuel's brothers Hugh and Thomas joined him at Bass where they established a successful farming venture.



Bathurst ARDC Tribute
Bathurst ARDC Tribute
Address: Russell & William Streets, Civic Centre
City/Town: Bathurst
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected by the Australian Racing Drivers Club to commemorate the City of Bathurst on its centenary (1885-1985) and record the appreciation of motor sport enthusiasts for the support given to motor racing at Mount Panorama.


Bathurst City Gazettal Centenary
Bathurst City Gazettal Centenary
Address: Stanley Street, Macquarie River BiCentennial Park
City/Town: Bathurst
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Also known as Governor Macquarie`s Chair, the memorial commemorates the gazetting of Bathurst as a city on 20th March 1885 and was unveiled by the Eighth Earl of Bathurst in 1985.


Bathurst Heritage Wall
Bathurst Heritage Wall
Address: Stanley Street, Macquarie River BiCentennial Park
City/Town: Bathurst
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Wall commemorates early European settlers. The Heritage Wall surrounding the foundation cairn was commenced in 1988 to recognise pioneers who contributed to the development of Bathurst as a major rural centre.


Bathurst Proclamation & First Divine Service
Bathurst Proclamation & First Divine Service
Address: William & Stanley Street, Macquarie River Bicentennial Park
City/Town: Bathurst
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn denotes the site where Governor Macquarie proclaimed the town of Bathurst after which was held the first religious service west of the Blue Mountains.



The idea of a monument to commemorate the founding of Bathurst in 1815 was suggested by A.G. Spencer Oakes in a letter to the Bathurst "Times" on 26 May, 1926. It received popular support and the foundation stone was laid by Dr. H. Norrie, President of the Royal Australian Historical Society on 5 May, 1929. Dr. Norrie also formally dedicated the cairn.



Bayles Pioneer Memorial
Bayles Pioneer Memorial
Address: Koo Wee Rup-Longwarry Road, Picnic Area
City/Town: Bayles
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn with plaque donated by the Egan family commemorates Bayles Pioneers. 


Bellthorpe Pioneers
Bellthorpe Pioneers
Address: Bellthorpe West Road, Bellthorpe Hall
City/Town: Bellthorpe
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected in recognition of the dairy farmers and timber getters who settled in the Bellthorpe area around 1906.



Belmont Settlement
Belmont Settlement
Address: Ada Street & Pacific Highway
City/Town: Belmont
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument ommemorates the first European settlement of Bahtahbah (Belmont) established by Reverend L. Threlkeld of the London Mission Society and was erected during Belmont's 150th anniversary celebrations. The plaque on this memorial is now missing.



Rev. Daniel Tyerman and a wealthy layman, George Bennet, were visiting the society's mission fields and Reverend Threlkeld accompanied them to Australia, intending to return to England. In Sydney, the visitors proposed the establishment of a mission to the Aboriginals and Governor Brisbane was agreeable.  In January 1825 a site was fixed at Reid's Mistake (Belmont) on Lake Macquarie, and Threlkeld was appointed missionary.

 



Ben Warby
Ben Warby
Address: Hume Highway
City/Town: Gundagai
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates first settler of North Gundagai


Bena-Wamboyne District Pioneers
Bena-Wamboyne District Pioneers
Address: West Wyalong- Condobolin Road, 53 kms S of Condobolin
City/Town: Condobolin
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the district pioneers and marks the site of the first post office erected in 1892.


Benambra Pioneer Memorial
Benambra Pioneer Memorial
Address: Benambra-Corryong Road, Public Hall
City/Town: Benambra
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates pioneer settlers, George McKillop, George Prendergast and James McFarlane.



The memorial was unveiled as part of the Governor, Lord Somers, tour of the Gippsland in 1927 to unveil memorial cairns along the route taken by the explorer Angus McMillan.



Benambra Settlement
Benambra Settlement
Address: Located on Town's oldest house
City/Town: Benambra
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates one hundred and seventy years of settlement of Benambra.




 


Bendigo Centenary
Bendigo Centenary
Address: View Street, Camp Hill
City/Town: Bendigo
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sundial presented by the Apex Club commemorates the centenary of Bendigo which was celebrated in 1951.



The history of Bendigo changed in 1851 when gold was discovered.  In the period from 1851 until 1954 (the year of the last gold mining in the district) a total of 25 million ounces of gold were taken from the area around Bendigo.



Bendigo Womens` Memorial
Bendigo Womens` Memorial
Address: High Street, R F Turner Memorial Playground
City/Town: Golden Square
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument recognises the role of women in the development of Bendigo from the discovery of gold in Victoria to the present day. The sculpture was unveiled to celebrate the 150 years of gold in Bendigo.



Bendoc Memorial Wall
Bendoc Memorial Wall
Address: Dowling Street, Resource Centre
City/Town: Bendoc
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial Wall commemorates the pioneering families of Bendoc. 


Bi Centennial Cairn -Clan Donnachaidh
Bi Centennial Cairn -Clan Donnachaidh
Address: Milsons Road, Cremorne Reserve, Robertsons Point
City/Town: Cremorne
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn built by members of the Clan Donnachaidh to commemorate the Bi-Centenary.


Bicentenary Flagpole
Bicentenary Flagpole
Address: Boronia Road & Albert Avenue
City/Town: Boronia
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia



Bicentenary Monument
Bicentenary Monument
Address: Chambers Road, Bungowannah Hall
City/Town: Bungowannah
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument containing a time capsule commemorates the bicentenary of European settlement of Australia

Bicentenary of Australia
Bicentenary of Australia
Address: Streatham-Carngham Road, Tennis Court
City/Town: Mount Emu
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A time capsule which is to be opened in 2038 commemorates the nation's bicentenary.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



Bicentenary of Australia
Bicentenary of Australia
Address: Brisbane Road
City/Town: Bundamba
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia.

Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: 40 Westlands Road
City/Town: Glen Waverley
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A seat commemorates the Bi-Centenary of the European settlement of Australia.



Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: Marine Parade
City/Town: Cottesloe
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The design for the Sundial was initiated by an architectural competition for the Town of Cottesloe, which sought an appropriate monument to commemorate the Australian Bicentenary. The project was built over a seven year period with extremely limited funds, and relied upon the generousity and voluntary contributions of many.



Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: Newell Highway, Tourist Information Centre
City/Town: Coonabarabran
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A model of the Siding Springs Telescope commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788.



Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: Brisbane Valley Highway, Lions Park
City/Town: Esk
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the bicentenary of European settlement of Australia and the achievements of all generations



Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: 309 Herston Road, Victoria Park
City/Town: Herston
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A stone cairn from the Northwest Territories of Canada, commemorates the Bicentenary of European Settlement.

Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: Austin Street, Lake Lascelles
City/Town: Hopetoun
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A flagpole commemorates the bicentenary of European settlement of Australia.

Bicentenary of European Settlement
Bicentenary of European Settlement
Address: 80 Head Street, School of the Air
City/Town: Alice Springs
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A quilt commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia.

Bicentenary of First Europeans
Bicentenary of First Europeans
Address: Springs Beach
City/Town: Point Lonsdale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Bicentenary of the first Europeans to enter Port Phillip in 1802


Bicentenary of Tasmania
Bicentenary of Tasmania
Address: 1 Logan Road, Falls Park
City/Town: Evandale
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gate at the entrance to Falls Park commemorates the Bicentenary of the foundation of Tasmania



Bicentenary Parkland
Bicentenary Parkland
Address: Milbrodale & Putty Roads,
City/Town: Milbrodale
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A parkland commemorates the bi-centenary of European settlement in Australia. The parkland now incorporates the Garry E Miller Memorial Park which was dedicated in 2005.



Bicentenary Tree
Bicentenary Tree
Address: Thompson & Kennedy Streets, Botanical Gardens
City/Town: Hamilton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Tree commemorates 200 years of European settlement of Australia


Bicentenary Tree
Bicentenary Tree
Address: 408 Warrenheip Road, De Soza Park
City/Town: Buninyong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Tree planted to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



Bicentenary Tree
Bicentenary Tree
Address: Hay Street, Port Macquarie Fire Station
City/Town: Port Macquarie
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the bicentenary of the the European settlement of Australia



Bicentenary Tree
Bicentenary Tree
Address: 46 Hesse Street
City/Town: Queenscliff
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Tree planted to commemorate Australia's Bicentenary in 1988.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



BicentenaryTrees
BicentenaryTrees
Address: Bell Street & ANZAC Avenue, McKenzie Reserve
City/Town: Yarra Glen
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

trees commemorate the bicentennial of European settlement of Australia 



Bicentennial Barbecue
Bicentennial Barbecue
Address: D`Aguilar Highway
City/Town: Moore
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Barbeque erected by Moore citizens to commemorate the nation`s bicentenary.


Bicentennial Beacon
Bicentennial Beacon
Address: Rollingstone Street
City/Town: Rollingstone
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the lighting of the Bicentennial Beacon in June 1998 as part of the 200 years celebration of the European settlement of Australia.



Monument characteristics :



A moulded poured concrete cairn surmounted by a painted sculptured copper flame. A copper plaque is attached (per favour of Copper Refineries)



 



Bicentennial Cairn
Bicentennial Cairn
Address: Albert Street, Neville F. Donald Park
City/Town: Sebastopol
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A cairn commemorates the bicentenary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales, 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



Bicentennial Centennial Plaque - Site of Maroubra Speedway
Bicentennial Centennial Plaque - Site of Maroubra Speedway
Address: Midway Drive, Coral Sea Park
City/Town: Maroubra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque
Address: 1234 Anzac Parade , Malabar Police Station
City/Town: Malabar
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the police station. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - 6 Amiens Crescent, Matraville
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - 6 Amiens Crescent, Matraville
Address: 6 Amiens Crescent
City/Town: Matraville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Administration Building
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Administration Building
Address: 50 Todman Avenue
City/Town: Kensington
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Administration Building.  1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Archina
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Archina
Address: 49 Avoca Street
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Archina . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Ascot
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Ascot
Address: 4 Dutruc Street
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Aston Lodge
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Aston Lodge
Address: Avoca & Stanley Streets, Emanuel School
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Aston Lodge . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Bishops Court
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Bishops Court
Address: Moira Crescent , Bishops Court
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Bishops Court. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Blenheim House
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Blenheim House
Address: 17 Blenheim Street, Blenheim House
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the dwelling . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Carthona
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Carthona
Address: 85 Todman Avenue
City/Town: Kensington
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Carthona . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Chinese Market Gardens and Star Drive-In
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Chinese Market Gardens and Star Drive-In
Address: Wassell Street
City/Town: Matraville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Clovelly Beach
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Clovelly Beach
Address: Clovelly Road, Clovelly Beach
City/Town: Clovelly
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Coogee Surf Rescue Site
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Coogee Surf Rescue Site
Address: Dolphin Street, Coogee Beach
City/Town: Coogee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Coogee Surf Rescue . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Coogee Tram Terminus
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Coogee Tram Terminus
Address: Dolphin Street
City/Town: Coogee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Coogee Tram service. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Dudleys Emporium
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Dudleys Emporium
Address: Anzac Parade & Maroubra Road
City/Town: Maroubra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Glen Mervyn
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Glen Mervyn
Address: 24 Coogee Bay Road
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Glen Mervyn . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Gordon Terrace
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Gordon Terrace
Address: 26 Gordon Street, Gordon Terrace
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the dwellings . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 

Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - High Cross Precinct
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - High Cross Precinct
Address: Avoca Street & Belmore Road, Cuthill Street
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of High Cross Precinct bounded by by Avoca Street, Belmore Road, and Cuthill Street. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Hooper Cottage
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Hooper Cottage
Address: 17 Figtree Avenue
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the cottage . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Howes Refreshment Rooms
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Howes Refreshment Rooms
Address: Yarra Bay
City/Town: Phillip Bay
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the refreshment rooms . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Malabar Tea Rooms
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Malabar Tea Rooms
Address: Bay Parade
City/Town: Malabar
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the tea rooms. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Maroubra Bay Tram Terminus
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Maroubra Bay Tram Terminus
Address: Marine Parade, Maroubra Bay
City/Town: Maroubra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Maroubra Tram Service. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Maroubra Shipwrecks Site
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Maroubra Shipwrecks Site
Address: Marine Parade, Maroubra Beach
City/Town: Maroubra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Maroubra Surf Rescue
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Maroubra Surf Rescue
Address: Marine Parade
City/Town: Maroubra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Maroubra surf rescue. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Newmarket Precinct
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Newmarket Precinct
Address: Young Street, Newmarket Precinct
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Newmarket precinct . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Oceanview
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Oceanview
Address: 121-127 Arden Street
City/Town: Coogee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Oceanview . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Pioneer Park, Botany Cemetery
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Pioneer Park, Botany Cemetery
Address: Bunnerong Road, Pioneer Park, Botany Cemetery
City/Town: Matraville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Randwick Presbyterian Church
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Randwick Presbyterian Church
Address: Alison Road, Randwick Presbyterian Church
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the church . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.


In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.

 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Randwick Tramway Workshops
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Randwick Tramway Workshops
Address: King Street, Bus Depot
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Randwick Tramway Workshops . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Rathven
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Rathven
Address: 43 St Marks Road
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Rathven. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Ritz Theatre
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Ritz Theatre
Address: 43 St Paul`s Street, Ritz Theatre
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Sacred Heart Monastery
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Sacred Heart Monastery
Address: 1 Roma Avenue, Sacred Heart Monastery
City/Town: Kensington
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Sacred Heart Monastery .1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Sandgate
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Sandgate
Address: 128 Belmore Road
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the dwelling . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of 2EU
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of 2EU
Address: Everett Street
City/Town: Maroubra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Coogee Palace Aquarium
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Coogee Palace Aquarium
Address: Dolphin Street
City/Town: Coogee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Coogee Pier and Shark Net
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Coogee Pier and Shark Net
Address: Arden Street, Foreshore
City/Town: Coogee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Minmi Shipwreck
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Minmi Shipwreck
Address: Cape Banks , Botany Bay National Park
City/Town: La Perouse
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the site. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Shipwrecks
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Site of Shipwrecks
Address: Bay Parade
City/Town: Malabar
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the shipwrecks. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - St Judes Church Precinct
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - St Judes Church Precinct
Address: 106-108 Avoca Street, St Judes
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the church precinct. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 





 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - St Judes Fountain
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - St Judes Fountain
Address: Alison Road & Church Street
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the fountain. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Stones Milk Bar
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Stones Milk Bar
Address: Dolphin Street
City/Town: Coogee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Stones Milk Bar. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Streetscape 48-66 St Marks Road
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Streetscape 48-66 St Marks Road
Address: 48-66 St Marks Road
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the dwellings. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Struggletown Precinct
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Struggletown Precinct
Address: 15 Jane Street
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the precinct . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Swan Isle
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Swan Isle
Address: 87 Darley Road
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the dwelling. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Ventnor
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque - Ventnor
Address: Avoca Street, Our Lady Of The Sacred Heart School
City/Town: Randwick
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of Ventnor . 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



 



Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque-Snake Pit
Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque-Snake Pit
Address: Anzac Parade
City/Town: La Perouse
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and details the history of the Snake Pit.  The bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales, 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



In October 1987, on the recommendation of the Randwick Bicentennial Community Committee, the Council undertook a project to give permanent recognition to buildings and sites throughout the City that have particular historical significance. With funding provided by the Australian Bicentennial Authority through its National Heritage and Environment Program, a plaque was designed and manufactured by Arrow Engraving and Foundry Company.



Snake exhibitions have been a feature at La Perouse since the early 1900s.

"Professor" Fred Fox was the first of the famous snake men and set a tradition for showmanship which has continued over the years. Fox was also determined to gain recognition for his snake bite 'antidote'. Demonstrating his antidote in Calcutta in 1914 Fox allowed a deadly krait to bite him several times. However, one bite was inadvertently left untreated and he died within hours.

T
he Cann family name is synonymous with the snake men of La Perouse. George Cann (1897-1965) reigned at the Loop from the 1920s until the 1960s and the tradition has been carried on since his death in 1965 by his sons George and John.



Bicentennial Fern Garden
Bicentennial Fern Garden
Address: Ridgeway, Baromi Park
City/Town: Mirboo North
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A garden commemorates the Bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia.



Bicentennial Flagpole
Bicentennial Flagpole
Address: Cockle Bay , adjacent Pyrmont Bridge
City/Town: Darling Harbour
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Bicentennial Flagpole is dedicated to members of the Order of Australia in recognition of their achievements and services to Australia. The height of the flagpole (200ft) symbolises the Bicentenary of Sydney New South Wales and Australia.



The Order of Australia is an order of chivalry established on 14 February 1975 by Elizabeth II, Queen of Australia, to recognise Australian citizens and other persons for achievement or for meritorious service. Before the establishment of the order, Australian citizens received British honours.

Bicentennial Herb & Sculpture Garden
Bicentennial Herb & Sculpture Garden
Address: Victoria Street, Fotheringham Park
City/Town: Taree
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Herb and Sculpture Garden was opened in 1988 as part of Australia's Bicentennial Celebrations.



Bicentennial Memorial
Bicentennial Memorial
Address: Gwydir Highway & Henderson Street, Sinclair Park
City/Town: Inverell
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A unique memorial depicting the history of the Australian continent, from Aboriginal cultures to 1988 and beyond. Panels depict the history of the Inverell area.


Bicentennial National Trail
Bicentennial National Trail
Address: Wide Bay Highway (Bligh Street) , Lions Park
City/Town: Kilkivan
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument marks the fact that Kilkivan is part of the Bicentennial National Trail from Healesville in Victoria to Cooktown in Queensland. Kilkivan is one of the few towns that the trail passes through.



The Bicentennial National Trail, over 5,000 kilometres from Healesville in Victoria to Cooktown in Queensland, is the longest marked route of its kind in the world; the 107-kilometre section through Kilkivan Shire mainly follows the forest ridges along the coastal ranges to the west of the highly populated plains of the Cooloola region. Here among the hills the trail follows many of the roads and tracks taken by the early pioneers.



The Trail committee proposed that the concept be made a project to celebrate Australia's Bicentenary in 1988. The suggestion was accepted, and funding of $300,000 was available to research, mark a route and print guidebooks. In November 1988, this had been accomplished and the Bicentennial National Trail was opened.



Bicentennial of Australia
Bicentennial of Australia
Address: Kilcoy-Beerwah Road, Peachester Hall
City/Town: Peachester
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates Australia's bicentenary and the arrival of the first settlers in Peachester in 1884.



The bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage. State Councils were also created to ensure cooperation between the federal and state governments. The result was a national programme of events and celebrations to commemorate the Bicentenary.



Bicentennial of the United States of America
Bicentennial of the United States of America
Address: Domain Highway, Queens Domain
City/Town: Hobart
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the bicentennial of the United States of America.



Bicentennial Park
Bicentennial Park
Address: Kable Avenue, Bicentennial Park
City/Town: Tamworth
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia in 1988.



Bicentennial Park
Bicentennial Park
Address: Main Street
City/Town: Devenish
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Bicentennial Park commemorates the bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia.

Bicentennial Park Memorial
Bicentennial Park Memorial
Address: Sanderson Street
City/Town: Pingrup
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bicentennial Park Memorial commemorates the bicentary of Australia in 1988.  During the October 1988 bicentenary celebrations the park was opened and a time capsule placed under the memorial.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788.



Bicentennial Plaque
Bicentennial Plaque
Address: 408 Warrenheip Road, Desoza Park
City/Town: Buninyong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the opening of the Queen Elizabeth Rotunda and Gardens project which commemorated Australia's bicentenary. The project was opened by Elizabeth Gilfillan in appreciation of her work in the design and construction. The project consisted of pick paving and a rose garden which lead to the rotunda.



The bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



 



 



Bicentennial Time Capsule
Bicentennial Time Capsule
Address: Jackson Street, Mineral Springs Park
City/Town: Taradale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A time capsule commemorates the bicentenary of Australia and is a tribute to the pioneers of Taradale.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788.



Establishment of Taradale began with the discovery of gold in Central Victoria around 1851. A petition was made to the Governor of Victoria to proclaim the Municipality of Taradale in 1861. The town was named after the birthplace of Sir Roderick Murchison, Tarradale House, in Scotland, and many of the streets are named after famous figures of the day in science and geology, including Charles Lyell, Roderick Murchison, Michael Faraday and Humphry Davy.

Bicentennial Time Capsule
Bicentennial Time Capsule
Address: Parkes Way , Commonwealth Park
City/Town: Parkes
State: ACT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A Time Capsule commemorates Australia's Bicentenary in 1988.



This capsule was the initiative of the Canberra Times, Australia Day Canberra Committee and the National Capital Development Commission (NCDC). Its contents feature a letter from Prime Minister Robert J. Hawke, a short history of the newspaper and a letter from its editor, as well as a letter from the Commission. Numerous other mementos are included in the 1.5 metre glass capsule to be opened in 2088.



Bicentennial Water Trough Restoration
Bicentennial Water Trough Restoration
Address: Merton Street, Outside Boggabri Public School
City/Town: Boggabri
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the restoration of the historic horse trough by pupils of the Boggabri Public School to commemorate Australia's bicentenary in 1988.  The trough, which was erected in 1873, was used for many years to water the horses that provided the only means of transport for the school children who lived in the outlying areas and who rode to school each day.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.

 

Big Lizzie
Big Lizzie
Address: Calder Highway & Jamieson Avenue, Barklay Square War Memorial Park
City/Town: Red Cliffs
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tractor commmemorates the largest soldier settlement in Australia and the tractor which cleared the land.



Big Lizzie’ was an enormous tractor used to clear vast expanses of land around the river at the Red Cliffs soldier settlement. It was constructed by Frank Bottrill and it was employed by the government to do land-clearing, virtually clearing all of Red Cliffs, and it was capable of clearing up to 50 acres in a day



Big Penguin
Big Penguin
Address: Scenic Drive
City/Town: Penguin
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Big Penguin was erected by Centenary Celebrations Committee as a monument to the proclamation of town of Penguin and also as a tourist attraction. The town was named after the fairy penguin by Ronald C Gunn, a botanist.



Bindi Bindi Centenary Stone
Bindi Bindi Centenary Stone
Address: Bindi-Bindi-Toodyay Road, Bindi Bindi Hall
City/Town: Bindi Bindi
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Centenary Stone commemorates the pioneers of the district.  The Bindi Bindi Centenary Celebration Committee was formed in 1974 to organise a commemoration of the pioneers of the district



Land in Bindi Bindi was first taken up in August 1873 and settled by John Joyce and his family in November 1874. On 30th August 1974, a dinner at the hall was preceeded by an unveiling of the commemorative stone by Mr Mick Lenane and John Joyce junior and his sister Stella Tierny laid wreaths.



Bindi Bindi Water Supply
Bindi Bindi Water Supply
Address: Bindi Bindi - Toodyay Road
City/Town: Bindi Bindi
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorating the opening of the water supply by the Minister for Water resources, Ernie Bridge on 26th February 1988.



Until 1988 the town and surrounding community of Bindi Bindi did not have a reticulated water supply. After many years of lobbying by Doug Tierney of the Rural Water Council and the Moora Shire and with the help of Ernie Brdge, water was finally piped from Balidu to Bindi Bindi. It is an extension of the Goldfields and Agricultural water Supply scheme. It was turned on 113 years after settlement. The Bindi Bindi community supplied machinery and labour to bring the water pipeline from Miling to Bindi Bindi (16kms).



Birchip Centenary
Birchip Centenary
Address: Cumming Avenue
City/Town: Birchip
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The town clock and sculptures commemorate the Birchip centenary, with a model of the stump jump plough invented by James Phelps.



Birdsville Track Centenary Cairn
Birdsville Track Centenary Cairn
Address: Birdsville & Oodnadatta Tracks
City/Town: Marree
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Birdsville Track Centenary Cairn commemorates the pioneers and the centenary of Marree.

Black - Allan Line
Black - Allan Line
City/Town: Genoa
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque marking the Eastern end of the Black - Allan Line, the Victorian - New South Wales border surveyed


Black Stump
Black Stump
Address: Main & High Streets
City/Town: Cowell
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Black Stump was erected as a tribute to the land clearing of the pioneers. The original stump, which was stolen, was erected as a New Years prank in 1972.



Black Stump
Black Stump
Address: Thistle Street, Back of School
City/Town: Blackall
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The original Black Stump was burnt out and replaced by a piece of petrified wood as a project to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988. The Black Stump was used to place theodolites on it and survey the area. A large mural painted by Mr Bob Wilson which sits behind the stump was opened on the 25th August 1993.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788.



The "black stump" saying came about after a group of surveyors arrived on Astro Station near Blackall, in 1887. The surveyors used a blackened tree stump as the base for their measuring equipment. The equipment was so large the tree stump was the most secure base around. The surveyors were at Astro Station to take longitudinal and latitudinal observations, which were to be used in the accurate mapping of inland Australia. From there they were able to fix the position of all the major towns of southern Queensland. Before long people considered anything west of Blackall to be beyond the " Black Stump."



Black Stump Memorial Stone
Black Stump Memorial Stone
Address: Aix & Mons Street
City/Town: Merriwagga
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial Stone explains Black Stump legend and is also a tribute to the pioneers.


It is generally accepted that the "Black Stump" district was named in the 1880s from a water tank in the area of the same name. Another story attributes the ubiquitous black stump to the husband of the unfortunate Barbara Blain, who was buried at Gunbar Cemetery in 1886. Local legend has it that her husband, a bullocky, instructed her to make a fire while he found feed for the livestock. The day was hot, windy and dusty. When he returned he found his wife burned to death. The story goes that when people sympathised with him he said "When I returned to the camp my wife was dead - she looked just like a black stump".


Black-Allan Line Border Cairns
Black-Allan Line Border Cairns
City/Town: Tubbut
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Represents the survey line of the boundaries between Victoria and New South Wales and also associated with settlement

Blackbutt Centenary
Blackbutt Centenary
Address: D`Aguilar Highway
City/Town: Blackbutt
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Clock commemorates 100 years of settlement.

Boggabri Town Clock
Boggabri Town Clock
Address: Merton Street
City/Town: Boggabri
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Boggabri Town Clock was erected to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.

Bong Bong Military Site & First Township Reserve
Bong Bong Military Site & First Township Reserve
Address: Moss Vale- Bowral Road , Cecil Hoskins Reserve
City/Town: Moss Vale
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bong Bong Common is the site of the first European settlement in the Southern Highlands. From 1817, explorer and pastoralist Dr Charles Throsby was grazing his cattle on both sides of the great bend in the Wingecarribee River. Under instructions from Governor Lachlan Macquarie, the Old Argyle Road, leading south from the Cumberland Plain, was commenced in 1819, providing access to the newly settled land south of Camden to Bong Bong, Sutton Forest and beyond.


The village developed as the first centre for law and order in the Southern Highlands, with a row of government buildings erected between 1822 and 1832, close to the Old Argyle Road where the road curved westwards to cross the river by the causeway which is still so important a feature of the site. 


A hut for the first gaoler, Bryan Bagnall, on conditional pardon from his life sentence, was erected beside a simple bark-roofed lock-up in 1822, and soldiers were initially housed in huts until barracks were erected by 1829.


Bong Bong was not a residential settlement but a centre for the administration of law and order, with some basic services for the scattered rural population.


Boonah Explorers Plaque
Boonah Explorers Plaque
Address: High Street, Civic Centre Forecourt
City/Town: Boonah
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque commemorates the discovery of the Boonah district by the explorers Cunningham, Fraser & Logan.

Boort Pioneers Memorial
Boort Pioneers Memorial
Address: Boort-Pyramid Road, 4 kilometres south-east of Boort at old cemetery site
City/Town: Boort
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial is a granite headstone which commemorates the first European settlers who are buried in the old cemetery.


Border Cairn
Border Cairn
Address: Chowilla Reserve
City/Town: Murtho
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Border Cairn (Todd`s Obelisk) marks the border between South Australia and New South Wales associated with Sir Charles Todd.



Todd became Superintendent of Telegraphs and Government Astronomer and Meteorologist in South Australia in 1855 at the age of 30. By 1858 he had completed telegraph links to Victoria and New South Wales and, by 1872, the overland telegraph to Darwin.



As Superintendent of Telegraphs, he made it a duty of all his telegraph operators to make and transmit meteorological observations and he had soon established extensive observing networks throughout South Australia and the Northern Territory, and into Western Australia. Elected a Fellow, Royal Society of London in 1869, he played a leading role in the scientific life of South Australia, even after his formal retirement, until his death in 1909



Border Cairns
Border Cairns
Address: Bonang Road
City/Town: Delegate River
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The 180 kilometre stretch of border from the source of the Murray River to Cape Howe was surveyed from 1870 to 187.   But, because of a long-forgotten disagreement between the Victoria and New South Wales Attorneys-General over its precise location, the border between the two colonies was never formally proclaimed.


The oversight was discovered by the New South Wales government and the border was officially proclaimed in February 2006. The border is known as the Black-Allan Line after the two surveyors who first marked the boundary - a Victorian surveyor appointed by New South Wales, Alexander Black, and Victorian Alexander Allan.


The pair worked from the site of a cairn at Delegate River in 1870, enduring some of Australia`s most rugged terrain and extremes of heat and cold to complete the survey in 1871. They marked the border with 33 stone cairns, nine blazed trees and numerous rock trenches.


Border Tree
Border Tree
Address: New England Highway, Tourist Information Office
City/Town: Wallangarra
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
In 1863 surveyors Francis Edward Roberts from Queensland and Isaiah Rowland from New South Wales were chosen to survey the boundary line. This was between the two colonies from Point Danger to the Dumaresq River. Although two separate surveys were carried out, in many instances both surveyors used the same tree to mark the corners. The New South Wales and Queensland governments have since essentially adopted the survey of Roberts in preference to that by Rowland. Rowland finished his survey in 1865 while Roberts finished in 1866.

Boulia Centenary
Boulia Centenary
Address: Herbert Street
City/Town: Boulia
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque on Boulia War Memorial commemorates the centenary of the town.


Bounty Day Plaque
Bounty Day Plaque
Address: Kingston, Pier Store
City/Town: Norfolk Island
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the arrival of Pitcairn Islanders on Norfolk Island in 1856. The descendants of the Bounty mutineers sailed from Pitcairn Island to settle on Norfolk Island. 194 people (40 men and 47 women, 54 boys and 53 girls) made this 3700 mile, five week journey to Norfolk Island; arriving on 8 June 1856.


Bowral Commemorative Wall
Bowral Commemorative Wall
Address: Bong Bong Street, Memorial Park
City/Town: Bowral
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The commemorative wall marks the history of Bowral and recognises the contribution of outstanding local residents over the last 100 years.  The wall features around 130 people who have made a lasting impact on the community of Bowral. Bronze plaques tell the tales of ordinary folk, heroes and sporting legends. 



The wall also contains relief sculptures of cricketer Sir Donald Bradman and marathon runner Heather Turland two of Bowral's most well Known sporting identities.  The bronze relief sculptures were created by William Eicholtz, who also sculptured the Bowral Coat of Arms which features on the wall. A relief sculpture of Ted Springett is also contained within the wall. 



The wall was a gift from Ted Springett and his brother Bob Springett to the Wingecarribee Shire. The Springett family have been contributors to the Bowral district for over a century. Not only did Ted contributed to the wall financially, leading up to the unveiling he spent 12 months investigating the history of the area and researching the 130 people represented on the wall so far.



Box Hill Pioneer Memorial
Box Hill Pioneer Memorial
Address: Station Street, Pioneer Park
City/Town: Box Hill
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Box Hill pioneers using stone from the remains of the chimney of the home of pioneer settler Arundel Wright


Box Hill Pioneer Memorial
Box Hill Pioneer Memorial
Address: Hamilton`s Road
City/Town: Yea
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the site of `Box Hill`, homestead of pioneer William Drysdale



Bridgefield Monument
Bridgefield Monument
Address: Bussell Highway
City/Town: Margaret River
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The monument near the old Bridgefield marks the beginning of the hospitality industry, the importance of the timber industry and the pioneering efforts of the early settlers.



The Bridgefield Monument marks the appropriate location of the Davies’ livery stables for horses used in the coaching business operated by Thomas and Elizabeth Higgins. The Higgins began on this site service in 1894 when the surveyor Brazier developed a new road to connect Busselton with Margaret River for the MC Davies timber operations at Karridale.



Bridgetown Landing
Bridgetown Landing
Address: South Western Highway
City/Town: Bridgetown
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the first landing in Bridgetown.



The first explorer, an Augusta settler, Thomas Turner, traced the Blackwood River upstream to its junction with the Arthur River in 1834. Although a report was then sent to Perth, it was twenty years before an official expedition was undertaken. Augustus C. Gregory, Assistant Surveyor, led a party from the upper Blackwood to the coast in 1845,and later conducted a survey of the district in 1852.



Bright - Tawonga Road
Bright - Tawonga Road
Address: Tawonga Gap Road, Tawonga Gap
City/Town: Tawonga
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A cairn marks the opening of the Bright - Towanga Road linking the Kiewa and Ovens Valleys which enabled the Tawonga farmers to get their produce to Bright



Bright Centenary Cairn
Bright Centenary Cairn
Address: Mountbatten Avenue, Centenary Park
City/Town: Bright
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the centenary of the foundation of Bright.


Explored, like so much of Victoria, by Hume and Hovell in 1824, the first pastoral runs in the Bright area were taken up in the late 1830s - one of them by Hume`s brother-in-law, Dr Mackay, whose difficulties with the local Aborigines caused him to move to another property.


In 1845, Thomas Buckland established the area`s first cattle run near the river which was later to bear his name. The real development of the district began in 1853, when W.H. Pardoe discovered gold along the Buckland River. In 1861, the town became the administrative centre for the swelling population of the Buckland Gold District. Shortly afterwards, its name was officially changed to honour John Bright, a British liberal politician and advocate of free trade.


Brisbane Burial Ground
Brisbane Burial Ground
Address: Roma & Saul Streets
City/Town: Brisbane
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the site of one of Brisbane`s earliest burial grounds

Brisbane Water Supply
Brisbane Water Supply
Address: Roma Street, Railway Park
City/Town: Brisbane
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates one of the earliest sources of Brisbane`s water supply.

British Child Migration Schemes
British Child Migration Schemes
Address: 82 Kintore Avenue, Migration Museum
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the innocent children sent to Australia under the Bristish Child Migration Schemes of the 19th and 20th centuries.



Over 7000 children migrated to Australia under assisted child migration schemes. The vast majority of children were migrated from the UK, with a small number from Malta. Child migrants were adopted or brought up in children's homes, institutions, orphanages or foster care. Many of these children experienced neglect and abuse while in institutional care.



British Proclamation
British Proclamation
Address: Rhyll-Newhaven Road
City/Town: Rhyll
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the proclamation of the area as a British possession.


Broken Hill Geological Monument
Broken Hill Geological Monument
Address: Nine Mile Road, Living Desert Sculpture Park
City/Town: Broken Hill
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Geological Monument


Bruk Bruk Soldier Settlement Estate
Bruk Bruk Soldier Settlement Estate
Address: Satimer Road
City/Town: Wando Vale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bruk Bruk Soldier Settlement Estate cairn commemorate returned Second World War servicemen who settled the Bruk Bruk Estate in 1959.



Buchan Pioneer Memorial
Buchan Pioneer Memorial
Address: Main Street
City/Town: Buchan
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the discoverers of Buchan, Edward William Bayliss and settler John Rhodes Wilkinson.


East Gippsland explorer, Edward Baylis, began the Buchan station in the late 1830s. The area was first settled around 1840 but no detailed survey or exploration was carried out until 1899 or 1900.


Buckland Riots
Buckland Riots
Address: Buckland Valley Road, Buckland Cemetery
City/Town: Buckland
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to the Riot in the Buckland Valley when thousands of Chinese miners were attacked and driven from the goldfields.


This significant race riot has been compared to the Eureka Stockade uprising in size and intensity. Over 750 miner’s tents were destroyed, stores belonging to the Chinese were burnt down and looted and the newly erected Chinese Temple “Joss House” was reduced to ashes. Many details of this event are still debated as court records have mysteriously disappeared from the Beechworth Court House.


Bullock Drivers
Bullock Drivers
Address: Royal Circus
City/Town: Robe
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the bullock drivers who worked in Robe between 1847 -1920.



Originally bullock teams pulling drays piled high with wool or wheat would use this Royal Circus as a turning circle when bringing their goods to the customs house before export.



Bunbury Railway Station Plaque
Bunbury Railway Station Plaque
Address: Prinsep & Wittenoom Streets, Bunbury City Council Grounds
City/Town: Bunbury
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Bunbury Railway Station Plaque features an etching of the Bunbury Railway Station attached to a granite rock marking the location of the city's first railway station. The plaque was unveiled to honour the courage, endurance and enterprise of West Australia's early settlers. 


Bungonia District Time Capsule
Bungonia District Time Capsule
Address: King Street, War Memorial
City/Town: Bungonia
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A Time Capsule commemorates the bicentenary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.

Burwood Orangemen
Burwood Orangemen
Address: 325 Station Street, Loyal Orange Hall
City/Town: Box Hill South
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneer Orangemen of the Burwood District.


The first Orange Lodges in Victoria were formed in 1843 and 1847, the direct result of civil unrest by sections of the local Roman Catholic community. The civil unrest followed the democratic election of a Protestant to represent the Port Phillip District in the first New South Wales Parliament. Open voting at election then existed, so that each party knew how the other voted. The conduct of many Roman Catholics at this election so aroused the Protestants that they resolved to band themselves together for mutual protection "and to resist in the future the lawless conduct of the Popish mob."



In June 1867, the two branches of Orangeism operating in Victoria merged to form the Loyal Orange Institution of Victoria, which continues to function successfully, currently with some 30 subordinate lodges.

 


Burwood Villa
Burwood Villa
Address: Burwood Road, Burwood Park
City/Town: Burwood
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Obelisk commemorating the site of Burwood Villa.


The first house, Burwood Villa was built in the area in 1814, the same year that a stagecoach began running between Sydney and Parramatta. Burwood became a staging post along the road and the beginnings of a settlement started to develop.


 


Butler`s Swamp
Butler`s Swamp
Address: Davies Road, In reserve surrounding Lake Claremont
City/Town: Claremont
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial erected on 150th Anniversary of Western Australia to commemorate settler John Butler and also the settlement of military pensioners in 1850.


Camden Pioneer Mural
Camden Pioneer Mural
Address: Menangle Road & Old Hume Highway
City/Town: Camden
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A mural commemorates the European pioneers of Camden.



The mural, on a stone wall, is made of tiles, and is approximately eleven metres long and 3.5 metres high. It is divided into five panels. The first on the left, surmounted by a rotary wheel, depicts Aboriginal hunting and wheat and mining industries. The second panel is a ram`s head and shepherd`s crook with the date 1797.



The centre panel consists of sheep, wool shed, bales of wool, and sailing ship surmounted by the Camden coat of arms and the date 1795. The fourth panel is a bunch of grapes, shovel and brush hook and the date 1805, when the local wine industry began. The fifth panel depicts grape growing, orcharding, sheep, agriculture, milk industry and wine industry, surmounted by Macarthur`s coat of arms.



Cameron`s One Ton Survey Post
Cameron`s One Ton Survey Post
Address: Barwon River
City/Town: Mungindi
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A post marks the first official survey of the border between New South Wales and Queensland.



Cameron`s 1 Ton Survey Post marks the first official survey of the border between what were then the separate colonies of New South Wales and Queensland when an accurate definition of the border was important for legal and economic reasons. It illustrates a remarkable feat of surveying in the nineteenth century and is a reminder of the extraordinarily difficult conditions under which many early surveyors worked.



John Brewer Cameron was a First Class surveyor in the Trigonometrical branch of the New South Wales Lands Department and a member of the Royal Geographical Society of New South Wales. When the survey was complete Cameron commemorated the event by placing a wooden post weighing one ton and carved with his name on the river bank. It became known as Cameron`s 1 Ton Survey Post. Cameron`s 1 Ton Survey post was erected in about 1882 on the bank of the Barwon River and marks the official survey of the border between Queensland and New South Wales.



Campbell Town Convict Brick Trail
Campbell Town Convict Brick Trail
Address: High Street (Midland Highway)
City/Town: Campbell Town
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Convict Brick Trail at Campbell Town commemorates some of the nearly 200,000 convicts who were transported to Australia between 1788 and 1868. The first brick was laid by Mayor Kim Polley on the 28 August 2003. Each brick details a convict’s name, their crimes and subsequent punishment.



The trail is located on the footpath in High St, Campbell Town and commences outside the historic premises known as the Fox Hunters Return which is adjacent to the Red Bridge. It extends to the CBD on the western side and to the IGA Supermarket on the eastern side.



 



 



 



 



 



Campbelltown City Proclamation
Campbelltown City Proclamation
Address: Queen Street, Civic Centre
City/Town: Campbelltown
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Stone commemorates the proclamation of Campbelltown as a city in 1968.


Campbelltown was founded in 1820, named after Elizabeth Macquarie née Campbell, wife of the then Governor of New South Wales Lachlan Macquarie. Campbelltown Council was originally incorporated in 1882 and Campbelltown was proclaimed a city in 1968.


Campbelltown Proclamation
Campbelltown Proclamation
Address: Queen Street, Civic Centre
City/Town: Campbelltown
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Watering trough and hitching post erected by James Bocking, Mayor to commemorate the proclamation of the Municipality of Campbelltown in 1882.



The area of Campbelltown was first visited by Governor Hunter in 1795, and was explored by Governor Lachlan Macquarie in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. On 1 December 1820, Governor Macquarie named the area Campbell Town in honour of his wife’s maiden name, with the area later being known simply as Campbelltown.



In 1882, the area was officially proclaimed as the Municipal District of Campbelltown by the Governor of NSW. Nine Aldermen were elected, with John Ahearn elected the first Mayor of Campbelltown.



The Municipal District of Ingleburn was proclaimed in 1896.



In 1948 Campbelltown and Ingleburn were joined into one common council (including part of the Nepean Shire) and became known as the Amalgamated Municipality of Campbelltown.

 



 



 



Cania Pioneers
Cania Pioneers
Address: Cania Gorge Road, Cania Dam
City/Town: Cania
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Memorial to early pioneers of the district.

Canonba Township
Canonba Township
Address: Colane Road, 32 kilometres north of Nyngan
City/Town: Canonba
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the site of the township of Canonba.


The area was visited by Major Mitchell in 1834 and it became a staging area for Cobb and Co coaches passing to Bourke and beyond. With the coming of the railway to Nyngan in 1883, Canonba ceased to exist.


Canton Lead Cairn and Statue
Canton Lead Cairn and Statue
Address: Lambert Street (Western Highway)
City/Town: Ararat
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Grey granite stone mounted on a concrete base with black granite plaque depicting miner's pick and shovel.  A statue of a Chinese miner by Mrs Dorothea Saarghy is nearby.


Canton Lead is unique in Australian cultural heritage and it is site upon which the city of Ararat was founded.  Ararat is the only city in Australia to be founded by Chinese immigrants.


For the first five weeks it was referred to as Canton Lead, then as Mount Ararat, and then shortened to Ararat. On a Sunday morning in May, 1857, 700 Chinese miners from Southern China, travelling overland from the Port of Robe, South Australia, to the Clunes Goldfields in the Colony of Victoria, rested at a place at the foothills of the Great Dividing Range, some 400 kilometres due east of Robe.


Replenishing their water supplies at a spring, they discovered by chance the Canton Lead, the world`s richest shallow alluvial goldfield that stretched five kilometres at length. This find marked the beginning of the Ararat Goldfield, which grew to a population of more than 30,000 in a mere few weeks. In the first three months of mining, the Canton Lead yielded more than three tonnes of gold.


Captain Arthur Phillip
Captain Arthur Phillip
City/Town: Pearl Beach
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Captain Arthur Phillip`s and his party`s visit to Pearl Beach.


In early March 1788, Governor Arthur Phillip led a small party of officers and marines on an exploratory voyage along the coast to the north of Sydney Harbour. Only five weeks after the arrival of the First Fleet at Sydney Cove, it became clear that reliable supplies of water and food must be found if the settlement was to survive. During the eight-day voyage, Phillip and his party made a brief exploration of both sides of Broken Bay. This included a tributary initially known as the `north arm`. Later this area was to be called the `north-east arm`, and eventually `Brisbane Water`


Captain Arthur Phillip Landing
Captain Arthur Phillip Landing
Address: Kooringal Avenue, Yarra Bay Bicentennial Park
City/Town: Phillip Bay
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the place where Captain Arthur Phillip first set foot on Australian soil.



Captain Arthur Phillip RN was a British admiral and colonial administrator. Phillip was appointed Governor of New South Wales, the first European colony on the Australian continent, and was the founder of the site which is now the city of Sydney.



In October 1786, Phillip was appointed captain of HMS Sirius and named Governor-designate of New South Wales, the proposed British penal colony on the east coast of Australia, by Lord Sydney, the Home Secretary. The First Fleet, of 11 ships, set sail on 13 May 1787. The leading ship, HMS Supply reached Botany Bay setting up camp on the Kurnell Peninsula, on 18 January 1788. Phillip soon decided that this site, chosen on the recommendation of Sir Joseph Banks, who had accompanied James Cook in 1770, was not suitable, since it had poor soil, no secure anchorage and no reliable water source. After some exploration Phillip decided to go on to Port Jackson, and on 26 January the marines and convicts were landed at Sydney Cove, which Phillip named after Lord Sydney.



Captain Arthur Phillip`s Manly Landing Site
Captain Arthur Phillip`s Manly Landing Site
Address: West Esplanade
City/Town: Manly
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial erected in 1928 by the Manly Warringah and Pittwater Historical Society commemorates the landing at Manly of Captain Arthur Philip, Royal Navy, the first governor of New South Wales on the 21st January 1788. The memorial was officially unveiled on the 20th January 1929. The memorial also contains a plaque erected in 2006 which tells the story of the spearing of Governor Phillip.



There was a spectacular ceremony at Manly yesterday when Rear Admiral Hyde unveiled a memorial to Governor Phillip. He  said that it was due to Captain Arthur Phillip's foresight and energy and his unfading perseverance that the foundation of Australia was laid so truly.  The ceremony included the landing of Rear Admiral Hyde on the beach at Manly. The mayor of Manly and the officers of the Manly, Warringah and Pittwater Historical Society (by which the memorial was erected ) welcomed Rear Admiral Hyde on the beach.

The Argus ( Melbourne), 21st January 1929.


 



Captain D. M. Hahn
Captain D. M. Hahn
Address: Mount Barker Road, Pioneer Memorial Gardens
City/Town: Hahndorf
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bust of Captain D. M. Hahn commemorates the naming of Hahndorf.



Hahndorf's history is connected to the arrival at Port Adelaide, on 28 December, 1838 of the 344 ton ship, Zebra, under the control of Captain Dirk Hahn. He was impressed by his passengers to such a point that upon their arrival in South Australia he was determined to help them. Although a Dane it is he who is honoured with his name being the basis of the town's name.



The ship was carrying 187 German immigrants. For a time the immigrants lived in tents at Port Adelaide then Hahn came to an agreement to rent 150 acres of land (this was the present site of Hahndorf) which would be divided up so there was 38 acres for living quarters and the rest for farming. Later the grant was expanded to 240 acres.



Captain George Ward Cole
Captain George Ward Cole
Address: Murradoc & Bluff Roads
City/Town: St Leonards
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 150th anniversary of the settlement of St Leonards by Captain George Ward Cole 


Captain Henry Waterhouse
Captain Henry Waterhouse
Address: Jeffrey Street, Captain Henry Waterhouse Reserve
City/Town: Kirribilli
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A Reserve commemorates Captain Henry Waterhouse, Naval Officer, (1770-1812) who made a significant contribution to the development of the colony of New South Wales between the years 1788 to 1800.



Caramut & District Soldier Settlers
Caramut & District Soldier Settlers
Address: Hamilton Highway
City/Town: Caramut
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates Soldier Settlers of the district who arrived in the district after World War Two.


Soldier settlement refers to the occupation and settlement of land throughout parts of Australia by returning discharged soldiers under schemes administered by the State Governments after World Wars I and II.


 


Carapook Soldier Settlerment
Carapook Soldier Settlerment
Address: Carapook Road, Public Hall
City/Town: Carapook
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorating Soldier settlers on the three post World War Two estates at Carapook, Bella Vista, Tulse Hill & McNicol`s.


Cardwell Shire Bi-Centennial Time Capsule
Cardwell Shire Bi-Centennial Time Capsule
Address: Bruce Highway
City/Town: Cardwell
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorating 200 years of settlement in Australia.

Carillon Tower
Carillon Tower
Address: Armstrong Street South
City/Town: Ballarat
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Carillon Tower was built to commemorate the bicentenary of European settlement of Australia



Carlo Catani and Moe Swamp Settlers Memorial
Carlo Catani and Moe Swamp Settlers Memorial
Address: Seven Mile Road
City/Town: Trafalgar
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Carlo Catani, an engineer who drained the swamp, and those who settled in the landscape


Castlereagh Settlement
Castlereagh Settlement
Address: Castlereagh Road , Smith Park
City/Town: Castlereagh
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to the original selection for the site of Castlereagh by Governor Macquarie.


This suburb is one of the most historic sites in Australia's history, being one of Governor Lachlan Macquarie's five towns founded in 1810.


Cathcart Pioneers Memorial
Cathcart Pioneers Memorial
Address: Ararat -Pomonal Road & Deenicul Creek Road, Cathcart Rest Area
City/Town: Cathcart
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque unveiled during Victoria`s 150th Anniversary commemorates the pioneers of Cathcart.



Catholic Pioneers of Moruya
Catholic Pioneers of Moruya
Address: Queen & Page Streets , Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church
City/Town: Moruya
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Two sets of stained glass windows commemorate the Catholic Pioneers of Moruya.



Cecil Plains Soldier Settlement
Cecil Plains Soldier Settlement
City/Town: Cecil Plains
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates soldier settlers.



In 1916, Cecil Plains station was acquired by the Queensland government and subdivided for closer settlement, with some parcels reserved for soldier settlers. The new settlers produced mainly wheat and dairy.



One third of the repurchased Cecil Plains Estate was set apart for returned soldiers which consisted of 73 portions which totalled 40,578 acres. When the ballot closed on the 25th March 1919 , some of the land had been allocated with some returned soldiers indicating they would apply later on. The Brisbane Courier, 29th March 1919.



Centenary Arch
Centenary Arch
Address: Byrnes Street, Centenary Park
City/Town: Mareeba
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneers of Mareeba.



Centenary Band Rotunda
Centenary Band Rotunda
Address: Lyttleton & Wellington Streets
City/Town: Longford
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A band rotunda commemorates the centenary of Longford

Centenary Cairn
Centenary Cairn
Address: Austral Terrace
City/Town: Katanning
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn erected on the first school site commemorates the centenary of Katanning. The cairn was erected in 1989 and a time capsule placed inside. This time capsule was made up from some of the items in the time capsule originally placed under the Piesse Memorial in 1914, with some additional items added. The memorial is a pyramid shape and has a bronze plaque attached. It records the site of the first school which was held in the former kitchen of the railway station. The first school building was erected in 1894.



The first Europeans to explore the Katanning area were Governor James Stirling and Surveyor General John Septimus Roe who travelled through the area in 1835 en route from Perth to Albany



In about 1870, sandalwood cutters moved into the area but they did not settle. It was not until the arrival of the Great Southern Railway from Perth to Albany in 1889 that the township came into existence.



 



Centenary Lookout
Centenary Lookout
Address: Silcocks Hill Road
City/Town: Toora
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commeorates the centenary of the Toora township and the pioneer settlers



Centenary Memorial
Centenary Memorial
Address: Old Belair Road & Norman Walk, Mitcham Reserve
City/Town: Mitcham
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Memorial commemorates the centenary of the foundation of Mitcham.



Governor At Mitcham Centenary



Unveiling the Mitcham Centenary Memorial on Saturday, the Governor (Sir Robert George) said that it must have taken considerable courage 'to plan and settle a town such as yours from nothing." It is difficult to imagine the picture which Governor Hindmarsh saw when he first arrived here 116 years ago,'he added. 'It was, I imagine,a picture of desolation.  ''It is most encouraging to hear in these hard times of a community which has flourished as yours has done.



'The memorial, a stone pillar on the Mitcham Reserve, is inscribed 'This memorial marks the site of the Union Chapel and schoolhouse where Thomas Mugg in 1846 began the school which is now the Mitcham PrimarySchool.' Public meetings held on this site in 1853 resulted in the formation of the Mitcham District Council— the first local governing body outside Adelaide in SA. 'The centenary of Mitcham is also being celebrated by the borough of Mitcham in Surrey, England. Speaking of the event, the mayor (Mr. C. R. Sutton) said: — 'Those councillors and their women folk are joining our celebrations by attending a dinner a few hours before the one Mitcham will hold in SA, in the White Hart Hotel, Surrey.'



All the food and wines served there will be South Australian sent from Mitcham. The host and hostess,on behalf of this council,will be the acting Agent General for SA (Mr. A. H.Greenham) and Mrs. Greenham. Before the unveiling, a short open-air play was presented by the Adelaide Repertory players illustrating a conception of the Mitcham District Council 100 years ago. The script was written by Miss Cathrine Brownbill from notes supplied by Alderman W. A. Norman.

The Advertiser, Adelaide : 16-March-1953



 



Centenary Of Beaudesert
Centenary Of Beaudesert
Address: Brisbane Street, Outside Shire Offices- on bus shelter
City/Town: Beaudesert
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the centenary of Beaudesert. The town was named after Beau Desert station which was established in the area in 1842 and named after Beau Desert Park in Staffordshire. The area had been explored in the late 1820s by both Allan Cunningham and Patrick Logan after whom the nearby river is named. The large landholdings which were taken up in the early 1840s remained until the 1860s when they were broken up. This led to a change from sheep grazing to cattle and a growth in the density of a settlement which became known as Beaudesert which was proclaimed a town in 1874. By the time the railway arrived in 1888 the town had grown due to its proximity to Brisbane.

Centenary of Berrigan
Centenary of Berrigan
Address: Cobram Road
City/Town: Berrigan
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of foundation of Berrigan



Centenary of Berriwillock
Centenary of Berriwillock
Address: 14 Morris Street, Tynan Park
City/Town: Berriwillock
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the pioneers and the Centenary of Berriwillock

Centenary of Boolarra
Centenary of Boolarra
Address: Tarwin Street, Centenary Park
City/Town: Boolarra
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of Boolarra and district



Centenary of Broken Hill
Centenary of Broken Hill
Address: Sulphide & Blende Streets
City/Town: Broken Hill
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A time capsule commemorates the centenary of the setllement of Broken Hill



Centenary of Charleston
Centenary of Charleston
Address: Newman Road, Newman Park
City/Town: Charleston
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The archway to Newman Park commemorates the centenary of the settlement of Charleston, and the pioneer settlers.

Charleston's Centenary celebrations plans are now taking definite shape. They will take place on March 13th and 14th. To commemorate the memory of the early settlers, the first of whom arrived in 1839, an arch is being erected at the entrance of the park, the town's Centenary gesture.

The Mount Barker Courier and Onkaparinga and Gumeracha Advertiser (SA), 4 February 1937.



The Charleston Centenary celebrations on Saturday were an outstanding success. At least 1000 people were present. Never before in the history of Charleston has such a crowd gathered. The procession finished up at the gates of the new Centenary Park. This park, about an acre in extent, is a gift  from Mr. H. Newman, sen.  He concluded a speech by handing the keys of the  ground to Mr. Playford. M.P. for guardianship. Mr. Playford then declared the gates open by cutting the ribbon. The tablet erected to the memory of the old pioneers was unveiled by Mr. Shannon M.P.

The Advertiser (Adelaide), 16 March 1937.



Centenary of Charlton
Centenary of Charlton
Address: High Street
City/Town: Charlton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of the settlement of Charlton in 1864



Centenary of Dookie
Centenary of Dookie
Address: Mary Street
City/Town: Dookie
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Clock tower commemorates the centenary of the Dookie township



Centenary of European Settlement
Centenary of European Settlement
Address: High Street
City/Town: Merino
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the centenary of European settlement in Merino and the people who planted trees to commemorate the coronation of King George VI


Centenary of Federation
Centenary of Federation
Address: Mid-Western Highway
City/Town: Caragabal
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque commemorates the Centenary of Federation celebrated at Caragabal on the 18th August, 2001.



The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Centenary of Federation Italian Settlers Memorial
Centenary of Federation Italian Settlers Memorial
Address: Albany Highway, near Sanctuary Lake
City/Town: Armadale
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The project commemorates the Centenary of Federation and was funded by a $25,000 grant from the WA 2001 Community Centenary Project.



The Southern Region Italo-Australian Community Foundation Inc used the grant to develop a memorial park featuring a life-size bronze sculpture of an Italian immigrant couple (circa 1940s) and three children. The sculpture is surrounded by landscaped gardens, a water feature and seating and provides an attractive area for relaxation and reflection near Sanctuary Lake in Armadale.



The memorial park and bronze statue recognises the achievements and contributions of the Italian settlers to this region.  Italians from all walks of life made their way to Australia after the Second World War and since that time have made a significant contribution to the heart and soul of Australia.



Plaques surrounding the memorial commemorate immigrant families : - Mazzega Family, Moles Family, Leone & Mary Giglia Family, O'Shaughnessy Family, Nick & pam Pagano.



Centenary of Finley
Centenary of Finley
Address: Newell Highway
City/Town: Finley
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of the settlement of Finley



Centenary of Fish Creek
Centenary of Fish Creek
Address: Falls Road
City/Town: Fish Creek
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A large mosiac commemorates the centenary of the Fish Creek township.



Centenary of Fortitude Valley
Centenary of Fortitude Valley
Address: Wickham Street
City/Town: Fortitude Valley
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the centenary of the foundation of the Fortitude Valley settlement

Centenary of Irrigation Settlement
Centenary of Irrigation Settlement
Address: Box & Smith Streets, Kenny Park
City/Town: Merbein
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the centenary of the implementation of irrigation into the Merbein District.

Centenary of Jeparit
Centenary of Jeparit
Address: Roy & Charles Street, Menzies Place
City/Town: Jeparit
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the centenary of Jeparit being declared a town.

Centenary of Land Selection
Centenary of Land Selection
Address: Calder Highway, Nullawill Park
City/Town: Nullawil
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A memorial commemorates the centenary of land selection in the Nullawil District 

Centenary of Melbourne
Centenary of Melbourne
Address: Swanston Street, Melbourne Town Hall, Lord Mayor`s office
City/Town: Melbourne
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the incorporation of the inhabitants of the Town of Melbourne


Centenary of Melbourne
Centenary of Melbourne
Address: St Kilda Road, Shrine Reserve
City/Town: Melbourne
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Fountain erected by the notable confectioner and philanthropist Sir Macpherson Robertson commemorates the centenary of Melbourne


Centenary of Mount Gambier
Centenary of Mount Gambier
Address: Commercial Street East
City/Town: Mount Gambier
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Time capsule commemorates the centenary of the settlement of Mount Gambier.



Centenary of Rowan Park
Centenary of Rowan Park
Address: Yarrawonga-Benalla Highway, Lake Rowan Recreation Reserve
City/Town: Lake Rowan
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the centenary of Rowan Park



Centenary of Sea Lake
Centenary of Sea Lake
Address: Best Street
City/Town: Sea Lake
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the centenary of the Sea Lake township and the early settlers and pioneers

Centenary of St Kilda
Centenary of St Kilda
Address: Blessington Street, St Kilda Botanical Gardens
City/Town: St Kilda
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Conservatory commemorates the centenary of St. Kilda as a city.



Centenary of Strathbogie District
Centenary of Strathbogie District
Address: Main Street
City/Town: Strathbogie
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the centenary of the Strathbogie District.

Centenary of Survey
Centenary of Survey
Address: Belmore & Orr Streets
City/Town: Yarrawonga
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of the surveying of Yararwonga undertaken in 1868


Centenary of the Borough
Centenary of the Borough
Address: Peg Leg & Sailors Gully Roads, Eaglehawk Town Hall
City/Town: Eaglehawk
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the centenary of the Borough of Eaglehawk

Centenary of the City Proclamation
Centenary of the City Proclamation
Address: Gheringhap Street, City Hall
City/Town: Geelong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the centenary of the proclamation of Geelong as a city



Centenary of Township of North Sydney
Centenary of Township of North Sydney
Address: Miller & McLaren Streets, Civic Centre
City/Town: North Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates centenary of the township of North Sydney. 



The plan of the township was approved by Governor Gipps and gazetted as St. Leonards on the 10th October 1838 and was changed to North Sydney on the 9th September 1893.



Centenary Park
Centenary Park
City/Town: Arapiles
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park commemorates the centenary of the settlement of Arapiles.



Centenary Place 75th Anniversary
Centenary Place 75th Anniversary
Address: 85 Wickham Street, Centenary Place
City/Town: Fortitude Valley
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A sundial commemorates the 75th anniversary and redevelopment of Centenary Place.



Centenary Place was designed and constructed for the purpose of commemorating the centenary of European settlement in Queensland (1824-1924). It is also important as the site of a public forum or speaker's corner during the 1960s and 1970s when political activism was increasing and public speaking spaces were use to promote public awareness of both national and local issues.



Centenary Year
Centenary Year
Address: Maleny-Kenilworth Road, Kenilworth Public Hall
City/Town: Kenilworth
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A flagpole commemorates the centenary year of Kenilworth.

Central Australia Pioneers Memorial (John Ross Memorial)
Central Australia Pioneers Memorial (John Ross Memorial)
Address: Wills Terrace, Trevor Reid Park
City/Town: Alice Springs
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Central Australian Pioneers Memorial was erected in 1955 to the memory of John Ross and all pioneers of Central Australia. Also known as the John Ross Memorial, the memorial was restored in 1994 and is now contained in a metal cage. The plaques are very difficult to read and photograph. There is some graffiti on the memorial.



The "John Ross Memorial Fund" was commenced with the modest sum of £26 in the bank. John Ross was Central Australia's first explorer-pioneer, and it is therefore only right that the fund should be in his name. Both he and his small son, Alexander, aged 10, made a hazardous journey right into Central Australia in search of fresh pastures as early as 1868-9. It  is a story that would thrill any Australian school boy.  John Ross was also the explorer, who discovered the Alice Springs (on March 17, 1871). Immediately after him came the surveyors and constructors of the, Overland Telegraph Line. These, men constitute our very first pioneers. The pastoral pioneers of Undoolya and Owen Springs stations came next, in 1872.



Upon authoritative suggestion, a site immediately to the west of the oval gates and almost directly in front of the Wilkinson Memorial, has been selected. This site would give the general public access to the drinking fountain, which form it is suggested that the memorial take. Situated, as it will be on Will's Terrace, the drinking fountain memorial will serve a threefold purpose —



1. Central Australia could not exist without water, which our explorers and pioneers strove to locate, and without which so many perished.



2. From the historical standpoint, the site would still be authentic, as all parties must surely have camped in the close vicinity of the proposed memorial, once they arrived on the banks of the Todd River.



3. Wills' Terrace was the first inhabited street of the township of Stuart (now Alice Springs), and its inhabitants were therefore all pioneers.



Proudly then, if belated the effort, the 'John Ross Memorial Fund' is declared ' open to all Australians, and in fact, to all people who have in their veins true rich blood of the pioneers.

Centralian Advocate (Alice Springs), 13th August 1954.





 



 



Ceratodus Rail Station
Ceratodus Rail Station
Address: Burnett Highway , George Spencer Memorial Rest Area
City/Town: Ceratodus
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Ceratodus Rail Station was relocated to its present position as a lasting tribute to the pioneers who built the railway and settled in the North Burnett area. Ceratodus is named after a lung fish which is found in the Burnett River.



Chain of Beacons
Chain of Beacons
Address: Alexandra Parade
City/Town: Alexandra Headland
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Tree commemorates Maroochy Shire's participation in the Chain of Beacons across Australia in 1988.

Chain of Ponds
Chain of Ponds
Address: North East Road, Philptown/ Chain of Ponds Cemetery
City/Town: Chain of Ponds
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the township and pioneers of Chain of Ponds.



The settlement was established by the South Australia Company. First settled early in the 1840s, the township was laid out after the opening of the North East Road in the 1850s. By this time, the town was reported to include two post office buildings, institute, church, service station, a handful of cottages and the old Morning Star Hotel.



There was also a nearby township called Millbrook, but it was demolished to make way for the Millbrook Reservoir, which was constructed between 1914 and 1918 to control the flow of the upper Torrens River and supply the eastern suburbs of Adelaide from an appropriate elevation. In the 1970s, Chain of Ponds was also demolished to safeguard against water pollution in the reservoir.



Chapman Family
Chapman Family
Address: Arthurs Seat Road, Chapman`s Point
City/Town: Dromana
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn with direction finder commemorates the pioneer Chapman family.


Charles Archer and Sleipner
Charles Archer and Sleipner
Address: Archer & Quay Streets
City/Town: Rockhampton
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the meeting place which determined the site of the city.


Charles Archer explored the Fitzroy and Dawson River areas looking for suitable grazing lands in 1853-4. He tendered for the Farris Run in Gracemere and travelled overland with livestock to arrive in 1855. His brother Colin was to bring much needed supplies by sea and the two met when the "Ellida" sailed up the coast from Maryborough and along the Fitzroy River. This became the site of Rockhampton. Sleipner, Archer`s horse, was named after Odin`s fabled horse in Scandinavian mythology.


Charleyong Pioneers
Charleyong Pioneers
Address: Braidwood Cemetery
City/Town: Braidwood
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument to pioneers of Charleyong.


Charleyong, originally known as Taylor`s village, was a flourishing alluvial mining and agricultural settlement from about 1854 until the early years of the twentieth century. William Taylor`s store at the heart of the settlement, sold general provisions and diggers equipment. There was a butcher next door. In March 1871 the storekeeper also became the Postmaster. The store and Post Office survived until the late 1890`s when, the gold being worked out, miners and their families were leaving the district. The site of Charleyong village and cemetery is situated within lands now owned by the Sydney Catchment Authority. There are 51 burials dated between 1864 and 1904 recorded at Charleyong.


Chermside Pioneers
Chermside Pioneers
Address: 60 Kuran Street, Burnie Brae Community Garden
City/Town: Chermside
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Public Artwork honours the early pioneering families of the Chermside area. Historic photos of the early pioneering families of Chermside have been embedded in a timber and iron public artwork on the archway entrance to Burnie Brae Community Garden in Chermside.



It honours the Hamilton, Argo, Fisher, Staib and Chesney families and other original settlers. The Hamiltons, one of the first families to settle in Chermside, started a blacksmith and coach-building business on their Gympie Road property, and lived on this site which has adopted the name of their homestead, Burnie Brae.  The Argos were bicycle manufacturers and retailers and the Fishers were the local grocery suppliers and the Chesneys of Chesney Caravans fame were also Chermside locals.

 



Child Migrants
Child Migrants
Address: 82 Kintore Avenue, Migrant Museum
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to British and Maltese children who were brought to Australia under the Child Migrant Scheme.



In the years following World War Two, a popular immigration slogan was ‘the child, the best immigrant’. They constituted a particularly attractive category of migrant because they were seen to assimilate more easily, were more adaptable, had a long working life ahead and could be cheaply housed in dormitory style accommodation.



Between 1947 and 1953 over 3200 children migrated to Australia under approved schemes. About 100 of these children were Maltese while the remainder came from the United Kingdom. Other European countries were asked if they would like to participate in the child migration scheme but they declined.



There were over 30 homes approved by the Commonwealth for the housing of child migrants. Most of these were run by voluntary and religious organisations.



Child Migrants
Child Migrants
Address: Victoria Quay Road, Maritime Museum
City/Town: Fremantle
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Life-size bronze statue of a young boy and girl carrying all their worldly possessions in a small suitcase apiece serves as a perpetual reminder of the experiences of nearly 3,000 unaccompanied children who were shipped to Western Australia from Britain and Malta over a period spanning more than 50 years. The memorial to honour the memory, and the contribution to Western Australian society and history, of former child migrants was fittingly launched on Human Rights Day (10 December) 2004 by the WA Minister for Community Development, the Hon. Sheila McHale.



Between 1947 and 1953 over 3200 children migrated to Australia under approved schemes. About 100 of them were Maltese while the remainder came from the United Kingdom. Other European countries were asked if they would like to participate in the child migration scheme but declined. Over 30 homes were approved by the Commonwealth for the housing of child migrants. Most of these were run by voluntary and religious organisations. It was not government policy to provide homes specifically for migrant children; however, the government did contribute towards the capital expenditure incurred by these organisations in setting up suitable homes. Both the Commonwealth and State governments contributed towards running costs. The governments of the United Kingdom and Malta also paid maintenance for their children who had emigrated to approved institutions in Australia.



Child Migration Schemes
Child Migration Schemes
Address: 188 Collins Street, Forecourt, Commonwealth Government Centre
City/Town: Hobart
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sculpture commemorates the Child Migration Schemes that occurred between 1949 and 1976.



During this time the British and Australian governments sponsored the children but they were nominated and 'cared' for by a voluntary organisation. In Tasmania, the organisations approved to run institutions for child migrants were the Fairbridge Society, Clarendon Children's Home, and the Salesians of Don Bosco. The Big Brother Movement also brought out some boys aged 15 and 16 and placed them on rural properties. Some children went to private individuals.



The inquiry into Child Migration stated that 300 'child migrants' were sent to Tasmania between 1949 and 1976, which included 161 children aged 15 to17 years sent under the auspices of the Big Brother Movement and 54 children sent under the Fairbridge scheme whereby children migrated in advance of, or accompanied by, one or both parents.



Between 73 and 77 child migrants came from the United Kingdom to Tasmania and were placed in children's institutions. Between 33 and 37 of these child migrants were sent to Boys' Town in Glenorchy .  Hagley Farm School near Launceston received 9 child migrants under the Fairbridge scheme between 1952 and 1955, and 'Tresca', located in Exeter and run by the Fairbridge Society, received 13 children from 1958. Another 18 child migrants were placed at the Clarendon Children's Home.



St Joseph's Orphanage in Hobart applied for child migrants but failed to gain approval, and St Joseph's Waterton Hall gained approval but never received any migrants.



Some children went to private individuals. However, the authorities did not like this arrangement because, if the relationship between child and adopted parents broke down, the state was forced to take the child into 'care'. The government preferred a voluntary organisation to nominate the child and then place them with individuals after they had arrived. Applicants considered to be too old or with an inadequate income were turned down. However, in 1960, 47 out of 68 migrant children supervised by the Child Welfare Division had arrived through private nomination suggesting that this practice had become more common by then.



Children emigrated under the guardianship of the Federal Minister for Immigration until 1947 and the relevant State Department after that. Prior to the enactment of Commonwealth legislation in 1946, State Child Welfare legislation and the general law covered custody and guardianship arrangements. Children remained under guardianship until they reached the age of 21.



The Senate Inquiry into Child Migration handed down its report, 'Lost Innocents: righting the record' in August 2001. On 16 November 2009, the Australian Parliament issued an apology to Forgotten Australians and Former Child Migrants.



Children of Yesteryear
Children of Yesteryear
Address: Albert Street
City/Town: Daylesford
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial sculpture by Stanley Hammond in memory of pioneer children.


Chillagoe Pioneers
Chillagoe Pioneers
City/Town: Chillagoe
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneers who settled the district between 1878 and 1978.


Chillagoe Station
Chillagoe Station
City/Town: Chillagoe
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the centenary of Chillagoe Station.


Chillagoe was named by William Atherton in 1888.


Chinaman`s Track
Chinaman`s Track
Address: Roses Gap Road, Troopers Creek Picnic Ground
City/Town: Wartook
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The route of the Old Adelaide Road through Roses Gap in the Grampians was used by travelers from South Australia to Victoria during the 19th century.


The route was also used by Chinese gold seekers in the 1850s, who were restricted in landing directly at Melbourne. It is not known whether the ‘Chinaman’s Track’ marked on Grampians maps is the same route. A monument at Troopers Creek marks the spot where mounted police checked the papers of interstate travelers.


Chinese Garden of Friendship
Chinese Garden of Friendship
Address: Pier Street
City/Town: Darling Harbour
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Chinese Garden of Friendship was initiated by the local Chinese community to celebrate Australia’s 1988 Bicentenary. The Chinese Garden is the result of a close friendship and cooperation between the sister cities of Sydney and Guangzhou in Guangdong Province, China.



The Garden was designed and built by Chinese landscape architects and gardeners, and is governed by the Taoist principles of ‘Yin-Yang’ and the five opposite elements—earth, fire, water, metal and wood. These principles also stress the importance of qi, the central force of life and energy.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788 . 1788 marks Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour  and also the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.





 



Chinese Immigrants
Chinese Immigrants
Address: Charles & Kelman Streets
City/Town: Croydon
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to Chinese immigrants on an old temple site in Croydon.  Croydon had one of the largest Chinese populations in regional Australia.



The temple site contains large sculptures which depict administration, culture and industry. The Queensland gulf area was heavily settled by Chinese migrants in the late 1800s, with Croydon at one stage boasting the largest rural Chinese population in the nation. Back then the town, about 150km east of Normanton, was the golden Mecca of the north. Gold was discovered on a pastoral lease in 1883 and the Croydon Goldfields were proclaimed in 1886. Two years later the first hotel was built and within two years there were 15 pubs in the town`s bustling main street. The population was more than 5000, including about 500 Chinese.



Chinese Memorial & Funerary Oven
Chinese Memorial & Funerary Oven
Address: Tasman Highway & Amos Road, Cemetery
City/Town: Moorina
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial built so that Chinese living in the area could carry on their customs and honour their dead in traditional manner. The Moorina Chinese grave, memorial gravestone and funerary burner are of state significance as reminders of Chinese occupation in the north-east and the contribution they made to the establishment of this area.



The Chinese were early pioneers of Tasmania’s north-east near Launceston. At a time when the other Australian colonies were closing their mining fields to the Chinese, and alluvial gold resources were declining, the Tasmanian tin fields attracted many Chinese. Their history is therefore closely tied to the fortunes of the tin mining industry in the area around Derby, focusing on the tin mines in Weldborough, Garibaldi and Ringarooma; as well as Derby, Branxholm, Moorina, Pioneer and Gladstone. It was from St Helens that many of the Chinese miners entered Tasmania, walking to the mineral deposits of the Blue Tier, Moorina, Weldborough and further out into the North-East.



Chinese Memorial Garden
Chinese Memorial Garden
Address: Jenkins Street, Nundle Court House Museum
City/Town: Nundle
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The small Chinese Garden with a memorial plaque acknowledges the many Chinese who died on the goldfields during the 1800’s and who were buried in unmarked graves.


From the 1850’s to the 1880’s thousands of people came to what was then called the Peel River Diggings which incorporated Nundle, Happy Valley, Hanging Rock, and Bowling Alley Point. Among the rush of people were numerous Chinese; most looking for gold, plus a few came to set up stores and gardens to supply the diggers.


Illness or accidents took the lives of many searching the hills, and the Bowling Alley Point and Nundle Cemeteries became their final resting-places while the majority left when gold petered out or new fields beckoned. Some stayed on and became a permanent part of Nundle and district history.


 


Chinese Memorial Plaque
Chinese Memorial Plaque
Address: Western Highway, Tourist Information Centre
City/Town: Ararat
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bronze Plaque commemorates the Chinese gold prospectors who in June 1857 discovered the Canton Lead alluvial gold field which led to the settlement of Ararat.


Chinese Miners, Merchants & Gardeners
Chinese Miners, Merchants & Gardeners
Address: 175 Charlotte Street,
City/Town: Cooktown
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the over 18000 chinese immigrants who arrived in Cooktown after the discovery of gold on the Palmer River in 1873.

Chinese Monument
Chinese Monument
Address: Royal Circus
City/Town: Robe
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the 16,500 Chinese who landed here and then walked approximately 320 kilometres to the goldfields of Ballarat and Bendigo. The monument consists of a ten foot high stone with pictures of a ship, spade, pick, goldpan, and of Chinese carrying their belongings on poles.



To prevent Chinese going to the goldfields, the Victorian government placed a ten pound landing fee on all Chinese coming into the colony in 1855.  As a result ships went instead to the port of Robe, the first being Captain Miller`s "Land of Cakes" which arrived on January 17, 1857.  Local boat-owners sold their services to ferry the Chinese ashore while others hired themselves out as escorts to the Victorian goldfields. Campsites were established and between 1857 and 1863, 16,262 Chinese landed at Robe, 35 ships coming directly from China.



A government landing fee of one pound was charged as well as another local landing fee of up to 50 pence.  Cargoes of opium and tea were exchanged for wood which was shipped to Melbourne. Residents also engaged in salvage operations when three of the ships carrying Chinese passengers were wrecked. The Chinese ships brought great prosperity to Robe, and most of the historic buildings were erected in this period.



 



Chinese Pioneer Memorial
Chinese Pioneer Memorial
Address: 208 Little Bourke Street
City/Town: Melbourne
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneers of Melbourne`s Chinese community who lived in this area


Chinese Pioneer Memorial
Chinese Pioneer Memorial
Address: Clunes - Creswick Road, Cemetery
City/Town: Creswick
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorates approximately 4000 Chinese miners who mined and settled in the Creswick district.


The core, and most long lived, Creswick Chinese community was located at Black Lead. The records of the District Mining Surveyor record the Chinese population of Black Lead at a remarkably stable at around 400 individuals throughout the 1860’s and 1870’s. During the same period the total Chinese population of the surrounding district fell from a high just short of 2000 in the early 1860’s to less than 1000 in the mid 1870’s. All of these Chinese were alluvial miners. When compared to the corresponding figures for European alluvial miners, it can be seen that for substantial periods of the 1860’s, Creswick’s alluvial mining workforce was a fifty-fifty split between Europeans and Chinese.


Chinese Pioneers
Chinese Pioneers
Address: Bronte Street, East Perth Cemetery
City/Town: East Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument erected by the Chung Wah Association dedicated to Chinese pioneers.


The Chinese were introduced into the colony as labourers and did not receive very formal funerals as they were generally treated as outcasts in both life and death. Many Christians refused to allow 'heathen' Chinese to be buried in consecrated land, and others stipulated that they be buried in fenced off 'Chinese' or 'alien' areas.


A letter written by Acting Commissioner of Crown lands, J.W. Brooking to the Colonial Secretary in September 1888 asked that the northern half of Perth Town Lot E69 be gazetted as a Chinese Cemetery. Until then it had been designated as a general cemetery reserve.


Unlike the other cemeteries, the Chinese one was not vested in the Chinese community as there were very few Chinese living in Perth at the time. In fact, it was not until the 1914 that a Chinese association was formed and began to lobby the Government.


A plaque was also placed at the site of the original Chinese cemetery which was reclaimed for public use and made available to the Education Department in the 1950s.


Chinese Pioneers
Chinese Pioneers
Address: Linton - Snake Valley Road, Linton Cemetery
City/Town: Linton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the Chinese settlers who came to Linton in 1856 to work on the goldfields, and the many who stayed in the Linto area after the gold mining ended


Chinese Settlement
Chinese Settlement
Address: Drummond Street
City/Town: Creswick
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Chinese settlers


The records of the District Mining Surveyor record the Chinese population of Black Lead at a remarkably stable at around 400 individuals throughout the 1860’s and 1870’s. During the same period the total Chinese population of the surrounding district fell from a high just short of 2000 in the early 1860’s to less than 1000 in the mid 1870’s. All of these Chinese were alluvial miners. When compared to the corresponding figures for European alluvial miners, it can be seen that for substantial periods of the 1860’s, Creswick’s alluvial mining workforce was a fifty-fifty split between Europeans and Chinese.


 


Chinese Shepherds
Chinese Shepherds
Address: Christmas Creek
City/Town: Beaudesert
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Cairn commemorates Chinese immigrants . Chinese Shepherds were employed by early pastoralists in this district and the monument is erected to their memory and that of aborigines who lost their lives in encounters in the early settlement.

Chocolyn Soldier Settlement
Chocolyn Soldier Settlement
Address: Camperdown-Lismore Road
City/Town: Kariah
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Soldier Settlement area of "Chocolyn Estate" that was established in 1920.


The Chocolyn Estate was originally subdivided and offered at public auction in December 1909.


Many of the blocks remained vacant until 1920 when the Closer Settlement Board purchased the land. It was then subdivided into 26 blocks and offered to ex-servicemen. There were 76 applications from across Victoria and as ex-servicemen began to settle in the area, the community of Chocolyn grew.


In 1928 the school was enlarged and in 1931 a community church hall was built. Sports teams, dances, scouts, guides, church activities and school functions were the foundation of a strong community.


Christmas Creek School Monument
Christmas Creek School Monument
Address: Christmas Creek Road, Via Beaudesert
City/Town: Christmas Creek
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The school was known as Buddai and opened in 1878.


Citizenship Memorial
Citizenship Memorial
Address: Parkes Way, Commonwealth Park
City/Town: Parkes
State: ACT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

This memorial commemorates the 60th anniversary of the first citizenship ceremony which was held in Canberra in 1949. Citizenship Place at the Lake foreshore forms part of the R. G. Menzies Walk. It was unveiled by the Governor-General Quentin Bryce on 26 January 2009. The memorial features a timeline of the Australian citizenship story.



Forty-four years ago seven people took the first Oath of Allegiance in Canberra's Albert Hall, one person from each state and one from the ACT.  On Australia Day 1949, The Canberra Times was underwhelmed by the significance of the changes going on around it: on the front page it announced "Princess Elizabeth has the Measles", on page two it carried news that the Nationality and Citizenship Act had come into force the day before. However, the editorial did note that it was "the day of Australia's awakening". The then Minister for Immigration, Arthur Calwell, pointed out the enforcement of the Act made Australia Day 1949 a moment of "outstand ing importance" in the nation's history as migrants would now have a tangible goal — the honour of be coming Australian citizens.

The Canberra Times, 27th January 1993.


 



City of Clarence Proclamation
City of Clarence Proclamation
Address: 38 Bligh Street, Council Chambers
City/Town: Rosny Park
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the proclamation of the City of Clarence in November 1988.



The City of Clarence is a city and local government area in Tasmania, Australia. Along with Hobart and Glenorchy, Clarence is one of the three cities that constitute the Greater Hobart Area. The administrative centre of Clarence at Rosny Park is approximately 5 kilometres from the CBD of Hobart. In the 1970s and 1980s the expansion of the Municipality of Clarence continued. Many previously rural areas developed into residential areas. New suburbs arose, such as Flagstaff Gully, Geilston Bay, and Old Beach to the north, and Cremorne, Howrah, Lauderdale, Rokeby, and Tranmere towards the south of the city. At the same time, Rosny Park continued to grow in importance as the administrative centre of the city.



The growth was such that the municipality was officially incorporated as a city on 24 November 1988, with the population having grown beyond 50,000. In 1993, the nearby town of Richmond was absorbed into the city of Clarence.



City of Nunawading
City of Nunawading
Address: Maroondah Highway, Nunawading Civic Centre
City/Town: Nunawading
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the 25th anniversary of the City of Nunawading.



City of Ube 60th Anniversary
City of Ube 60th Anniversary
Address: Laman Street, Newcastle Art Gallery
City/Town: Newcastle
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sculpture Space-Time 11 presented to Newcastle in 1981 in commemoration of the 60th Anniversary of Ube City. The sculpture is three solid stainless stee; triangles mounted on a triangular concrete base 3 meters high.



Ube is a city located in Yamaguchi Prefecture, Japan on the Seto Inland Sea. The city was founded on November 1, 1921. Ube has been a sister city with Newcastle since 1980. 



City Proclamation
City Proclamation
Address: 1 Civic Square
City/Town: Croydon
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the proclamation of the city of Croydon in 1971.



Clackline Lion
Clackline Lion
Address: Great Eastern Highway & Spencers Brook Road
City/Town: Clackline
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Clackline Lion was erected in 1929 by the pupils of Clackline school and the headteacher E.W.Membery to commemorate 100 years of British colonisation in Western Australia. A plaque has been placed near the memorial in recognition of Archie H Paton who was the sculptor of the lion.



On 1 June 1829 Lieutenant -Governor Stirling and his party arrived at Garden Island and erected the necessary buildings to protect the stores. On 18 June, Stirling and others landed on the mainland at Rous Head and formally published, both on the mainland and at Garden Island, this Proclamation constituting His Majesty's Settlement in Western Australia.



Clarence Township Memorial
Clarence Township Memorial
Address: Nyerrbup Circle, John Graham Reserve
City/Town: Munster
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to the failed settlement of Clarence.


495 members of Thomas Peel’s failed venture, arrived aboard three ships, Gilmore, Hooghly and Rockingham between December 1829 and May 1830. They set up makeshift camps in primitive conditions at Clarence. In the first year some 40 settlers died of scurvy, dysentery, or other ailments and 6 from childbirth. The majority of the deceased were buried in the vicinity and a number later re-interred in the old Alma Street Cemetery, Fremantle.


Clermont Traction Engine
Clermont Traction Engine
Address: Centenary Park
City/Town: Clermont
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the traction engine which moved the town to new site.

Cleveland Township
Cleveland Township
Address: Shore Street, Cleveland Point
City/Town: Cleveland
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque commemorates the centenary of proclamation of Cleveland Township. European settlement of Brisbane and surrounding areas was banned from 1824 until 1842, due to the Moreton Bay Penal Settlement, but the area to become Cleveland was first surveyed in 1840, and in 1841, was recommended for a maritime or seaport township. In 1847, the government planned for the new town, and on the 13th of December, 1850, Cleveland was proclaimed a township.

Coastal Walking Track
Coastal Walking Track
Address: Panama Street
City/Town: Bombo
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The walking track commemorates the early settlers of the area, and their efforts in developing coastal navigation and the basalt quarries.



Cochran Creek Pioneers
Cochran Creek Pioneers
Address: Rangemore Road, Cochran Creek
City/Town: Wakool
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected in 1974 in memory of the pioneers (the Flight and Ellis families ) who established Cochran Creek. The first building erected in 1904 was used as a public hall, schoolhouse and church. 


Collins Place Bicentennial Project
Collins Place Bicentennial Project
Address: 36 Fraser Street, Collins Place
City/Town: Clunes
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorating the opening of Collins Place which was a project celbrating Australia's Bicentenary in 1988.



Commencement Column
Commencement Column
Address: Federation Mall
City/Town: Capital Hill
State: ACT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Obelisk commemorates the foundation and naming of Canberra.


The Commencement Column monument consists of the three foundation stones for the intended column which were laid down at a ceremony on 12 March 1913 to designate the official foundation of the national capital and its naming as Canberra.


Inaugurating the federal capital at Canberra, the laying of the foundation stones for the column marked the realisation of Section 125 of the Australian Constitution. This required the federal seat of government to be situated within the state of NSW, but located not less than 100 miles from Sydney. The original location of the monument was excavated when the new Parliament House was constructed on the Hill. After the opening of the new Parliament House, the Commencement stones were relocated to their current position, in the Federal Mall on Capital Hill.


Confluenza
Confluenza
Address: Parkland Boulevard, Roma Street Parklands
City/Town: Brisbane
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A marble monument in the shape of a dining table commemorates the contribution of Italian migrants to the state of Queensland.

Connabar Estate
Connabar Estate
Address: Bolac Plains & Woorndoo-Dundonnell Roads
City/Town: Woorndoo
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the families who settled in the Connabar Estate Soldier Settlement after World War Two



Coolangatta Plaque
Coolangatta Plaque
Address: Marine Parade
City/Town: Coolangatta
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque unveiled in 1984 on the centenary of the first land auction in Coolangatta. The plaque details the history of the naming of Coolangatta and details of the wreck of the Coolangatta in 1846. The plaque is attached to a piece of the Coolangatta wreck.



Coolgardie Centenary Time Capsule
Coolgardie Centenary Time Capsule
Address: Bayley Street
City/Town: Coolgardie
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Time capsule dedicated by the community to mark the town`s centenary.



Coolgardie was founded in 1892, when gold was discovered in the area. Australia had seen several major gold rushes over the previous three decades, mostly centred on the east coast, but these had mostly been exhausted by the 1890s. With the discovery of a new goldfield, an entire new gold rush began, with thousands flocking to the area. By 1898, Coolgardie was the third largest town in the colony, with an estimated population of 5,008 (3,151 men and 1,857 women).  At its peak, 700 mining companies based in Coolgardie were registered with the London Stock Exchange. The town also supported a wide variety of businesses and services, including a railway, a swimming pool (first public baths in the state), many hotels and several newspapers.



Coolgardie Pioneers
Coolgardie Pioneers
Address: Forrest Street, Coolgardie Pioneer Cemetery
City/Town: Coolgardie
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial in the shape of a cross embedded in a cairn of stones erected in memory of the pioneers who blazed the track between 1892 and 1894.



The town was founded in 1892, when gold was discovered in the area. Australia had seen several major gold rushes over the previous three decades, mostly centred on the east coast, but these had mostly been exhausted by the 1890s. With the discovery of a new goldfield, an entire new gold rush began, with thousands flocking to the area. By 1898, Coolgardie was the third largest town in the colony, with an estimated population of over 5000. At its peak, 700 mining companies based in Coolgardie were registered with the London Stock Exchange.



Cooma-Monaro Commemorative Wall
Cooma-Monaro Commemorative Wall
Address: Vale Street, Monaghan Hayes Place
City/Town: Cooma
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The wall was built in 1999 to mark the 150th anniversary of the proclamation of Cooma as a village. It is an ongoing project of Cooma Main Streets Heritage Committee. The purpose of the wall is to allow individuals and organisations to proudly register the time they have spent in Cooma or on the Monaro.


 


Coonamble Sesqui-Centenary
Coonamble Sesqui-Centenary
Address: Castlereagh Highway
City/Town: Coonamble
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Signpost commemorates the Sesqui-Centenary of Coonamble.



In 1840 James Walker established the first run in the area; that being the 'Koonamble' station, settled by his agent. It soon became a watering place and campsite for passing stockmen. Land on either side of the river was reserved for a townsite in 1855. In 1859 it was surveyed and the first post office established. The township was gazetted in 1861 with the first courthouse and lock-up built in 1862.



Cooyars Blacksmiths
Cooyars Blacksmiths
Address: New England Highway & McDougall Street, Hank Meakin Park
City/Town: Cooyar
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected in memory of Cooyars blacksmiths Joe Fenton and Maurice Kitson.


Corinella Settlement
Corinella Settlement
Address: Jamieson Street
City/Town: Corinella
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the settlement founded in 1826 by Captain Samuel Wright, Lieutenant Burchill, explorer William Hovell and twenty-one convicts.  It was the second settlement in Victoria and it was founded on the fear that the French might invade Australia, but it was abandoned fifteen months later.



Corrigin Pioneer Memorial Wall
Corrigin Pioneer Memorial Wall
Address: Kunjin & Kirkwood Streets
City/Town: Corrigin
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Corrigin Pioneer Memorial Wall records all pioneers of Corrigin`s past.



Country Women`s Association
Country Women`s Association
Address: Wendouree Parade, Botanical Gardens
City/Town: Ballarat
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A rose garden commemorates the diamond jubilee of the Country Women`s Association.



Cowpastures Memorial
Cowpastures Memorial
Address: Davison Lane
City/Town: Picton
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Cowpastures Memorial commemorates the early history of Australia from its dreamtime beginnings to the discovery of the escaped First Fleet wild cattle in the area in 1795. The cattle were later destroyed to make way for the pioneering of the district and the introduction of beef and dairy cattle which formed the basis of the early agricultural industry.



The Camden District is closely associated with the early history of the colony of New South Wales. Its areas were penetrated by white men as far back as 1795. The story of the loss of the early colony's cattle forms part of the early narrative of New South Wales, as those beasts which strayed from Farm Cove led to the discovery of this locality. Early records show that seven years elapsed before news came to Sydney Cove's little settlement of the whereabouts of these missing stock. Rumours and conflicting accounts of the existence of the cattle reached the ears of convicts, and Governor Hunter despatched a party under Henry Hacking to confirm or deny the reports.



The result of this party's investigation so impressed Governor Hunter that he determined to visit the locality to see the cattle and country for himself. With a small party he left Parramatta on 18th November, 1795. After travelling a few days the explorers crossed the Nepean River at a spot near where the Camden Cowpasture Bridge now stands, and there came across a fine herd of over forty cattle. Arrangemants were made for a more complete survey, and in June the following year, Governor Hunter again visited the retreat of the wild cattle, and journeyed through the locality until he and his party ascended the high hill which obtained the name of Mount Hunter, a landmark by that name today.



The name "Cowpastures" by which the locality became known, is due to Governor Hunter, for he marked it on a map drawn by himself and dated 20th August, 1796.



Note: The date on the memorial for the discovery of the First Fleet cattle is 1895. The correct date is 1795.

Cowra Migrant Camp
Cowra Migrant Camp
Address: Mid Western Highway , Europa Park
City/Town: Cowra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 50th anniversary of the Cowra Migrant Camp which commenced in 1949.  After World War II, the former military camp became home to between 17-19,000 new Australians in the form of the Cowra Migrant Camp.


 


Crater Lakes Entry Marker Project
Crater Lakes Entry Marker Project
Address: Bay Road
City/Town: Mount Gambier
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Crater Lakes Entry Marker Project commemorates the 50th anniversary of Mount Gambier being declared a city in 1954.



The council was created in 1932 when the District Council of Mount Gambier West and District Council of Mount Gambier East merged to become the District Council of Mount Gambier which was later proclaimed a city in December 9, 1954.



Creek Street Water Course
Creek Street Water Course
Address: 118A Eagle Street
City/Town: Brisbane
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the water course from which Creek Street takes its name.

Cronulla Clock Tower
Cronulla Clock Tower
Address: Kingsway, Cronulla Plaza
City/Town: Cronulla
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The clock tower in Cronulla Plaza was a Bicentennial gift to the people of the Sutherland Shire from Caltex Refinery Co. Pty Ltd. The tower houses the oldest public clock in Australia, built by John Jullion of England in 1770 - the year Captain James Cook landed at Kurnell. The clock's original home was Stanwell Place, near Heathrow in England. It is a turret clock with large time and starter weight mechanisms. The weights require re-winding weekly, which is achieved automatically by electric power.


The clock was fully restored and installed in the tower by Douglas Minty, who has been contracted to maintain it by Sutherland Shire Council. The Lions Club of Australia contributes to the cost of the maintenance.


National Parks and Wildlife Services said no to Caltex’s offer to erect the clock at Captain Cook’s Landing Place but the council agreed to to make the Clock Tower the main feature at the northern end of the Cronulla Bicentennial Plaza which was then under construction. After restoration by horologist Doug Minty, the clock was offiicially handed over to the people of Sutherland Shire on November 19, 1988.


Cue Pioneer Memorial
Cue Pioneer Memorial
Address: Austin Street
City/Town: Cue
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Band Rotunda which is dedicated to the pioneers of the Murchison region. The rotunda is built on the site of the "Old Well".



Cue was, and remains, a gold town. In the early days the miners had to walk a long way to obtain water. To relieve the water famine the diggers decided they would either work a shift or pay for a shift to sink a well. The Warden who was still residing in Nannine contributed 20 pounds on behalf of the government. Dave and Bill Simpson got the contract and the well yielded a fair supply of water. The dump of earth left by the sinking of the well was used as a platform by local orators. In 1904, Cue Council decided to commemorate the site of the `Old Well` by the erection of a octagonal shaped rotunda.



An interesting ceremony was performed on Wednesday the 14th when the Mayoress laid the foundation stone of the rotunda which is being built over the site of what is known as the Old Well, to commemorate the memory of the pioneers of Cue. The memorial is situated in the centre of the main street, and the Council recently decided to fill it in and erect a rotunda on the spot.

The West Australian (Perth), 24th September 1904.



Currandooley and Willeroo Soldier Settlers
Currandooley and Willeroo Soldier Settlers
Address: Taylors Creek Road, Opposite road mark 727
City/Town: Tarago
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates local World War Two veteran settlers in the Currandooley and Willeroo areas. 



Memorial trees had previousy been planted by the children of the original settlers near this memorial plaque.



Dadswells Bridge Soldier Settlement
Dadswells Bridge Soldier Settlement
Address: Stapledons Road
City/Town: Dadswells Bridge
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

 The Dadswells Bridge Soldier Settlement Memorial is dedicated to families who settled on 3608 acres of Stapledon's Estate, Dadswells Bridge in October 1959.


Dandaloo Pioneers
Dandaloo Pioneers
Address: Dandaloo Church, 2 kilometres from old Dandaloo Township
City/Town: Dandaloo
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A Gothic arch window commemorates the pioneers of the district.



Dandenong Pioneers Memorial Gardens
Dandenong Pioneers Memorial Gardens
Address: King & Stuart Streets, Pioneers Memorial Gardens
City/Town: Dandenong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the earliest settlers in the Dandenong district


Danish Settlers
Danish Settlers
Address: 11 Dudley Lane, Poowong East Public Hall
City/Town: Poowong East
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Immigrants from Denmark who settled in Poowong East , then called "Triholm" in 1877


Darlington Area Soldier Settlements
Darlington Area Soldier Settlements
Address: Ware Street, Mechanics Institute Hall
City/Town: Darlington
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the soldier settlements that were undertaken in the Darlington area after World War Two.


David & Jessie Edward
David & Jessie Edward
Address: Maze Crescent, Old Darlington School, University of Sydney
City/Town: Darlington
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Fountain commemorates the pioneer residents of Darlington


Deep Lead Pioneer Memorial
Deep Lead Pioneer Memorial
Address: Western Highway
City/Town: Deep Lead
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Brick memorial contains a mural of two miners working on a puddling machine flanked by a goat (insisted on by the remaining pioneers to represent the value of their milk and meet) and a sheep.


During 1856, a small rush took place at "Forty Foot Hill", near where Commercial Street was later established. While work was going on here a rich discovery was made at Deep Lead, a short distance from where the North and South Wales mining Company Crushing Plant was later established. In 1857 and 1858, it was one of the busiest places in the country districts of the Colony.


As the rush of diggers increased at Deep Lead, Cobb & Co`s coaches began to run daily, bring gold buyers by the numbers, to purchase the plentiful amounts of gold offering for sale.


Denham CWA Pioneer Seat
Denham CWA Pioneer Seat
Address: Hughes Street, Pioneer Park
City/Town: Denham
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Park bench dedicated by the Country Women's Association to pioneering women.



Deniliquin Proclamation
Deniliquin Proclamation
Address: Cressy Street, Waring Gardens
City/Town: Deniliquin
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the proclamation of the township of Deniliquin.



Desert Travellers
Desert Travellers
Address: Wanaaring Road, Turnoff to Hungerford
City/Town: Wanaaring
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

On Saturday 9 June 2007, a team from Australia INSIGHT erected a plaque as a memorial to all desert travellers who can no longer feel the sand between their toes, but whose spirit lives on


Dethridge Wheel Memorial
Dethridge Wheel Memorial
Address: Banna & Jondaryan Avenues
City/Town: Griffith
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Dethridge Wheel Memorialcommemorates the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area (MIA) pioneers.



The Dethridge meter is a simple and robust device to measure water volumes passing onto land for irrigation. It turns around when the channel water flows underneath it. Volumes passed are recorded in megalitres (ML) on an inbuilt revolution counter and customers are charged accordingly. By timing the speed of wheel rotation, flow rates in ML/day can be easily calculated. The ability to measure the volume of water going onto a farm is fundamental to the system of water rights and payment-by-measure which developed in Victoria under the Water Act of 1905.



The meter wheel was designed by John Stewart Dethridge, a Commissioner of the State Rivers and Water Supply Commission for fifteen years. Apart from altering the materials used in fabrication, the fundamental design remained unchanged for over 70 years.



Dial Range Memorial
Dial Range Memorial
Address: Mount Montgomery, 5 kilometres south of Penguin
City/Town: Penguin
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates centenary celebrations and acknowledges pioneers. The cairn was built by eight municipalities of the Northwest Coast.



Diamond Jubilee of Box Hill
Diamond Jubilee of Box Hill
Address: 1022 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill Town Hall
City/Town: Box Hill
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Time capsule and plaque commemorate the diamond jubilee in 1987 of the city of Box Hill.


Displaced Persons Memorial
Displaced Persons Memorial
Address: Olympic Highway
City/Town: Uranquinty
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The public memorial  includes a sculpture commemorating wives and children of the refugees who worked on the Snowy Mountains Scheme. It also contains information boards and other memorials to the history of displaced persons who stayed in the area during these years.


The Uranquinty Migrant Centre was established as a result of the Displaced Persons Immigration Scheme that had been embarked upon by Prime Minister Chifley's government at the end of the Second World War as was a part of the Populate or Perish policy of the time. Under Arthur Calwell, Australia's first Minister for Immigration, displaced persons still in camps within Germany, Austria and France were chosen to fill the need for a constant supply of labour to the country.


Reception and training centres were established in now disused army and airforce camps in rural and remote areas such as Uranquinty from 1948, particularly because by then married displaced persons with their families were being allowed entry into Australia. Places like Uranquinty had the space to provide accommodation for the wives and children. Many of these displaced persons worked on the relatively nearby Snowy Mountains Scheme.

 


Dixalea Pioneers
Dixalea Pioneers
Address: Burnett Highway
City/Town: Dixalea
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Dedicated to pioneer settlers.

Dog on the Tuckerbox
Dog on the Tuckerbox
Address: Hume Highway
City/Town: Gundagai
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Dog on the Tucker Box has been described as ` Australia`s best-known pioneer memorial`.



Gundagai was established in December 1842 with the sale of town allotments. Many years later, it is claimed, Jack Moses, wine salesman, poet and traveller `immortalised` Gundagai with his poem `Nine Miles from Gundagai`. He later wrote a poem inspired by an exhibit at the Gundagai Pastoral Show concerning the activities of `The Dog on the Tuckerbox` nine miles from Gundagai. Another poem of doubtful origin ` Billy the Bullocky` places the dog five miles from Gundagai as does the song by Alf and Jack O`Hagan written in 1938 and concerning Mabel who ' waits underneath the bright blue sky.'  During the Great Depression the Gundagai newsagent, O.A. Collins, suggested a memorial to the pioneers of the district. The Gundagai Hospital Board undertook to raise the necessary funds, estimated at 65 pounds.



More than 3000 people were present at the official unveiling yesterday by the Prime Minister (Mr. Lyons) of the pioneers' monument recently erected in honour of the district's early settlers. The monument, which represents a dog and tucker box, was the gift of the committee of the Back to Gundagai week. Extending a welcome to the Prime Minister and Mrs Lyons, Mr W C. Stribley, chairman of directors of the Gundagai and District Hospital, said that the monument was the first of its kind erected in Australia "We might well take a lesson from the Pioneers," he said.



Replying, Mr. Lyons said that he appreciated the great honour of unveiling a monument which had been erected to the pioneers. Thanking Mrs. Luff for her gift, he said that a few of that splendid band of early settlers had been spared, and were able to reap some of the benefits of modern civilisation. He trusted that the monument would not only express a tribute to the pioneers, but would prove an incentive to the youth of to-day.

The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW), 29 November 1932.



Dorakin Methodist Church Site
Dorakin Methodist Church Site
Address: Dorakin Road
City/Town: Quairading
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the site of the Dorakin Methodist Church and commemorates the pioneering families.



James Hosken and his three sons developed their land into a wheat and wool farm called “Springfield”. James had deep religious beliefs, and was a lay preacher, and donated land on the corner of the property for a Methodist church, where many of the Dorakin pioneers worshipped, and James often preached.



Dreadnought Old Boys Association
Dreadnought Old Boys Association
Address: Kendall Lane and Argyle Street
City/Town: The Rocks
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected to commemorate the 5595 British boys brought to Australia under a farm apprenticeship programme known as "The Dreadnought Scheme" and their contribution to Australia`s development.



In 1903, the new Commonwealth of Australia agreed to pay £200,000 per year towards the expenses of the Imperial Squadron in the Pacific, but had no special naval vessels of its own. When in 1909 Germany’s aggressive naval building program threatened Britain’s naval supremacy, the Lord Mayor of Sydney, Sir Allen Taylor, convened a meeting in the Sydney Town Hall to establish a fund to purchase a Dreadnought (battleship) for presentation to Great Britain. Over the ensuing year some £90,000 was subscribed from towns, shires, organisations and individuals throughout New South Wales. However, by the middle of the year, the Deakin Government had decided to establish an Australian navy and the proposal to present Britain with a battleship seemed unnecessary.



The question arose what to do with the subscriptions, and some were returned to identified donors who wished for their money back. Most did not, and the Dreadnought Trust was established to dispose of the remainder, some £80,000. After discussion, it was agreed with widespread public support to donate around half to the Government towards the establishment of a naval college at Jervis Bay to train young Australians for the new navy; and the other half was placed in a fund to bring young men from British cities to be trained as rural workers on New South Wales farms.



During the latter months of 1910, the Trustees of the Dreadnought Fund entered into an agreement with the NSW Government to bring out British boys between the ages of 16 and 19 ‘of good character and physique at a rate of about twenty every fortnight and to pay the Government £5 for each of the lads sent to the training farm’. The first ‘Dreadnought boys’ – twelve in number – arrived on 21 April 1911 and were followed by 27 others on 15 June. Overall, by February 1915, 2557 boys had arrived, and when the last group arrived in September 1939, the total number of Dreadnought boys brought to the state had reached 5595.



Dromana 150th Anniversary
Dromana 150th Anniversary
Address: Point Nepean Road
City/Town: Dromana
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the 150th anniversary of the declaration of the Dromana township


Dromana 150th Anniversary Tree
Dromana 150th Anniversary Tree
Address: Point Nepean Road
City/Town: Dromana
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commmemorates the 150th anniversary of the township of Dromana. 



Drung Soldier Settlers
Drung Soldier Settlers
Address: School & Centre Roads
City/Town: Drung
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the soldier settlers and their wives who pioneered irrigation dairy farming at Drung across 3110 acres, between 3rd October 1955-1997.



Drung South Soldier Settlement
Drung South Soldier Settlement
Address: Western Highway & Northern Grampians Road
City/Town: Drung South
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Drung South soldier settlement which was created in 1921 after World War One



Durundur Monument
Durundur Monument
Address: Kilcoy-Beerwah Road, Cruice Park
City/Town: Woodford
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the settlement of "Durundur Station " by the Archer Brothers.

 



Of Norwegian descent, the nine Archer brothers who emigrated to Australia from Scotland played a prominent role in Queensland’s early pastoral history. David, Thomas and John Archer took up 200 square miles of country where they established Durundur Station near present-day Woodford in 1841. At that time it was the most northern pastoral run in Australia, and Durundur thus became the cradle of European settlement and a significant base for exploration into the unknown districts north and west. Ludwig Leichhardt gained valuable experience during his sojourn at Durundur in 1843-44, and the Archer brothers themselves spearheaded the advance of settlement into Central Queensland.



In 1847-48 Thomas Archer explored the Burnett and Fitzroy River districts where, with his brother David, they established Eidsvold and Coonambula runs. Durundur was sold to David and John McConnel in 1848, and in 1853 Charles and William Archer took up Gracemere near the present-day city of Rockhampton. Gracemere thereafter became the centrepiece of the Archer family’s pastoral holdings.



Dutch Windmill
Dutch Windmill
Address: Crescent Street, Hiscutt Park
City/Town: Penguin
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Windmill is a Bicentennial Gift from the Dutch community to the people of Penguin.



The mill commemorates the Dutch settlers in Penguin and the Dutch explorers who were the first Europeans to make contact with Tasmania. The Mill is dedicated to the memory of Janneti Tjaers who was the wife of Abel Tasman.



E. M. G. Eddy
E. M. G. Eddy
Address: Mount York Road, Eddy Rock Lookout
City/Town: Mount York
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the spot where on the 11th January 1895, an address was presented by the residents of Mount Victoria to E.M.G. Eddy, Chief Commissioner of Railways. The lookout at Mt York is known as Eddy Rock.



Early Settlers Memorial
Early Settlers Memorial
Address: High Street, Arthur Square
City/Town: New Norfolk
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A memorial wall commemorates the early settlers of New Norfolk. The wall contains a series of plaques giving information on early settlers in the district.

Early Surveyors-Centre of Tasmania Monument
Early Surveyors-Centre of Tasmania Monument
Address: Lyell Highway, Bridge at Bronte Lagoon, 2 kilometres east of Bronte Park, Trig 715
City/Town: Bronte Park
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Tasmanian Division of the Institute of Surveyors, Australia, decided to erect a monument to the early surveyors, and chose as the location the geographical centre of Tasmania and the memorial form a replica of the trigonometry cairn erected by James Sprent at Mount La Perouse, during his survey work between 1833 and 1855, at half the volume of the original cairn.



Ebenezer Presbyterian Pioneer Families & 150th Anniversary of the Church
Ebenezer Presbyterian Pioneer Families & 150th Anniversary of the Church
Address: Coromandel Road, Presbyterian Church
City/Town: Ebenezer
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected in 1959 by the Moderator general of the Presbyterain Church commemorates the pioneers, some of whom arrived on the "Coromandel" in 1802 and who helped build the Ebenezer Church which celebrated its 150th anniversary in 1959. 


Ebenezer Church came Pioneer Owen Cavanough donated four acres of land on which to build the church. Andrew Johnston designed the church and supervised its construction. George Hall swam his bullocks across the river to haul the stone to the site. Built of locally obtained materials – sandstone, cedar wood and hardwood – it was constructed in 1809.into being following the arrival in the colony of New South Wales of eight families on board the ‘Coromandel’ in June 1802. These families – Davison, Hall, Howe, Johnston, Johnstone, Mein, Stubbs and Turnbull – came to the new colony with a request to be settled together.


They were joined by seven other families – Arndell, Bushell, Grono, Cavanough, Jacklin, Suddis and Jones – and met regularly on Sundays for services on Ebenezer Mount or in the homes of settlers.


Pioneer Owen Cavanough donated four acres of land on which to build the church. Andrew Johnston designed the church and supervised its construction. George Hall swam his bullocks across the river to haul the stone to the site. Built of locally obtained materials – sandstone, cedar wood and hardwood – it was constructed in 1809.


 


 


Edenhope Pioneers Memorial
Edenhope Pioneers Memorial
Address: Elizabeth & Orme Streets, Outside Old Courthouse
City/Town: Edenhope
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneers of Edenhope.  The memorial was constructed with a foundation stone from the original Edenhope Pub. This first Pub (which is no longer standing) was thought to have been constructed by Chinese stonemasons on their way through Edenhope to the Victorian goldfields. It also features a plough and wheels to represent the agricultural pioneers and a hand water pump in acknowledgement of the urban settlers.



The first European settlers were the Hope family who established the Lake Wallace pastoral station in 1845. The town's name derives from the fact that the Hopes were from the River Eden in Scotland. A townsite was surveyed and gazetted in 1862. The first Australian cricketing team, an all-Aboriginal squad, trained here in 1868 prior to their departure. Their coach was T.W. Willis who founded Australian Rules football. Closer settlement of the area occurred in the 1930s.



 



Edward Henty
Edward Henty
Address: Casterton Road (Glenelg Hihway), Muntham Hill
City/Town: Muntham
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Marks the site of Henty`s "Muntham" station.



Edward Henty, the founder of Victorian settlement, was born at West Tarring, in Sussex, 1809. He came to Van Diemen`s Land with his father Thomas in 1832, landed in Portland Bay November 19, 1834. Pushed inland from Portland about September 1836 with Stephen and established a sheep station at Mt. Eckersley.



From this point the Henty brothers (without Edward) proceeded the following year to the Wannon. Edward was the owner of Connell`s Run from 1844 to 1866, and Richmond 1866 to 1879. In 1854 he left Muntham and retired to Portland, building the Burswood residence. He was elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1856 for the Normanby constituency, and remained in Parliament till 1861. About 1873 he left Portland and resided in St. Kilda Road, where he died August 14, 1878.



Edward Henty Landing Site
Edward Henty Landing Site
Address: Cliff Street, Foreshore
City/Town: Portland
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument was unveiled in 1934 on the centenary of the first landing by Edward Henty in Portland.



Edward Henty (28 March 1810 – 14 August 1878),was a pioneer and first permanent settler in the Port Phillip district (later Victoria), Australia.



Thomas Henty arrived at Launceston from England in April 1832 with three of his sons, Charles, Edward and Francis. It was difficult to find suitable land in Tasmania, and Edward was sent to explore the coast of the mainland. He reported that the district near Portland Bay had good possibilities, and after revisiting it with his father it was decided that the land was suitable for settlement. Edward went first on the Thistle with labourers, stock, potatoes and seed. After a voyage of 34 days the Thistle arrived at Portland Bay on 19 November 1834.



Edward Lascelles
Edward Lascelles
Address: Austin Street
City/Town: Hopetoun
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A drinking fountain commemorates Edward Harewood Lascelles, the founder of Hopetoun.



Lascelles was dubbed the `Mallee King` and `Father of the Mallee` as it was he more than anyone else who was responsible for the European settlement of the district. To the west of Hopetoun he developed a six-acre experimental orchard named the Lochs and he successfully lobbied the government to extend the railway to Hopetoun in 1893.



El Emigrante
El Emigrante
Address: 100 Wickham Street, Centenary Square
City/Town: Brisbane
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Lebanese people who settle in Australia



Elaine Bicentennial Gates
Elaine Bicentennial Gates
Address: Midland Highway, Elaine Sports Ground
City/Town: Elaine
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates erected at Sports Ground commemorate Australia's Bicentenary 1788-1988.



The bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.



Elderslie Station Soldier Settlers
Elderslie Station Soldier Settlers
Address: Casterton Naracoorte Road, Langkoop Memorial Hall
City/Town: Langkoop
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the ex-World War One soldiers who obtained blocks on Elderslie Station, in the area south of Apsley now named Langkoop.


Encounter Bay Re-Enactment & 75th Anniversary of the Royal Australian Navy
Encounter Bay Re-Enactment & 75th Anniversary of the Royal Australian Navy
Address: Cadell Street, On WW2 Honour Roll, Soldiers Memorial Park
City/Town: Goolwa
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque commemorates the visit to Goolwa of the Commanders of the ships H.M.S Amazon, F.N.S. Commandant Blaison,  and H.M A.S Flinders for the reenactment of the Flinders Baudin meeting on Encounter Bay in 1802 as part of a Jubilee 150 event. The plaque also commemorates the 75th Anniversary of the Royal Australian Navy.



South Australia celebrated the sesquicentenary (150th anniversary) of European settlement in 1986.



Ercildoune Soldier Settlement
Ercildoune Soldier Settlement
Address: Ercildoune Road, At Ercildoune School Site
City/Town: Ercildoune
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Stone and plaque erected by Burrumbeet Soldiers Memorial Hall commemorates soldier settlers of Ercildoune Estate. The plaque has a list of all soldier settlers from the area and also provides local history and information relating to soldier settler allocations from World War I.


Erica Pioneer Memorial
Erica Pioneer Memorial
Address: Walhalla Road, Erica Hall
City/Town: Erica
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Wall in hall with twelve timber plaques commemorates the families who settled the district


Establishment of Westbury
Establishment of Westbury
Address: Lonsdale Promenade, Westbury Common Green
City/Town: Westbury
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument and plaque from the Westbury Council in England commemorates the 150th anniversary of the establishment of Westbury.



Westbury came into existence in the early 1820s. It was surveyed in 1823 and by 1828 Governor Arthur ordered that the townsite be laid out with a view to Westbury becoming a major stopover point on the route from Hobart to the northwest coast which, at the time, was being opened up by the Van Diemen's Land Company. The scale of the survey was such that it is clear there were plans for Westbury to become a city.



By 1832 Lieutenant Ball and a detachment of troops were stationed near the Village Green. Four years later the town's population comprised 227 free men and women and 317 convicts.



Eticup Memorial
Eticup Memorial
Address: Broomehill-Kojonup Road
City/Town: Broomehill
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial is a tribute to the settlers of Eticup and to the aboriginal trackers on whom they depended and the early pioneers. Located outside Mrs D Dennis' fence on the Broomehill/Kojonup Road, the plaque shows the location of the settlement's stores, Inn, blacksmith and houses.



Eticup was the original settlement in the district, and although never formally surveyed as a townsite, consisted during the 1870`s of several stores and a hotel, as well as several dwellings. The completion of the Great Southern Railway in 1889, which bypassed Eticup to the east, saw the demise of Eticup and the corresponding rise of Broomehill as a town.



Ettrick Estate Soldier Settlement
Ettrick Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Camperdown-Lismore Road & Ettrick Estate Road
City/Town: Lismore
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the returned servicemen and their families who settled on Ettrick Estate following World War Two.



 



Euroa Pioneer Homestead Site
Euroa Pioneer Homestead Site
Address: Kirkland Avenue West , Adjacent RSL Club
City/Town: Euroa
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Granite rock and plaque situated on the site of James Kirkland's homestead when he held the Euroa Run from 1841 to April 1851.  Erected by the Euroa and District Historical Society and Euroa  Shire Council in May 1985



Evelyn Scrub Pioneers
Evelyn Scrub Pioneers
Address: Jonsson Road, Private Farm
City/Town: Evelyn
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque on the War Memorial commemorates the pioneers of Evelyn Scrub. In 1882 land on the Evelyn Tableland was surveyed into blocks between 160 and 640 acres. Selections were taken up as dairy and agricultural farms. Evelyn township was established on the edge of the rainforest 'scrub' in the 1890s as a commercial centre for the Evelyn Tableland farming district.

Explorers Memorial
Explorers Memorial
Address: Memorial Avenue & Nepean Avenue
City/Town: Penrith
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected in 1938 by the citizens of Penrith to commemorate the 125th anniversary of the crossing of the Blue Mountains by Blaxland, Lawson & Wentworth and four servants in 1813. 


G.W Evans surveyed and William Cox constructed a road from the Nepean River to the Bathurst Plains beginning work on the 18th July 1814. A second plaque was erected by the Royal Australian and Nepean District Historical Society on the 16th November 1963 to record that Evans set out on the 20th November 1813 from near this spot and found a way across the Dividing Range to the Bathurst Plains and the Macquarie and Lachlan Rivers.


Eyre Highway Memorial -Lookout No 6
Eyre Highway Memorial -Lookout No 6
Address: Eyre Highway, Lookout number 6
City/Town: Border Village
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to the construction of the Eyre Highway. 



The first formed road to join the two States was started in July 1941, a job that took six months and   £250000  which was stimulated by the threat of Japanese invasion. The road was hastily constructed, the graders merely scouring the surface, and quickly deteriorated.



By 1959 eight cars were using the road each day, and for a time it was called either the Forrest Highway (the Prime Minister`s name for it in 1941) or the more traditional Eyre Highway. The road was sealed between Norseman and Perth by the late 1950s. By the 1960s`, there were still only 130 vehicles a day moving between Ceduna and Norseman. The Western Australian section had long been sealed; the South Australian section was sealed to Kimba in 1966, to Ceduna 15 months later, to Penong in 1973, and finally met the Western Australian road in September 1976, where a cairn decorated with two pairs of surveyor`s work boots commemorates the event.



Failford Centenary
Failford Centenary
Address: Mill & Failford Roads, Caravan Park
City/Town: Failford
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Boulder in form of seat was presented by the Godwin, Dunn & Cook families to commemorate J Breckenridge , the founder of Failford in 1886, residents past and present, and the district's returned and fallen servicemen. 


Fairfield International Monument
Fairfield International Monument
Address: The Crescent
City/Town: Fairfield
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the contribution of migrants to the city of Fairfield.


The monument was created by the Fairfield Multicultural Society, originally 16 people from diverse cultural backgrounds who came together to honour the many nationalities settling in the area. Other dedicated locals joined the group over the years to promote harmony and cohesion in multicultural Fairfield City.


Fanny Lipson Finnis & Colonel Light
Fanny Lipson Finnis & Colonel Light
Address: Finniss Vale Drive
City/Town: Second Valley
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Fountain built to commemorate the centenary of Colonel William Light`s landing and birth of Fanny Lipson Finnis, the first European child born in the colony born at Rapid Bay, 2 January 1837.



About people gathered in front of the Second Valley Soldiers' Memorial when Mr. D. G. Willis declared the Rapid Bay Centenary celebrations open, and welcomed former residents. In the absence ot Mr. P. E. Day formerly Surveyor-General of South Australia, the Rev. J. C. Jennison a member of the council of the Memorial Geographical Society unveiled a commemoration fountain erected in an adjacent ornamental park.  The fountain is about seven feet high, is set on a rough

cast Base, and is surrounded by a lily pond. It is surmounted by a figure of a child holding a huge shell on his head from which water flows. This is symbolical of the fact that Second Valley was the birthplace of the first female child to be born in the State The fountain was erected voluntarily by local residents to the memory of the first Surveyor- General Colonel Light.

The Advertiser (Adelaide), 29 December 1936.



Federation Gardens
Federation Gardens
Address: Honour Avenue & Sanger Street
City/Town: Corowa
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Federation Gardens commemorate the Bicentenary of the European settlement of Australia.

Fernvale Bicentennial Memorial
Fernvale Bicentennial Memorial
Address: Brisbane Valley Highway
City/Town: Fernvale
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Fernvale Bicentennial Memorial


Filipino Memorial Plaque
Filipino Memorial Plaque
Address: 82 Kintore Avenue, Memorial Wall, Migration Museum
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque is a tribute to Filipinos who were forced to leave their country because of political and social injustice and their contribution to the development of South Australia.



Finley Pioneers
Finley Pioneers
Address: Murray Street
City/Town: Finley
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneers of Finley and District



Firefighting in Port Macquarie
Firefighting in Port Macquarie
Address: Hay Street, Port Macquarie Fire Station
City/Town: Port Macquarie
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Dedicated to firefighting in Port Macquarie, and to commemorate the Bicentenary of European settlement in Australia



First Ceremony of Saluting the Union Flag
First Ceremony of Saluting the Union Flag
Address: Loftus Street, Opposite Jessie Street Gardens
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A sandstone plinth with flagpole to commemorate the location where the first ceremony of the saluting of the English flag by Captain Arthur Phillip took place, to mark the foundation of Australia following the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788. 



The Union Jack flag is the most common name for the flag of the United Kingdom. The Union Jack has been in existence since 1606, when England and Scotland merged. In 1606, the first Union Jack flag was created by merging the English flag (the red cross of Saint George) with the Scottish flag (the diagonal white cross of Saint Andrew on a blue background). This was the flag used in the ceremony in 1788.  



In 1801, the addition of Ireland to the United Kingdom added the Irish flag to the flag (the red Saint Patrick's cross) which is the current design of the flag today. 



The plinth also contains a plaque unveiled on the 26th January 1988 to commemorate the bicentenary of the founding of the colony of New South Wales. 



First European Child
First European Child
Address: Port Davies Road, Wybalenna Mission Site Cemetery
City/Town: Emita
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn erected to commemorate the birth of the first European male child on Flinders Island. The plaque is on the same monument as the Last Chief of Portland



First European Settlement
First European Settlement
Address: Bong Bong Bridge
City/Town: Moss Vale
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Cairn to the first European settlement in the Southern Highlands

First European Settlement At Port Phillip
First European Settlement At Port Phillip
Address: Leggett Way
City/Town: Sorrento
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A memorial commemorates the first European settlement in Port Phillip Bay in 1803.



The first European settlement in Victoria was established here in October 1803 under Lieutenant-Governor David Collins. It consisted of 308 convicts, 51 marines, 17 free settlers, 12 civil officers, a missionary and his wife.



They had been sent from England principally out of fear that the French, who had been exploring the area, might establish their own settlement and thereby challenge British `rights` to the continent. When Lieutenant-Governor David Collins led a party of 300 convicts and 50 Marines ashore at Sullivan Bay in 1803 he ensured Sorrento’s place in history as the first European settlement in Victoria.



First Farm in Australia
First Farm in Australia
Address: Mrs Macquaries Road, Botanic Gardens
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the site of the farm established by Governor Phillip in 1788.


Governor Phillip originally intended to retain the land from Woolloomooloo Bay to Cockle Bay (Darling Harbour) as his own Domain. He allowed buildings on the western side of the Tank Stream but was able to keep the land on the eastern side for his own use. This land was cleared except for a few saplings and the Governor ordered the planting of ‘Nine acres in corn’ on the land which was later to become the first botanic garden in Australia.


First Fleet
First Fleet
Address: Cypress Street, Site of Former Cemetery
City/Town: Launceston
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

 Plaque commemorates those who arrived in Australia with Governor Phillip on the First Fleet in 1788. 



First Fleet Monument (Bicentennial Monument)
First Fleet  Monument (Bicentennial Monument)
Address: The Grand Parade , Cook Park , near Bay Street
City/Town: Brighton-Le-Sands
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The First Fleet Monument or Bicentennial Monument erected in 1988, commemorates the arrival of the First Fleet in Botany Bay in 1788, carrying the first Europeans settlers to Australia. The names of all those new arrivals are engraved on this monument flanked by a couple of old cannons.


First Fleet & Norfolk Islanders Memorial
First Fleet & Norfolk Islanders Memorial
Address: Davey Street, St Davids Park
City/Town: Hobart
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorates the First Fleeters and Norfolk Islanders who came to Tasmania during the evacuation of Norfolk Island between 1807 and 1813. The memorial was unveiled to mark the 185th anniversary of the arrival in the Derwent River of the HMS Lady Nelson with settlers from Norfolk Island.



First Fleet Memorial
First Fleet Memorial
Address: Grosvenor Street, Lang Park
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates those who arrived on the First Fleet in 1788, and those who had burial services in the St Phillips Church which used to exist at this location.



First Fleet Memorial Garden
First Fleet Memorial Garden
Address: New England Highway
City/Town: Wallabadah
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The First Fleet Memorial Garden consist of eleven circular gardens, representing the ships of the First Fleet approaching a large garden in the shape of Australia. A winding cobblestone path connects the Gardens, each of which has a number of surrounding sandstone tablets inscribed with the names of the persons who sailed on that ship.



Within each garden is a stone tablet featuring the name and a pictorial sketch of that particular ship. The Second Fleet Gardens consist of two gardens with stone tablets arranged by ship. Both gardens have interpretative signage largely drawn from the logs and memoirs of the participants.



First Fleet Plaque
First Fleet Plaque
Address: George Street, Steps leading to First Fleet Park
City/Town: The Rocks
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the people who sailed to Australia on the eleven ships of the First Fleet.


The First Fleet is the name given to the eleven ships that sailed from Great Britain on 13 May 1787. The passengers consisted of: 10 civil officers, 212 Marines, including officers, an additional 28 wives and 17 children of the marines, 81 free persons, 504 male convicts and 192 female convicts; the number of free persons was 348 and the number of prisoners was 696, coming to a total of 1044 persons. The Fleet was led to New South Wales (as named by Captain Cook) in order to begin European colonisation in Australia.


The fleet was led by Captain (later Admiral) Arthur Phillip. The ships arrived at Botany Bay between 18 and 20 January 1788.


 


First Fleet Plaque
First Fleet Plaque
Address: Elizabeth Street, Central Station entrance
City/Town: Surry Hills
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque is dedicated to those who arrived in Australial on the First Fleet in 1788 and are buried nearby.



The First Fleet is the name given to the 11 ships which left Great Britain on 13 May 1787 to found a penal colony that became the first European settlement in Australia. The fleet consisted of two Royal Navy vessels, three store ships and six convict transports, carrying more than 1,000 convicts, marines and seamen, and a vast quantity of stores. From England, the Fleet sailed southwest to Rio de Janeiro, then east to Cape Town and via the Great Southern Ocean to Botany Bay, arriving in mid-January 1788, taking 250 to 252 days from departure to final arrival.

First Fleet Settlers
First Fleet Settlers
Address: Tizzana Road, Sackville Reach Historic Cemetery
City/Town: Sackville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the First Fleet settlers who arrived in 1788 with Captain Arthur Phillip and who are buried in the old cemetery.



First Inland Settlement
First Inland Settlement
Address: Portland - Casterton Road
City/Town: Henty
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates explorer Thomas Mitchell, the Henty Brothers and the settlers and labourers who created Victoria's first inland settlement


First Land Grants
First Land Grants
Address: Wharf Road , Boat ramp area
City/Town: Melrose Park
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Land grants made in 1792 were the first in the municipality.


The first land grants in the local government area of Ryde were to two ex-marines in the vicinity of the current suburb of Melrose Park in January, 1792. This area was called 'Field of Mars', Mars being the god of war. From February 1792, small land grants were made to ex-convicts in the area called 'Eastern Farms' (part of the modern suburb of Ryde), because the land was east of Parramatta.


First Macquarie Town Pioneers
First Macquarie Town Pioneers
Address: Macquarie Street, Pioneer Park
City/Town: Liverpool
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected as a Rotary International 75th Anniversary Project ( 1905 - 1980) and dedicated to the men, women and children who established the first Macquarie town now known as the City of Liverpool.


First Settlement
First Settlement
Address: Queen Street, Mawson Park
City/Town: Campbelltown
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree commemorates the 175th anniversary of the founding of the first European settlement in Australia.



First Settlement Memorial Wall
First Settlement Memorial Wall
Address: Redcliffe Parade, Rotary Park
City/Town: Redcliffe
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the first settlement at Redcliffe in 1824.



A decision was made in June of 1824 to form a settlement at Moreton Bay and on 1 September 1824 the Amity left Sydney to transport convicts and soldiers to the new settlement. It arrived at Moreton Bay on 12 September and the settlers landed at Redcliffe Point two days later. In the party were Surveyor General John Oxley, King's Botanist Allan Cunningham, Assistant Surveyor Robert Hoddle, Commandant Lt, Miller of the 40th Regiment of Foot, his wife and son Henry who acted as clerk for his father, Lt Butler, a sergeant, a corporal and 18 privates of the 40th Regiment of Foot, ten wives and eight children and Store Keeper/Surgeon Walter Scott.



Some of the 29 convicts were volunteers who hoped to be rewarded with ' a ticket of leave ' for their efforts. The Settlement was established between Humpybong Creek, Anzac Avenue and the beachfront. Built with 50 tonnes of bluestones to a design representing the sails of the Amity, the Wall was opened in September 1991.



The monument also honours the first inhabitants the Ningy Ningy clan of the Undambi tribe.



First Settlers Memorial Park
First Settlers Memorial Park
Address: Scott Street
City/Town: Benarkin
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park commemorates the pioneer settlers of Benarkin.



First Settlers Memorial Plaque
First Settlers Memorial Plaque
Address: Acton Park Road, Acton Park Hall
City/Town: Acton Park
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bronze memorial plaque commemorates the first settlers of Acton Park.



First Surveyors in Queensland
First Surveyors in Queensland
Address: Vulture Street, Foyer, Queensland Government Lands Centre
City/Town: Woolloongabba
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the arrival in Queensland in May 1839 of the first surveyors.  They were Robert Dixon, Granville Stapylton and James Warner.

Fort Denison Centenary
Fort Denison Centenary
Address: Fort Denison, Sydney Harbour
City/Town: Sydney
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the centenary of the construction of Fort Denison.


Fort Denison ( also known as Pinchgut Island ) is a former penal site and defensive facility occupying a small island located north of the Royal Botanical Gardens in Sydney Harbour, New South Wales, Australia.


In 1839, two American warships entered the harbour at night and circled Pinchgut Island. Concern with the threat of foreign attack caused the government to review the harbour's inner defences. Barney, who had earlier reported that Sydney’s defences were inadequate, recommended that the government establish a fort on Pinchgut Island to help protect Sydney Harbour from attack by foreign vessels. Fortification of the island began in 1841 but was not completed. Construction resumed in 1855 because of fear of a Russian naval attack during the Crimean War, and was completed on 14 November 1857. The newly-built fort then took its current name from Sir William Thomas Denison, the Governor of New South Wales from 1855 to 1861.


 


Foundation of Warrnambool
Foundation of Warrnambool
City/Town: Warrnambool
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the foundation of Warrnambool 


Founders Memorial
Founders Memorial
Address: Railway Terrace & Parkin Street
City/Town: Rockingham
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The memorial was constructed in 1979 to commemorate the founders of Rockingham and previously housed a time capsule which was opened in 2001.



Rockingham got its name from the sailing ship Rockingham one of the three vessels bought by Thomas Peel to carry settlers to Western Australia (the others being the Gilmore and the Hooghly), arriving in May 1830. The Rockingham was blown ashore and eventually abandoned after failed attempts to refloat her. Settlers supposedly camped near the wreck used the name "Rockingham Town" as their address.



Rockingham was first surveyed and lots offered for sale in 1847. However, few lots were sold until the development of a railway and jetty in 1872 to transport jarrah timber and sandalwood from Jarrahdale overseas. Rockingham prospered until the construction of the Inner Harbour of Fremantle in 1897, which caused Rockingham as a timber port to steadily decline.



Founding of Woomera Village
Founding of Woomera Village
Address: Dewrang Avenue, Woomera Theatre
City/Town: Woomera
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the foundation of Woomera in 1947.  



The monument depicts a ‘woomera’ bearing an orbiting satellite in the arc of a dish that represents the Island Lagoon deep space tracking antenna. The rocket acknowledges the original purpose of Woomera.



Woomera Village is a small, remote, Australian Defence Force (ADF) Base servicing the RAAF Woomera Test Range in the far north-west pastoral region of South Australia. The Range was first established in support of the Anglo-Australian Joint Project. This 'cold-war' project focussed on the development of long-range weapons systems, principally to counter the growing intercontinental ballistic missile threat from the former Soviet Union. The 'cold-war' heyday of the Range was 1947 to about 1972. In 1980 the Anglo-Australia Project was closed and the range itself saw little use until about 1991 when the RAAF's Aircraft Research and Development Unit (ARDU) took over the old instrumented range from Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO). Since that time, the RAAF has gradually assumed full control of the entire facility.



Fraser Avenue Trees
Fraser Avenue Trees
Address: Fraser Avenue
City/Town: Kings Park
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The lemon-scented gums lining Fraser Avenue from the main entrance to the restaurant precinct were planted in 1937 and each tree has a memorial plaque to prominent Western Australian citizens commemorated in 1929, the centenary of colonial establishment.



A notable array of lemon-scented eucalypis is set on each side of Fraser-avenue leading from the vicinity of the State war memorial in King's Park to the main entrance. Planted in 1937-38, they should eventually attain a height of 100ft. In the early part of this century the avenue was flanked by red-flowered eucalypts.



To mark the State's centenary in 1929 the number of these was doubled and at the foot of each was set a plaque bearing the name of a member of the committee organising the centennial observance. Disease, however, caused the uprooting of all these trees except an immune group near the rotunda tearoom and the now-flourishing lemon-scented gums took their place 12 years ago.

The West Australian (Perth ) , 17th December 1949.



Fyansford Bicentenary Plaque
Fyansford Bicentenary Plaque
Address: Hamilton Highway , Lower Paper Mills Road
City/Town: Fyansford
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected by the community of Fyansford and the Bannockburn Shire Council to commemorate Australia's Bicentenary (1788-1998)  and to pay tribute to the early pioneers of the area.



Gala Estate Soldier Settlement
Gala Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Skipton-Lismore Road, 8.7 kilometres north of Hamilton Highway corner
City/Town: Lismore
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the returned soldiers and their families who settled on Gala Estate after World War Two. 



Soldier settlement refers to the occupation and settlement of land throughout parts of Australia by returning discharged soldiers under schemes administered by the State Governments after World Wars One and Two.



Gateway to Wellington
Gateway to Wellington
Address: Mitchell Highway, 8 kms S of Wellington
City/Town: Wellington
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Large sculpture which commemorates Wellington and the surrounding districts.


Geelong Sesquicentenary
Geelong Sesquicentenary
Address: 61 - 66 Barwon Terrace
City/Town: South Geelong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque at the site of Geoffrey Hirst`s mill commemorates the Sesquicentenary of the settlement of Geelong from 1838 to 1998.



The Victorian Woollen and Cloth Manufacturing Company was founded in Geelong in the late 1800’s by Godfrey Hirst, an English immigrant from Yorkshire, England, which was the centre of textile manufacturing.



Its predecessor, The Victorian Mill, was a manufacturer of wool textiles.  With changing times, and the ability to see the possibilities, Godfrey Hirst purchased the Victorian, the company that had employed him when he first arrived in Australia.  His ability to manufacture first quality textiles, helped eliminate Australia’s dependence on England for cloth.  The company continued to manufacture various textiles until the 1960’s, when Godfrey Hirst Carpets began production.  It quickly became the largest manufacturer of carpet in Australia.   It continues to manufacture residential and commercial broadloom carpets in all fibres, while specializing in the production of wool broadloom products.



Godfrey Hirstwas born on 6 January 1857 at Royd Edge, Meltham, near Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, son of Charles Hirst, spinner, and his wife Minerva.



Trained as a weaver in a family business, Hirst arrived in Victoria for the sake of his health in 1885. Initially an insurance agent in the Western District, he soon joined the ailing Victorian Woollen & Cloth Manufacturing Co. in Geelong, only to disagree with its management over the best means of competing with imports. Believing that there was a living to be made from quality products, Hirst decided to go into business for himself. Renting a shed in Fyans Street, he built his own loom and, using yarn supplied by his former employers and the Albion mill, began manufacturing flannels in 1888.



Doing well despite the pall hanging over the industry as a whole, he moved to larger premises in 1889 and, in partnership with Charles Shannon, a woolbroker, and Charles Smith, a fellmonger, bought the defunct Barwon woollen factory in July 1890. Renamed the Excelsior Number One mill, the old factory prospered and, with Hirst in personal charge of its raw materials and sales, employed about one hundred people by February 1895. In 1899 the adjoining Victorian factory was added to the proprietary and refurbished as the Excelsior Number Two mill. Advantaged by interstate free trade after Federation and government contracts during World War One, the firm's pay-roll increased to more than 300 in 1917. The company then manufactured blankets, rugs, tweeds, and worsteds as well as flannels. After the death of Charles Smith in 1908, the business was incorporated as Godfrey Hirst & Co. Pty Ltd in October 1909.



In 1911 and again after the Number One mill was destroyed by fire in March 1912 Hirst returned to England in search of the latest machinery. In Geelong he supported the Gordon Technical College as a centre of textile education and was its president in 1913-16. His principal avocations were the Belmont and Corio clubs, music and bowls. A self-taught musician, he was organist at St George's Presbyterian Church from 1889 and a vice-president of the Geelong Musical Society. He also sponsored the Excelsior Mills choir and was active in the musical life of the Belmont Methodist Church. A man of strong principles and high expectations but reserved and lacking the common touch, he once stood unsuccessfully for the South Barwon Shire Council. He became a justice of the peace in 1908.



Hirst died after several years of failing health at his home, Royd Grange, Belmont, on 15 February 1917 and was buried in the Methodist section of Geelong Eastern cemetery. 



George & Henry Cox Campsite
George & Henry Cox Campsite
Address: Wilbertree Road, 3 Kms NW of Mudgee on private property
City/Town: Mudgee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected on the 12th March 1921 to mark the tree where the first settlers camped on the 12th February 1922. The plaque is on private property.


George Greene
George Greene
Address: Tyagong Creek Road, St Saviours Church
City/Town: Greenethorpe
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates pastoralist and founder of Greenethorpe.


On 9 July 1890, George Greene became a foundation member of the Pastoralists` Union of New South Wales. He favoured conciliation with the Amalgamated Shearers` Union of Australasia and unlike many other pastoralists, he was not opposed to unionism itself. In 1893 he was a commissioner for the World`s Columbian Exposition at Chicago. Greene`s wheat-growing gradually met with success and in 1893 he introduced share-farming, which soon proved very popular. By 1911 his property Iandra had some fifty share-farmers working 18,000 acres (7284 ha); with another 5000 acres (2024 ha) fallow and 20,000 sheep being run. The farmers supplied the labour and machinery, while Greene provided land cleared for ploughing, the seed and some fertilizer, and closely controlled the farming practices. In 1903 Greene was the first to grow W. J. Farrer`s `Federation` wheat commercially. As Iandra prospered, Greene in 1908 started building a village at the Iandra rail siding that became known as Greenethorpe.


Geranium Centenary
Geranium Centenary
Address: Geranium North Road
City/Town: Geranium
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque commemorates the centenary of the town which was first settled in 1906.   A windmill marks the site of the original Geranium bore which started the town.



Geranium Pioneers Memorial
Geranium Pioneers Memorial
Address: Geranium North Road
City/Town: Geranium
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Farm machinery commemorates the pioneers who settled in 1906.



The district was first farmed in the late part of the 1800`s, however, it was not until 1906 that viable farming activities came into existence due to the introduction of rail services and pioneering families moving into the district and permanently settling.



German Pioneer Families
German Pioneer Families
Address: Anglesea Road, Lutheran Cemetery
City/Town: Freshwater Creek
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque commemorates German Pioneer Families who settled in Freshwater Creek and who are buried in the cemetery.



The first German Lutherans settled in the district around Grovedale (Germantown) in the early 1850s. By the late 1850s the settlement at Freshwater Creek was established. Initially services were held in the homes of members until the first church, a wattle and daub structure, was built in 1859. The first burial took place in 1860 when Louisa the 18 year old daughter of the Seiffert family died of pneumonia.

German Pioneers Memorial
German Pioneers Memorial
Address: Comyn Street, Murtoa Water Tower Museum
City/Town: Murtoa
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the German pioneers of Western Victoria and their contribution to agriculture in this area with their experience of dry-climate farming


Gisborne Pioneer Park
Gisborne Pioneer Park
Address: Aitken Street, Gardiner Reserve
City/Town: Gisborne
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park commemorates the work of early district pioneers . The Pioneer Wall contains plaques of people who were residents of the district prior to 1918. The Gisborne Pioneer Park was officially opened on Australia Day 1997, with the unveiling of the inaugural plaques.



During 1996, the Gisborne and Mount Macedon Districts Historical Society created Gisborne Pioneer Park, adjacent to the Court House, by securing Government funding and Local Government support, to provide work for unemployed youth of the district. This project included the laying of paving stones from a former heritage site, the building of a thirty three metre long bluestone wall, landscaping of the area and the completion of restoration of the bluestone lockup, the brick stables and the privy.

 



 



 



Glen Waverley Pioneer Memorial
Glen Waverley Pioneer Memorial
Address: High Street
City/Town: Glen Waverley
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates pioneers, Thomas Napier who squatted here in 1839, and to Madeline Scott who held the `Bushy Park` run here from 1841 to 1845


Glenbank Memorial
Glenbank Memorial
Address: New England Highway, Mount Tabletop
City/Town: Allora
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to Thomas Caskey, pioneer settler and member of a committee which established Arbor Day in schools in Queensland. Thomas Caskey and his family were among the first settlers in the district in 1867. Caskey was a member of the committee which established and served the local school. The committee founded the lending library system and initiated the planting of trees in the school grounds from which the custom of Arbor Day in Queensland developed.



Glenorchy Estate Soldier Settlement
Glenorchy Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Merino-Grassdale & Digby-Glenorchy Roads, Glenorchy Estate
City/Town: Merino
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the thrity-eight World War One soldiers who received allotments in the Glenorchy Soldier Settlement estate.


Glenthompson & District Soldier Settlers
Glenthompson & District Soldier Settlers
Address: Glenelg Highway
City/Town: Glenthompson
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Soldier Settlers of the area.



After World War Two, hundreds of returned soldiers took part in the soldier settler scheme designed to reinvigorate our primary industries. Large tracts of land across most states of Australia were developed in this way growing new communities and creating a new generation of farmers.



Gloucester District Pioneers
Gloucester District Pioneers
Address: Bucketts Way
City/Town: Gloucester
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates commeorate the pioneers of the Gloucester District


Gnarpurt Estate Soldier Settlement
Gnarpurt Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Gnarpurt & Lower Darlington Roads, Gnarpurt Estate
City/Town: Lismore
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the returned servicemen and their families who settled on Gnarpurt Estate following World War Two.


Good Neighbour Garden
Good Neighbour Garden
Address: Quandong Street
City/Town: North Brighton
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A garden commemorates the work of the Good Neighbour Council. The Council met boats, planes and trains bringing immigrants to South Australia, helping them to settle there.



Gormans Gap
Gormans Gap
Address: Gormans Gap Road
City/Town: Upper Flagstone
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Memorial for `The Marked Tree Line` of Gorman`s Gap which opened up the route from Moreton Bay to the Darling Downs. Gormans Gap is Queensland`s oldest gazetted road. The road followed several old Aboriginal walking paths. The memorial contains time capsules.

Governor Arthur Philip
Governor Arthur Philip
Address: Pittwater Road, Narrabeen Public School
City/Town: Narrabeen
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Governor Phillip`s crossing of Narrabeen Lakes in August 1788.


Governor Arthur Phillip
Governor Arthur Phillip
Address: Cliff Street, Laing`s Point, Camp Cove
City/Town: Watsons Bay
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

In January 1927 a marble monument was erected at Camp Cove by the Royal Australian Historical Society in conjunction with Vaucluse Council to commemorate the beach as the first landing place of Governor Phillip in Port Jackson. 


There is, however, no thorough and authentic account of the events of 21st January 1788 with regard to the status of Camp Cove as the first landing place in Port Jackson of Governor Phillip, or to the possibility that Phillip and his exploratory party camped on the beach at Camp Cove - or anywhere else in Port Jackson. Nevertheless, notwithstanding some argument for Manly as the first Port Jackson landing place, the beach at Camp Cove has come to be officially accepted as the point where Phillip and his men first came ashore after setting off from Botany Bay to seek a suitable location to establish the British settlement.


Governor Lachlan Macquarie
Governor Lachlan Macquarie
Address: Princes Highway, Bulli Public School
City/Town: Bulli
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates Macquarie`s passing in 1822.


Governor Lachlan Macquarie wrote of `this grand prospect` when he stood near this spot in 1822 during a trip to the Illawarra: `On our arrival at the summit of the mountain, we were gratified with a very grand magnificent bird`s eye view of the ocean, the 5 Islands, and of the greater part of the low country of Illawarra...The whole face of the mountain is clothed with the largest and finest forest trees I have ever seen in the colony`. However, he also noted that most of the red cedar had already been `cut down and carried away to Sydney`.


Governor Macquarie Campsite
Governor Macquarie Campsite
Address: 329 Macquarie Road
City/Town: Springwood
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Tablet commemorates the spot where Governor Macquarie and his party camped on their way to Bathurst and named the place Springwood. The tablet was erected in 1938 and unveiled on the 25th February 1939.



The site was named by Governor Macquarie in 1815 while inspecting the road built over the mountains by William Cox and his convict labourers. Macquarie noted a `pretty wooded Plain near a Spring of very good fresh Water` and named it `Spring-Wood`. The Macquarie Memorial, erected at Springwood in 1938 by the Royal Australian Historical Society, celebrates this event as the naming of the first town in the Blue Mountains, although it must be remembered that Macquarie was actually naming a locality as there was no settlement at that time. William Cox built a military depot here in 1816.



On Saturday last members of the Royal Australian Historical Society visited Springwood at the invitation of the Blue Mountain Shire Council and the Springwood Development League to unveil a tablet commemorative of the visit of Governor Macquarie on April 26 and 27, 1815, en route to the Bathurst district. The road from Emu Plains to Bathurst had just been completed prior to Macquarle's visit, and the Governor decided upon a leisurely tour to inspect the new district. He was accompanied by Mrs. Macquarie, Captain Antill, Sir John Jamison, J. T. Campbell (Colonial Secretory), William Cox, John Oxley, Dr. Redfern, G. W. Evans, Lieutenant Watts, and J. W. Lewin (artist). Records of the journey were kept both by the Governor and Captain Antill, and they show that at 3 o'clock on the afternoon of Wednesday, April 26, they established their first mountain camp in an extensive forest. They dined at 4.30, and settled there for the night. On the morning of the 27th the Governor and his wife and a few others of the party visited the spring, a half-mile distant, from which they had received their supply of water. Antill wrote: "From this spring and the surrounding forest the Governor gave the name of Springwood to this station. We did not leave this place till 12 o'clock."



The inscription reads: "Governor Macquarie and his party camped here on their way to Bathurst on April 27. 1815, and named the place 'Springwood.' William Cox erected here a military depot early in 1816. R.A.H.S., 1938." Mr. W. L. Havard, in a letter, disputes its accuracy. He states that at the time specified Bathurst was not in existence; that the camp was made on April 26; that Macquarie, and not "Macquarie and his party," named the place "Spring Wood"; and that the reference to the military depot "is merely 'a shot in the dark'."

The Sydney Morning Herald, 4th March 1939.



Governor Macquarie`s Arrival
Governor Macquarie`s Arrival
Address: Clifford Street, Belmore Park, Mechanics Institute
City/Town: Goulburn
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates Governor Lachlan Macquarie`s visit in 1820 to the eventual site of Goulburn.


Governor Phillip
Governor Phillip
Address: Willandra Road, Governor Phillip Lookout
City/Town: Beacon Hill
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Governor Phillip`s first Overland Journey from Manly towards Pittwater.


In August 1788 Phillip accompanied by an exploration party travelled overland from Manly Cove to Pittwater and back.


Governor Phillip`s Inaugural Overland Journey
Governor Phillip`s Inaugural Overland Journey
Address: Boyle Street
City/Town: Manly
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Site where Governor Arthur Phillip commenced his overland exploration from Manly towards Pittwater nearby in 1788.



Goyder Survey Camp
Goyder Survey Camp
Address: Jervois Road & Kitchener Drive, Foreshore Park
City/Town: Darwin
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque marks the position of Goyder's survey camp.


The South Australian Surveyor-General George Goyder and his team sailed into Port Darwin on 5 February 1869. Goyder had travelled from Adelaide by the barque Moonta to survey the lands that would eventually become the town of Palmerston, later called Darwin.


Grass Patch Pioneer Memorial
Grass Patch Pioneer Memorial
Address: Coolgardie-Esperance Highway
City/Town: Grass Patch
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Grass Patch Pioneer Memorial was erected in memory of the pioneers of the district.



The town was named after a nearby farm of the same name that had been settled around 1896 and was renowned for bountiful crops and good grass. The townsite was proposed in 1910 when land in the area was being opened up, and as a watering spot for the planned Esperance to Norseman Railway,  which was completed 15 years later. Although the area was already well known as "Grass Patch", locals sought a more suitable name for the town when it was gazetted in 1923. Of the three nominated, "Warden" was chosen. However, objections were soon raised about this name and later the same year it was changed back to Grass Patch.



Greek Settlers
Greek Settlers
Address: Deakin Avenue, Greek Orthodox Hall
City/Town: Mildura
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the Greek settlers of Mildura , many of whom were pioneers in the dried fruit industry

Greensborough Pioneer Memorial
Greensborough Pioneer Memorial
Address: Apollo Parkways Estate
City/Town: Greensborough
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque marks the site of a private family cemetery of the 1850`s and commemorates the pioneers buried there, including members of the Whatmough and Partington families

Greta Migrant Camp Memorial
Greta Migrant Camp Memorial
Address: New England Highway
City/Town: Greta
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates migrants who passed through the Greta Migrant Camp between 1949 and 1961.


Almost 170,000 displaced people fled Europe after World War Two to find a new life in Australia, and the camp operated for 11 years and was the second biggest migrant camp in Australia.


Griffith Proclamation
Griffith Proclamation
Address: Neville Place & Benerembah Street, Griffith Council Office
City/Town: Griffith
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A time capsule was buried in 1971 and is to be opened on the 4th August 2016 on the 100th anniversary of the proclamation of the boundaries of the township of Griffith.



Griffith was established in 1916 as part of the New South Wales State Government's Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area (MIA) project to supply irrigation from the Murrumbidgee river in western New South Wales to be used for farming.



Gringegalgona Soldier Settlement
Gringegalgona Soldier Settlement
Address: Coleraine - Balmoral Road, Gringegalgona Soldiers Memorial Hall
City/Town: Gringegalgona
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A group of Gringegalgona people formed a committee for the purpose of erecting a monument and organising a `back to Gringe` celebrations.



The monument is a large natural stone about 1.5 metres long and 1 metre high, and has a plaque with the names of 28 soldier settlers. Wives are apparently not included as there is only one entry for each surname. The stone was originally located in a small reserve of native vegetation at the Grange Dip Road turn-off.



Group Settlement 64
Group Settlement 64
Address: 22 Sebbes Road
City/Town: Forest Grove
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the early settlers. 



The Group Settlement Scheme began in 1921 and by the following year, over 1000 settlers (mainly British) had moved into the district with the offer of free land. They first moved into the areas of Karridale, Kudardup, Nuralingup, Forest Grove, Cowaramup, Rosa Brook, Witchcliffe and later Margaret River.



A number of families departed from London, England to join the failed group settlement scheme and arrived in Albany aboard the "Euripides"in 1925 , and number of them walked off the group settlement land in 1932.



Group Settlers Memorial & Plaques
Group Settlers Memorial & Plaques
Address: 417 Peel Terrace, Settlers Camp Sites
City/Town: Busselton
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial and plaques erected in Busselton Shire to group settlers. In 1999, a sub-committee of the Busselton Shire Community Heritage Committee began a project to honour the memory of the group settlers in the Busselton Shire. It was decided to erect plaques on the site of each of the twenty-four group settler camps in the shire. The project was completed in 2003.



The 1920's saw a new wave of settlement for much of the region with the introduction of the federal, state and British governments' Group Settlement Scheme. Under the Group Settlement Scheme settlers were to work in small groups to develop a number of dairy farms within Australia's South West, to address Western Australia's reliance on imported dairy products. The lack of reliable transport was one impediment to the success of the scheme as the railway was not extended into the region until 1924 and farmers were forced to cart produce and supplies along hand cut tracks. The distance from the main market of Perth also hampered the distribution and sale of the milk.



By July 1927, 72 blocks had been abandoned and 124 amalgamated from the 923 blocks in the Busselton area alone. The rate of abandonment increased significantly after the onset of the depression in the 1930's as the number of livestock carried on each farm proved to be too small for economic survival. The scheme was abolished in 1930 and despite the hardship it placed upon many people it did manage to establish a dairy industry which still flourishes in many parts of the South West.

 



Gunbar Pioneer Memorial Church
Gunbar Pioneer Memorial Church
Address: Mid Western Highway
City/Town: Gunbar
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Gunbar Pioneer Memorial Church was erected as a jubilee memorial to the pioneers of Gunbar who built the original church in 1884. The official opening and dedication of the church on the 4th July 1934 was postponed by bad weather and took place on the 18th July 1934.



On Wednesday, 25th April, the ceremony of laying the foundation stone of a new Presbyterian Church took place at Gunbar, at 3.30 p.m. The ceremony of laying the foundation stone was performed by Mrs. Donald McDonald, who is the oldest resident foundation member.  It was during the latter part of last year that their attention was drawn to the fact that the 4th July, 1934, would celebrate the 50th anniversary of the opening of their church, which was opened on the 4th July, 1884, by Rev. Samuel Alexander Hamilton, of Hay (Gunbar at that time being part of Hay Charge). Unfortunately, practically all written records of the early history of the church are lost, but an attempt is being made to draw up a record of the names of all members, past and present, as nearly as possible in the order of their membership, provision being made for this record, to be carried on in perpetuity. Associated with the ceremony of laying the foundation stone was the planting of 'family' trees within the church grounds by members of the congregation.

The Hillston Spectator and Lachlan River Advertiser (NSW), 3 May 1934
.

The opening and dedication service of the Gunbar Pioneer Memorial Presbyterian Church, which was to have taken place yesterday, 4th July, has been postponed until Wednesday, the 18th July.  The Right Reverend the Moderator, who had come from Sydney for the ceremony, will leave Darlington Point on Thursday to attend the celebrations next Saturday afternoon on the far South Coast. The Murrumbidgee Presbytery meeting was also postponed, Ministers being unable to attend owing to the wet state of the roads.

The Hillston Spectator and Lachlan River Advertiser (NSW), 5 July 1934
.



 



Gunnewin Soldier Settlement
Gunnewin Soldier Settlement
Address: Carnarvon Highway, Gunnewin Cream Can Storage Shed
City/Town: Gunnewin
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the descendants & site of the Gunnewin Soldier Settlement.


After World War 1, the government gave soldier settlers 600 acres (roughly one square mile) and £600 to construct fences, dig a dam and build a hut. Gunnewin was one of these settlements. Unfortunately, the soldier settler's farms were not very economical and many of the soldier settlers returned to the city. 


 


H.M.S. Constitution Jubilee
H.M.S. Constitution Jubilee
Address: North Head, Quarantine Station
City/Town: Manly
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Obelisk erected by the surviving passengers of the  H.M.S. Constitution which sailed on 15 February 1855  commemorates the jubilee of their arrival in Australia and a reunion held on Empire Day (24th May). It also commemorates those who died on the passage and also those who died after arrival.



Hall Family Facade
Hall Family Facade
Address: Adelaide Street
City/Town: Murrurundi
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Public Convenience commemorates the site of the Hall Family home.


The first block of land to be purchased in Haydonton was purchased by ex-convict Benjamin Hall, the father of one of Australia`s best-known bushrangers, Ben Hall. The family`s original slab cottage (1842), where Ben Hall passed much of his early childhood, was located opposite Bridge House, approximately on the corner of Mayne St and Adelaide St. The family moved temporarily to the Lachlan district in the late 1840s. Ben`s parents and some of the children returned to Murrurundi in the early 1850s.


Hampden Bridge Bicentennial Plaque
Hampden Bridge Bicentennial Plaque
Address: Moss Vale Road, Hampden Bridge
City/Town: Kangaroo Valley
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque erected at Hampden Bridge to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988. The plaque details the history of the bridge.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage.



Harcourt Pioneer Gates
Harcourt Pioneer Gates
Address: Calder Highway, Cemetery
City/Town: Harcourt
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates at the cemetery erected to commemorate pioneers of Harcourt and the district. The pioneer gates were unveiled by Sir Harry Lawson on the 20th October 1935. The Argus (Melbourne) 21st October 1935



Harcourt Pioneer Plaque
Harcourt Pioneer Plaque
Address: Eagles Road
City/Town: Harcourt
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque indicates where the first European settler in the area lived.



The first settler was a Dr Barker whose Ravenswood No.1 Run encompassed the present townsite. His homestead was located at what is now the northern end of town . It was on this property that a shepherd named John Worley found gold in 1851. Subsequently, thousands of prospectors from around the globe descended on the Mount Alexander area.



Harlin BiCentennial Cairn
Harlin BiCentennial Cairn
Address: Brisbane Valley Highway
City/Town: Harlin
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn to commemorate the Bicentenary tree planting by pioneering families and school pupils.


Hastings Valley Pioneers
Hastings Valley Pioneers
Address: Oxley Highway, Showground
City/Town: Wauchope
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates erected in 1959 as a tribute to the pioneers of the Hastings Valley .


In 1828 a number of land grants were made along the Hastings River but it wasn't until 1836 that the village of Wauchope came into existence. In that year Captain Robert Andrew Wauch (he had dropped 'ope' from the end of his name as a result of a family dispute) paid a deposit on 760 acres on King Creek. He called this property 'Wauchope' and it was on this property that the town would eventually develop.Progress in the valley was slow. Droughts and floods in the 1840s drove many farmers from their lands. Captain Wauch was ruined by the Depression that followed.


Wauchope's economy has always been primarily based on the timber industry. At different stages, the railway station shipped more timber than any other town in Australia.


 


Hay Family
Hay Family
City/Town: Rannes
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates early settlers and the first white woman this far north in Queensland.


Hay River Farm Cairn
Hay River Farm Cairn
Address: Spencer Road
City/Town: Narrikup
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn marks the site of the first farm in Plantagenet County.


In 1835 Sir Richard Spencer, the Government Resident at Albany, sought fertile land near a river. He was concerned with stock lossed at Strawberry Hill, the first farm in the Albany area, and he decided a second property was necessary to ensure future production. The location he chose was part of Captain Stirling's grant so he bought 1940 acres from Stirling and established the first farm on the Hay River. The venture was an immediate success.


Plantagenet County was one of the twenty six counties of Western Australia that was designated in 1829. It is part of the cadastral divisions of Australia. It contains the city of Albany. The counties were used throughout the South western region of Western Australia, however they did not cover the whole state.


Henty Brothers
Henty Brothers
Address: Casteron Road, Dwyers Creek, Henty School Site
City/Town: Henty
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Obelisk to Major Mitchell, and to the Henty Brothers who first settled here in 1847, and to Sir Alexander Peacock who unveiled the memorial "in recognition of his work for education".


The memorial was unveiled in September 1927 in front of a large gathering of local people,dignitaries and studetns, Radio station 3LO broadcast the National Anthem at 2.00pm and the announcer in the Melbourne studio read and address prepared by James Sexton. The gathering listened to the broadcast of a six-valve radio loaned by Mr. J. James


Henty Town Centenary
Henty Town Centenary
Address: Keightley & Allan Streets, Henty Memorial Park
City/Town: Henty
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Henty Town Centenary.


The village of Henty was originally called 'Doodle Cooma'. Nearby wetlands are still called Doodle Cooma Swamp; they cover 20 square kilometres and are a breeding area for waterbirds.


The post office changed its name in 1886 as the railway station's name was thought to be confused with Cooma in the Monaro district. The town's new name was after the Henty family of Portland, Victoria and Launceston, Tasmania. Edward Henty had leased Round Hill station north of Gerogery (south of Henty) in the early 1860s.

 


Henty`s Hut
Henty`s Hut
Address: Davison Drive , Valley Lake
City/Town: Mount Gambier
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the site of Stephen Henty`s hut which was the first settlement in the district.



In 1918 members of the Old Resident’s Association decided to mark the location of one of the first huts in the area built by white men. W.S. Henty, a grandson of SG Henty, laid the commemoration stone over the original fireplace of the hut in January 1918. In 1939, during the centenary of Henty’s arrival, it was suggested that a more permanent memorial mark the site. In 1940 this six metre high obelisk was erected above a cairn of dolomite, set over the foundations of the original marker. On Arbor Day in June 1940 the unveiling was conducted before a large crowd including school children, who had assembled to plant trees for that special day.



A start has been made with the erection of the Henty Memorial at the Valley Lake. Messrs. A. E. Knight and J. Lock have under taken to carry out the work, and Mr. John Fletcher, M.P.. is giving sufficient red dolomite for the base of the monument. The structure will be about five yards south of the tablet which was erected in 1918 by the Old Residents' Association. This tablet, together with the stone of the old hut will be left intact.

The Narracoorte Herald (SA), 27 June 1939.



Heritage Wall
Heritage Wall
Address: Bungaree-Wallace Road
City/Town: Bungaree
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates those who settled in the Bungaree District.


Plaques on the monument are deicated to individual families  


Heroes of the Outback
Heroes of the Outback
City/Town: Longreach
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Within the Linear Gardens along the Landsborough Highway are many monuments saluting the Heroes of the Outback.


Heytesbury Settlement Memorial
Heytesbury Settlement Memorial
Address: Princetown Road, Heytesbury Settlement Historical Park
City/Town: Simpson
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A park commemorates the development of the Heytesbury Settlement area in the 1950s, and the clearing of the Heytesbury Forest, in order to create soldier settlement farms.



The development represented the last Government-sponsored, wholesale clearing of extensive areas of native forest in Victoria, in order to establish an agricultural settlement.



Highlands Pioneer Memorial
Highlands Pioneer Memorial
Address: Highlands Road
City/Town: Highlands
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Six granite pillars with tablets commemorate the first six settlers of the district



Highway Highpoint Monument
Highway Highpoint Monument
Address: Stuart Highway, 20kms North
City/Town: Alice Springs
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument marker indicates the highest point of the Stuart Highway between Adelaide and Darwin.



Hillside Soldier Settlement
Hillside Soldier Settlement
City/Town: Hillside
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Soldier Settlers of the Hillside area


Hindmarsh Family
Hindmarsh Family
Address: Terralong & Shoalhaven Streets, Hindmarsh Park
City/Town: Kiama
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Interprative plaque celebrates the central role that the Hindmarsh family made in establishing Kiama, as well as the strong civic role that family had made in all facets of Kiama over the next four generations.


The Hindmarsh family came to Australia after the death of their parents and received their land grant at Gerringong in 1822.  They built Alne Bank in 1855 which has been lived in by 10 generations of Hindmarshes to this day. One of the first structures in Kiama was the Hindmarsh general store, which was supplied by Hindmarsh ships, and the first Postmaster was George Hindmarsh. Hannah Hindmarsh ran a school.


Hindson`s Estate Soldier Settlement
Hindson`s Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Portland - Casterton Road
City/Town: Henty
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates former soldiers who settled in the Hindson Estate after World War Two


History Of Thallon Mural
History Of Thallon Mural
City/Town: Thallon
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A mural commemorates 150 years since Major Mitchell passed through the area.



Hobart Commemorative Wall
Hobart Commemorative Wall
Address: 19A Hunter Street, IXL Courtyard
City/Town: Hobart
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A wall commemorates people involved in the early development of Sullivans Cove and Hunter Island.  The wall, in Hobart’s IXL courtyard, traces the period from Hobart’s early settlement to its development as the colonial capital of Tasmania.



Plaques on the wall pay tribute to identities such as Lieutenant-Governor David Collins who discharged his supplies, settlers and convicts on Hunter Island and Sullivans Cove in 1804; and Sir John Hayes who sailed around what was then known as Van Diemens Land, exploring, mapping and naming the Derwent River, Cornelian Bay and Risdon Cove



The wall also features many early artists who depicted the area through their painting, drawing and printmaking, such as Samuel Prout Hill, George Frankland and Louis Auguste de Sainson who produced numerous historically significant works of the island and its warehouses.



Hoffnungsthal Pioneer Memorial
Hoffnungsthal Pioneer Memorial
Address: Hoffnungstal Road
City/Town: Lyndoch
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Hoffnungsthal Pioneer Memorial commemorates the 150th Anniversary of the Hoffnungsthal Settlement.



Hoffnungsthal Memorial (Valley of Hope) is the location of a former German pioneer settlement, located in South Australia's Barossa Valley. Founded in 1847, it was located in an ephemeral lagoon which was dry for the first years of settlement. Local Peramangk people warned the settlers that the area was prone to flooding, but this advice was ignored. In October 1853, after a week of heavy spring rains, the village was flooded and many of the houses were evacuated. After the cost of a proposed drain was seen as prohibitive, the village was eventually left deserted and while a few remained in the area the settlement was eventually abandoned. The Hoffnungsthal Lutheran church, which was built on higher ground continued to serve the community until 1867.

 



Holland`s Track
Holland`s Track
Address: 30360 Great Southern Highway, Shire Office
City/Town: Broomehill
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the epic journey of John Holland, Rudolph & David Krakouer and John Carmody who pioneered the road from Broomehill to Coolgardie known as Holland's Track.



In April 1893, John Holland, Rudolph Krakouer, David Krakouer and John Carmody left Broomehill with five ponies, a light dray, a 100 gallon (450 litres) water tank and provisions for 5-6 months. Using a small compass they aimed for Gnarlbine Rock, the goldfields main water supply which they reached in June. Holland would go ahead each day and scout for water and horse feed, while the others cut the track. They reached Bayley`s Find at Fly Flat on June 18th, having covered nearly 330 miles (538 km) in 2 months and 4 days, cutting the longest cart road ever made in one stretch in Western Australia. Prospectors could now land in Albany and make their way to Broomehill and on up the Holland Track to the goldfields, cutting off more than a fortnight to their journey. Some 18,000 fortune seekers used the track and teams laden with food, general stores and mining equipment made regular use of the track until the railway from Perth created Southern Cross and then eventually, Coolgardie.



Home Hill Pioneer Memorial
Home Hill Pioneer Memorial
Address: Pioneer & Eighth Avenues
City/Town: Home Hill
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial plaques at Pioneer Avenue.


Hundred of Cunningham Cairn
Hundred of Cunningham Cairn
Address: Arthurton Road, Petersville Hall
City/Town: Petersville
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the centenary of the Hundred of Cunningham and is tribute to the early pioneers.



The Hundred of Cunningham, with an area of 134 square miles (85,760 acres) was proclaimed on 18 June 1873.



"Bounded on the west by the eastern boundary of the Hundred of Maitland and on the south by the production east of the south boundary of the said Hundred to the sea coast; on the north by the south boundary of County Daly; and on the east by the sea."



It was named by Governor Fergusson, probably after Hastings Cunningham, founder of the city of Mount Gambier. The Fergusson and Cunningham families had been friends for generations in Ayrshire, Scotland.



Hungarian Memorial
Hungarian Memorial
Address: High Street, R F Turner Memorial Playground
City/Town: Golden Square
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Hungarian Officers and Soldiers who sought their fortunes on the goldfields after the suppression of the 1848 Hungarian Revolution



Illawarra Centenary
Illawarra Centenary
Address: Market Street, Market Square
City/Town: Wollongong
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Marble tablet commemorates the centenary of Illawarra and the landing in the district of the first Europeans, Bass and Flinders on the 26th March 1796.



In 1796 Bass and Flinders explored the coastline south of Sydney using a tiny open boat about 2.5 metres long. It was called the Tom Thumb.



Immigrants Monument
Immigrants Monument
Address: Great Ocean Road
City/Town: Aireys Inlet
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates immigrants who lost their lives at sea while they were on their way to Australia.


This monument is mounted to the top of the Seafarers Memorial.


Immigrants Wall
Immigrants Wall
Address: Bentinck Street
City/Town: Portland
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the early settlers of Portland



Immigration Depot Memorial
Immigration Depot Memorial
Address: Glenelg Street, Botanic Gardens
City/Town: Portland
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the settlers who left here in the "Maria Ross" to pioneer the north-west of Western Australia


Immigration Monument
Immigration Monument
Address: Kernot Hall Gardens
City/Town: Morwell
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The monument is a series of bronze plaques depicting the past and present life of the many thousands of migrants who have settled in Gippsland.


International Wall of Friendship
International Wall of Friendship
Address: 188 Collins Street, Commonwealth Government Centre
City/Town: Hobart
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the contribution of migrants to Tasmania. The International Wall of Friendship was built to bring all of Tasmania`s communities closer together and to provide a tribute to the contribution that migrant communities have made to the states development.



The International Wall of Friendship was conceived as a lasting memorial to the bonds of friendship and goodwill of many nations who have made Tasmania their home and their contribution and committment to the progress and well being of the State.



The Wall of Friendship has become a shrine for those communities which it represents. Each year communities gather there to celebrate days of national and international significance flying the Australian flag and the flags of their countries of origin.



Inverlaw District Pioneers
Inverlaw District Pioneers
Address: Kingaroy-Bundandowan Road, Farmers Hall
City/Town: Inverlaw
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial erected on the on the 70th anniversary of the Farmers Hall to the pioneers of Inverlaw and District.



Ipswich City Mall Historical Obelisk
Ipswich City Mall Historical Obelisk
Address: Limestone Street, Union Place
City/Town: Ipswich
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

When the mall was opened in 1988, the site was marked by an obelisk.  This obelisk had been sculpted by Tom Farrell specifically to function as a ‘historic’ landmark, engraved with images of local events and industries of the past. The obelisk shows scenes and industries important to Ipswich, from the earliest days to the present.


Ipswich Discovery Sesquicentenary
Ipswich Discovery Sesquicentenary
Address: Mansfield Park
City/Town: Ipswich
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A cairn commemorates the sesqui-centenary of the discovery of Ipswich.

Irish Catholic Pioneers
Irish Catholic Pioneers
Address: 22 West Goderich Street, Former Catholic Cemetery
City/Town: Deloraine
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates pioneers buried in former Catholic cemetery



Irish Monument
Irish Monument
Address: Murray Street, St Patrick`s Catholic Church
City/Town: Cooma
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Irish Monument



Irishtown Hall Centenary and Pioneers Memorial Stone
Irishtown Hall Centenary and Pioneers Memorial Stone
Address: Irishtown Road, Irishtown Agricultural Hall
City/Town: Irishtown
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Memorial stone celebrates the centenary of the Irishtown Hall and commemorates the pioneers of the district.

The Premier visited Irishtown on Wednesday for the purpose of opening the Agricultural Hall. An excellent dinner was prepared at the hall, which was tastefully decorated. About 50 gentlemen sat down to dinner. Mr. Throssell occupied the chair. The Premier spoke at considerable length and met with an enthusiastic reception. An address of welcome was presented by the farmers. The Premier warmly complimented the committee on the possession of so fine a hall, the cost of  which was over £400. Great credit is due to Messrs. Jas. McManus, John French, Frank Yates and William Morgan, under whose management the building has been erected. The Premier returned to Perth by special train at 8 p.m.

The West Australian (Perth), 8th June 1894.



Italian Migrants Memorial
Italian Migrants Memorial
Address: Nurndina Street & Tarkarri Road
City/Town: Batchelor
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A memorial commemorates the Italian migrants who arrived in Rum Jungle in 1953 to take part in mining operations, and then became permanent settlers in the Northern Territory.

Italian Settlers Remembrance Wall
Italian Settlers Remembrance Wall
Address: Palm Terrace , Ingham Botanical Gardens
City/Town: Ingham
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Italian Settlers Remembrance Wall is an historical record of Italian family names in the region.



The original Alpini Memorial and Immigration Settlers Wall stood in the grounds of the former International Club and Christian Outreach Centre in Ingham and was unveiled on the 24th January 1987.



The 1890s saw the first wave of Italian immigrants arrive in the Hinchinbrook district. The first group of Italian migrants arrived in Townsville in 1891 and, after having settled in the Ingham district, most sent home for family and friends. With the deporting of the indentured Kanaka labourers, more immigrants, particularly from northern Italy, were encouraged to come to the northern cane fields as canecutters. Conditions for the canecutters improved greatly, and workers` salaries increased to a rate much higher than that which the indentured Kanakas had experienced. The pattern of Italian immigration was established, and to this day, more than half the population of the Hinchinbrook Shire are of Italian descent.



Its About Us 2006
Its About Us 2006
Address: Brisbane Street, Mall
City/Town: Launceston
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Sculpture to commemorate 200 years of the city of Launceston. It acknowledges two cultures coming together. It recognises 35000 years of Indigenous history as well as 200 years of European history in Launceston.

Jayes Hall Memorial
Jayes Hall Memorial
Address: Jayes Road, Jayes Crossing
City/Town: Boyup Brook
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Memorial marks the site of the Old Jayes Hall, the first public building in the district and the original meeting place for the Upper Blackwood Roads Board. The memorial is also a tribute to the pioneers of the district.



A representative of the State Insurance office visited Boyup Brook recently to assess losses caused to property by the recent fires in the Mayanup area. Damage to Jayes Hall on the Mayanup Bridgetown-road adjacent to the Blackwood River which was to have become a lasting memorial to the pioneers of the district, was assessed. No plans have yet been made about what form a memorial on the site of the hall may take.

The West Australian (Perth), 7th February 1951.



Jerilderie Explorers, Pioneers & Developers
Jerilderie Explorers, Pioneers & Developers
Address: Jerilderie Street, Shire Council Chambers
City/Town: Jerilderie
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected in memory of such people as A.Morris, F.A Gwynne and Walker who explored the district in 1842 ; James Kennedy and Broughman and Woodford who obtained pastoral licences in 1847 and John Powell who built an inn in 1854 or 1858.


The birth of the town of Jerilderie itself is traced to the establishment of a house and store by John Carracticus Powell in 1854. He was apparently encouraged and assisted by the Kennedy Family to establish his home and business in what is known today as Powell Street, Jerilderie. He also opened the Travellers' Rest Inn. The first building on the current townsite it later became the Albion Inn and is still standing.  Following an application from John C. Powell in 1863 a Surveyor was instructed to survey and report on the Jerilderie Village site. As a consequence of this report ,the Village of Jerilderie and suburban boundaries were gazetted on the 14th March, 1865.


Jetty Memorial
Jetty Memorial
Address: Wynnum Esplanade
City/Town: Wynnum
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A sculpture commemorates the  timber jetty built in 1882. which was known as the No. 2 Jetty, which was built to provide access for land buyers of the new residential sub-divisions.

John & Emma Packham
John & Emma Packham
Address: Station Road
City/Town: Tammin
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates pioneer settlers John & Emma Packham who first settled in Tammin in 1893.


John Blomely
John Blomely
Address: Tuppal Road, 14 kms W
City/Town: Tocumwal
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to early settler John Blomeley and his wife, who pioneered land west of the town (known as 'Old Woperana') from 1824.


John Foord
John Foord
Address: Bridge Road, Foord Bridge, Murray River
City/Town: Corowa
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Bridge named in honour of John Foord who was born in England 1819 and died 1883 who founded Wahgunyah in Victoria in 1856, and North Wahgunyah which is now Corowa in 1859.



There are plaques at each end of the bridge



John Horan House
John Horan House
Address: Christmas Creek Road, Via Beaudesert
City/Town: Christmas Creek
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the house site of an early settler-John Horan.


Kadnook Soldier Settlement
Kadnook Soldier Settlement
Address: Casterton-Edenhope Road
City/Town: Kadnook
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Kahibah Pioneer Memorial
Kahibah Pioneer Memorial
Address: Kahibah Road & Hexham Street
City/Town: Kahibah
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates pioneer miners of the Kahibah district.


In 1880 a coal rail line was built to Redhead with the line being extended to Belmont in 1916. A station was built at Kahibah. On 8 April 1971 at 1710 the last rail passenger train to Belmont via Kahibah left Newcastle Station with the rail line closing to all coal traffic on 21 December 1992.


Kangaroo Valley Pioneers
Kangaroo Valley Pioneers
Address: 2029 Moss Vale Road, Kangaroo Valley Pioneer Museum Park
City/Town: Kangaroo Valley
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates from Osborne Park erected in 1956 by the Kangaroo Valley Historical Society as a tribute to the Valley pioneers. 



The area was first settled in 1817 when Charles Throsby, an explorer and Captain Richard Brooks, a cattleman, opened the area for white settlement. The felling and exporting of cedar trees quickly became the valley's main industry. By the mid 1840s, the valley also became home to a number of dairy farmers.  



Henry Osborne was the biggest landholder, owning in 1837 over 4000 acres. As he had many more large properties in other parts of the state, he rarely spent time in the valley but operated through his many managers and tenants.



 



Kangertong Soldier Settlement Estate
Kangertong Soldier Settlement Estate
Address: Penshurst-Warrnambool & Cemetery Roads
City/Town: Hawkesdale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the soldier settlers of the Kangertong Estate who settled here after World War Two


Kanowna Obelisk
Kanowna Obelisk
Address: Yarri Road
City/Town: Kanowna
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Obelisk commemorates the site of the goldfields town.



Kanowna was originally called White Feather. Gold was discovered there in 1893 and almost instantly the area was swarming with miners. By 1894 a town site had been selected and by 1895 a battery had opened serving the 4000 people who had poured onto the field. Although it was wild, ramshackled and temporary, the town became a municipality in 1896. The alluvial gold had all but disappeared by late 1896 and it was replaced by underground mining. Although the town was continuing to progress - 1897 saw the arrival of the railway and electricity - people were starting to drift away from the area. It was probably as a result of his concern about the town`s declining population that the local Catholic priest, Father Long, announced from the balcony of the Kanowra Hotel that he had been shown a gold nugget weighing nearly 100 pounds. He gave vague directions as to where the nugget had been found and, with due piety, the nugget was named the `Sacred Nugget`. In spite of Father Long`s efforts the town started a slow and steady decline. Long`s hoax had provoked a brief rush in 1898 but, without a new strike, the town was doomed. By 1912 it was no longer a municipality.



Kardella South Pioneers
Kardella South Pioneers
Address: South Gippsland Highway
City/Town: Kardella South
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A tree planted in 1934 commemorates the pioneers of Kardella South.



Katunga and District Soldier Settlers Memorial
Katunga and District Soldier Settlers Memorial
Address: Katunga-Picola Road & Bristol Street
City/Town: Katunga
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the soldier settlers and their families who settled in the Katunga district in the 1950's.


Keera Station Pioneers Monument
Keera Station Pioneers Monument
Address: Thornleigh Road, Keera Station
City/Town: Bingara
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Keera Station Pioneers Monument commemorates the Munro family of Keera Station. Grace Munro was the founder of the Country Women`s Association of New South Wales.


Following the death of Hugh Robert Munro,  the monument was placed on the hill overlooking the ‘Keera’ homestead commemorating the four Clans associated with ‘Keera’ and the Munro family: Munro, Gordon, Macpherson and Macdonald. It was unveiled on 14 February 1960 by M.F. Bruxner, MLA for Tenterfield.


Hugh Robert Munro was a staunch Presbyterian. He financially supported churches at Bingara and Canberra, St Andrew's War Memorial Hospital in Brisbane, and Rev. John Flynn's Aerial Medical Service. After World War I he made part of 'Keera' available for soldier settlement and after World War II part of 'Gundibri 'and all of 'Cubbaroo'.


Keith Land Scheme Memorial
Keith Land Scheme Memorial
Address: Dukes Highway & Ellis Street
City/Town: Keith
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial to the land scheme funded by Australian Mutual Provident Society (AMP), which in 1950, funded the development of vast areas of bushland into farmland, resulting in a large growth period for Keith.


The AMP Memorial to this land development scheme consists of a Landrover on a pole and an original hut lived in by one of the families employed in the scheme.


Kenilworth Park
Kenilworth Park
Address: 5 Elizabeth Street, Kenilworth Park
City/Town: Kenilworth
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Kenilworth Park commemorates the pioneers who undertook the first settlement in 1850

Kentish District Pioneers Memorial
Kentish District Pioneers Memorial
Address: High Street, King Georges Park
City/Town: Sheffield
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A memorial commemorates Kentish district pioneers.



The secretary of the Kentish Pioneer Memorial Committee (Mr. James Braid) has received a notification from the Prime Minister (Mr. J. A. Lyons) that he would be pleased to visit Sheffield on Sunday afternoon next for the purpose of unveiling the tablet containing the names of Kentish pioneers. The committee will make arrangements for the visit, and the ceremony will be held at 3 o'clock on Sunday afternoon. The cost of this memorial was about £100, and with about £95 already subscribed and a concert to be held it is hoped that the cost of the memorial will be fully subscribed before the unveiling ceremony on Sunday.

Examiner (Launceston), 10th August 1938.



Kilkivan 150th Anniversary
Kilkivan 150th Anniversary
Address: Wide Bay Highway
City/Town: Kilkivan
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sign commemorates 150 years of settlement in Kilkivan district.



Kilkivan was first settled by Europeans in the 1840s. Queensland’s first gold discovery was at Kilkivan in 1852 and subsequent findings escalated into a gold rush in the 1860s. The town was named for a pastoral run owned by pastoralist John Daniel Mactaggart after his father's farm name in Kintire, Scotland.



 



Kinglake Pioneer Memorial
Kinglake Pioneer Memorial
Address: Sutherland Road
City/Town: Kinglake
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates John and Elizabeth Lawrey and other pioneers of Kinglake. The lawreys were first to settle in Kinglake.


Klemzig Pioneer Memorial
Klemzig Pioneer Memorial
Address: Spring Grove, Klemzig Memorial Gardens
City/Town: Klemzig
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Klemzig Pioneer Memorial German was erected in memory of Lutheran refugees who pioneered the establishment of Klemzig, the first ethnic village in South Australia.



The first group of 21 Lutherans arrived on the Bengalee  on 18 November 1838 followed two days later by the main group on the Prince George.  They arrived on 20 November with Pastor August Ludwig Christian Kavel who brought a much larger group of migrants to South Australia. They all came to escape religious persecution at home, and Kavel settled them at Klemzig, named after their home town in Prussia, with the help of George Fife Angas.



The people of Klemzig in Germany will remember those of Klemzig, South Australia, in a special broadcast arranged for Saturday, August 29. On that day His Excellency the Governor (Sir Winston Dugan) will unveil a memorial, which has been built in the cemetery, to the German pioneers who came from the village of Klemzig, in Brandenburg to South Australia under Pastor August Kavel in 1836. The monument, which is of Murray Bridge granite and is about seven feet in height, has been erected jointly by the German-Australian Centenary committee, the Evangelical Lutheran Synod and the United Evangelical Lutheran Church. It is expected that about 1,500 people will be present from the German-Australian community throughout the State.



Before the unveiling of the monument, the Governor and Lady Dugan will plant two trees at the entrance of the avenue leading to the cemetery reserve.

Chronicle (Adelaide), 20 August 1936.



 



Knebsworth Soldier Settlement
Knebsworth Soldier Settlement
Address: Condah-Macarthur Road, Knebsworth School
City/Town: Knebsworth
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates Soldier Settlers from the First World War who were grabted land in the Knebsworth Estate.


Knox Arboretum
Knox Arboretum
Address: Dorset Road, Tim Neville Arboretum
City/Town: Boronia
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

An Arboretum commemorates 200 years of European settlement of Australia.



 



Kongwak Centenary & Pioneer Memorial
Kongwak Centenary & Pioneer Memorial
Address: Wonthaggi & Korumburra Roads, R.N. Scott Reserve
City/Town: Kongwak
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates pioneers of Kongwak who settled in this area and JKongwak's centennial year. 



Kooloonbung Creek Nature Park
Kooloonbung Creek Nature Park
Address: Gordon Street
City/Town: Port Macquarie
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Kooloonbung Creek Nature Park was established to commemorate the bicentenary of European settlement of Australia in 1988.



Koornong Estate Soldier Settlement
Koornong Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Koornong Estate Road
City/Town: Branxholme
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

 The Koornong Estate Soldier Settlement Monument commemorates the Koornong Estate allotted October 8th 1957.The monument comprises of a stone cairn with a plaque mapping the locations of the Families' properties.


Kornheim Pioneer Memorial
Kornheim Pioneer Memorial
Address: Lutheran Church
City/Town: Kornheim
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Marks the site of St. Peter`s Lutheran Church (1876-1922), school and manse and commemorates local pioneers. In the 1860s German farmers from Victoria`s Western District and from South Australia started colonising the southern Wimmera region.


Many villages developed, some with German names (Kirchheim, Grünwald, Kornheim), some with Aboriginal names. These German settlers made a big contribution to the development of the wheat industry in the Wimmera.


Korumburra Gates
Korumburra Gates
Address: Commerical Street, Park
City/Town: Korumburra
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates settlers of the area

Krowera Pioneer Memorial
Krowera Pioneer Memorial
Address: Wonthaggi Road
City/Town: Krowera
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates pioneers of the Bass Hills country


Kulin Centenary Memorial Plaque
Kulin Centenary Memorial Plaque
Address: Johnston Street
City/Town: Kulin
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates 100 years of agricultural settlement in Kulin. 



The first pastoralists took out grazing leases from 1905. Kulin Rock Soak, north of Kulin, provided fresh water year round and attracted the first settlement to the area. The belt of salt pans around Jilakin lakes, east of Kulin, also held great grazing potential, and once the grazing leases expired, the early farming settlers took up land around the lake and Jilakin Rock in the 1910's. Kulin has since become one of the most productive districts in the WA Wheatbelt.



Kulyaling Pioneers
Kulyaling Pioneers
Address: Kulyalling Road, Picnic Area
City/Town: Kulyaling
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Memorial in picnic area at the site of the old school commemorates the pioneers of Kulyaling (formerly Kulyalling) and district.

A railway siding named Westbrook was the origin of the town. The siding was established in 1905 and then the local progress association petitioned for a townsite to be declared. The townsite was gazetted in 1906 as Westbrook but the Lands Department sought to change the name as Westbrook was already in use. Two Aboriginal names were considered; Nimbedilling and Colyalling. The name was changed and the town was gazetted in 1907.



The name of the town comes from the Aboriginal name for a local water source and rock formation but the meaning is unknown.



Kyancutta Pioneers
Kyancutta Pioneers
Address: Eyre Highway, Polk Dinney Park
City/Town: Kyancutta
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Polk Dinney Park is a Jubilee 150 project which commemorates the pioneers of the Kyancutta District. All of the fences around the park have been carved with the names of pioneering families.



Kyvalley Pioneer Garden
Kyvalley Pioneer Garden
Address: 534 Sinclair Road, Kyvalley Hall
City/Town: Kyvalley
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Kyvalley Pioneer Garden was established with funding provided by the Commonwealth and Victorian Governments and the Deakin Shire Council to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988. The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.

La Perouse Museum Cable Station
La Perouse Museum Cable Station
Address: Anzac Parade
City/Town: La Perouse
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the opening of the former cable station as a museum in 1988. The project was sponsored by the NSW Bicentennial Council, the La Perouse Association for the Australian Bicentenary and the Government of France.



1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. It is the bicentennial year of Captain Arthur Phillip's arrival with the 11 ships of the First Fleet in Sydney Harbour in 1788, and the founding of the city of Sydney and the colony of New South Wales.



The former cable station, The Eastern Extension Australasian and China Telegraph Company was contracted to lay a submarine cable between La Perouse and Wakapuaka in New Zealand, which was completed in 1879. It was not possible to directly connect submarine cable to land line as the cables had different properties. As a result, the submarine cable at La Perouse had to be terminated at a cable station and re-transmitted over land line to the Sydney Telegraph Office. The Cable Station was designed and built between 1880 and 1881 by the noted colonial architect, James Barnet. It provided accommodation, office space and telegraph facilities for the officers of the telegraph company and the Post Master General.



 



Lake Cargelligo Pioneers
Lake Cargelligo Pioneers
Address: Lake Street, Liberty Park
City/Town: Lake Cargelligo
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected in 1973 during the centenary celebrations.


Lake King Memorial Wall
Lake King Memorial Wall
Address: Newdegate-Ravensthorpe & Paulson Roads, Cemetery
City/Town: Lake King
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Wall and trees dedicated to volunteers and pioneers of the area.



Lake King Pioneer Memorial Hall
Lake King Pioneer Memorial Hall
Address: Newdegate & Ravensthorpe Road
City/Town: Lake King
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Lake King Pioneer Memorial Hall commemorates the pioneers of the district.



In 1963, as a result of a Shire and local community cooperation, a new hall was constructed. The old hall was used as the supper room, but this was later replaced in 1965 (and the old hall was relocated to G Hewson's property) The official opening of the existing hall took place on 29 February 1964. An honour roll was formed to commemorate the pioneers of the district.



Lakewood Townsite
Lakewood Townsite
Address: Mount Monger Road
City/Town: Lakewood
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Concrete memorial marks the site of Lakewood. The plaque is missing.



Lakewood is an abandoned goldfields townsite, located 10 km south east of Kalgoorlie. In 1903 the area was known as Lakeside, and the Secretary of the Progress Association wrote to the Government seeking the survey of lots for residential purposes. Lakeside was then at the terminus of the railway, and close to Hannan Lake, from the proximity to which the name was derived. Lots were surveyed here in 1903, but when considering a name for the townsite Lakeside was ruled out because it was duplicated in Queensland.



The Kalgoorlie Road Board suggested the name "Gnumballa" for the new townsite but when it was gazetted in 1904 it was spelt "Ngumballa" in line with spelling rules adopted by the Department of Lands and Surveys. The name is the Aboriginal name for Hannan Lake. In spite of the gazettal of the name Ngumballa, the railway station remained as Lakeside, as did local usage , and in 1909 the name was officially changed to Lakeside. By 1938 there was another Lakeside near Wiluna, and the school and post office at Lakeside were changed to Lakewood to avoid confusion, but still retaining the lake association in the name, and linking to the firewood company which by then was the only business in the area. For nine years the place was now officially known as Lakeside, but locally Lakewood, before the Government finally accepted this name and changed the townsite to Lakewood in 1947.







 

Lambing Flat Chinese Tribute Garden
Lambing Flat Chinese Tribute Garden
Address: Pitstone Road, Chinaman`s Dam
City/Town: Young
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Lambing Flat Chinese Tribute Garden commemorates the contribution of the Chinese community to the settlement of Young in the 1860's and the ongoing contribution of the Chinese community to Australia as a nation.



 



Landholders Memorial
Landholders Memorial
Address: Gawler Ranges Road
City/Town: Wirrulla
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the land holders of Wirrulla, Petina, Pimbaacla, Yarrama, Courela, Wallala and Yantanabie from settlement until 2001.

Landing Place Cairn
Landing Place Cairn
Address: Albany Terrace & Loch Street
City/Town: Augusta
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the 150th anniversary of the settlement of Augusta at the site where Augusta`s first white settlers came ashore from the brig "Emily Taylor" in 1830.



On 2nd May 1830, the first white settlers arrived in Augusta aboard the “Emily Taylor”. This was under the command of Captain James McDermott. The ship carried families and servants from three established groups – the Bussells, Molloys and Turners – and also settlers John Dawson, Richard Dawson, John Herring, John Kellam (surveyor) and soldiers. Captain Stirling also accompanied the settlers and decided on the mouth of the river for the site of the new settlement. Once the “Emily Taylor” landed, settlers unloaded and erected tents on the beach.



Langi Willi Soldier Settlement
Langi Willi Soldier Settlement
Address: Skipton Road
City/Town: Skipton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the Langi Willi Soldier Settlement of 1954.



Lara Pioneers
Lara Pioneers
Address: Station Lake Road
City/Town: Lara
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the pioneers of Lara. The cairn was unveiled in 1938 by the Minister for Water Supply, Mr Old.


 A further plaque honours Matthew Flinders for whom the road here was renamed Flinders Avenue at the Bicentenary of his birth, 1970.


Lardner Pioneer Memorial
Lardner Pioneer Memorial
Address: Pioneers Memorial Park
City/Town: Lardner
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the gift of land to the Currie family and to district pioneers


Lardner`s Track
Lardner`s Track
Address: Burnt Tree Road & Lardners Track, Lardner Hall
City/Town: Lardner
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the survey of Lardner`s Track and the settlement of the district


Larra Estate Soldier Settlement
Larra Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Camperdown-Lismore Road & Camperdown-Larra Road
City/Town: Lismore
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the returned servicemen and their families who settled on Larra Estate following World War Two. 



Larras Lake
Larras Lake
Address: Mitchell Highway, Entrance to Larras Lake
City/Town: Molong
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected in 1959 at Larras Lake by William Lee's descendants and the Orange and District Historical Society to mark the site of the first portion of land in the district promised on the 18th January 1830 and given possession on the 11th April 1832.


William Lee  was granted 2430 acres (983 ha) at Larras Lake in 1830, and later took up stations on the Bogan, Lachlan and Castlereagh Rivers.


Launceston Centenary Clock & Chimes
Launceston Centenary Clock & Chimes
Address: 68 Cameron Street, Post Office
City/Town: Launceston
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Launceston Centenary Clock & Chimes commemorate the centenary of the city of Launceston in 1906. The clock and chimes were handed over to the city in 1910 when the centenary plaque was unveiled.



The official handing over of the clock and chimes installed in the Post Office tower to the City Council took place on July 11th. There was a large gathering at the Town Hall, including Senator Keating and the aldermen.  Hon. G. T. Collins, who has been acting as chairman of the committee for some time, gave a resume of what had been done towards securing the clock and chimes for the city. It was through the efforts of Senator Keating that the Federal Government decided to alter the tower to make it suitable to receive the clock and chimes. (Applause.) The first money obtained towards the timepiece was the surplus of over £500 from an exhibition promoted by the Australian Natives' Association. (Applause.) Mr. Collins made kindly reference to the splendid response of the citizens, and thought that they çhould congratulate themselves on having secured such a splendid set of chimes, which were also musical, and visitors from the mainland had expressed themselves as being delighted with the chimes, and had stated that they know of nothing better in the Commonwealth. It was the desire of the committee that the clock and chimes should be vested in the city of Launceston, and, therefore, he had much pleasure in handing over to the Mayor the deed vesting the clock and chimes in the Corporation of Launceston for the citizens.



The company then adjourned to the Post Office, where the Mayor unveiled a plate which had been donated and erected on the base of the tower by Messrs. J. and T. Gunn Ltd., who were the contractors for making the alterations to the structure. The plate bore the inscription "Launceston Centenary Clock and Chimes-1806-1006 : Erected by public subscription in the reign of King Edward VII., in commemoration of the first centenary of the city of Launceston, in Tasmania." Cheers for the King, the Mayor and Aldermen, and the clock and chimes committee concluded the proceedings.

The Mercury (Hobart), 12th July 1910.  





 



Lawson Oval Lighting Project
Lawson Oval Lighting Project
Address: Henry Lawson Way & Lawson Drive, Lawson Oval
City/Town: Grenfell
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The lighting of the Lawson Oval was undertaken to commemorate Australia`s Bicentennial in 1988


Lebanese Settlers Memorial
Lebanese Settlers Memorial
Address: Spring & Lonsdale Streets, Commonwealth Centre
City/Town: Melbourne
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the first Lebanese settlers to Victoria who arrived in 1880


Leichhardt Bicentennial Rotunda
Leichhardt Bicentennial Rotunda
Address: Norton Street, Pioneers Memorial Park
City/Town: Leichhardt
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Leichhardt Bicentennial Rotunda was erected to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia.  The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage. State Councils were also created to ensure cooperation between the federal and state governments.

Leighton Gardens Refurbishment
Leighton Gardens Refurbishment
Address: Illawarra Highway, Leighton Gardens
City/Town: Moss Vale
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Leighton Gardens refurbishment commemorates the sesquicentenary of Moss Vale.



Leongatha Pioneers
Leongatha Pioneers
Address: Roughead Street, Showgrounds
City/Town: Leongatha
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Gates commemorates local pioneers. Europeans first moved into the area in 1845 and settlers began to clear the huge mountain ash trees from the environment in the 1870s. Dairying became important in the area in the 1880s. It received a considerable boost with the exporting opportunities provided by the arrival of the railway in 1891. During the recession which followed the land boom of the 1880s the government sought ways to alleviate unemployment and the dangers believed to be associated with it. Influenced by German examples they decided to establish a labour colony and selected Leongatha as a site, due principally to the large forests of blue gum and messmate considered to be in need of destruction by locals. The colony was intended to be self-supporting. Twelve men arrived in 1893 and were housed in tents. From that time until 1903, when it was closed due to the completion of the clearing project, 6000 men passed through the colony. The land was subdivided for soldier settlement after World War One

Lieutenant John Murray
Lieutenant John Murray
Address: Ocean Beach Road
City/Town: Sorrento
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates Lieutenant John Murray of the ship,  "Lady Nelson" who landed here.


The newly-created Union Jack was raised for the first time in Australia at Point King, two kilometres west of present-day Sorrento, in 1802, to claim the land for Britain. This occurred during a 25-day exploration of Port Phillip Bay by Lieutenant Murray and party in the Lady Nelson


Lieutenant John Shortland
Lieutenant John Shortland
Address: Scott Street, Air Force Club, Longworth Institute Building
City/Town: Newcastle
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected in 1926 by the Australasian Society of Patriots to mark the vicinity of the landing place of Shortland in 1797. The plaque is mounted on the building presented to the Australasian Society of Patriots in 1928 by William Longworth on behalf of the Longworth family. 



On 9 September 1797, while on his way to Port Stephens in pursuit of some runaway convicts who had seized `the largest and best boat, belonging to Government`, Shortland entered the estuary of the Hunter River, where William and Mary Bryant and their party had probably sheltered briefly when they escaped northwards in 1791. During his brief stay Shortland named the river, though for some years it was often referred to as the Coal River, made the first chart of the harbour in the form of an eye-sketch and collected some samples of coal; in a later letter to his father he predicted that his discovery would prove `a great acquisition to the settlement`.



Linkletter`s Place School.
Linkletter`s Place School.
Address: Fisheries Road
City/Town: Condingup
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the first students and teachers at former school site.



In 1960, when Mrs Avon Wyllie, her husband and five children settled a newly released block in the Condingup area, there were gravel roads, few people and most importantly for the children, no school. Initially, the children in the area did correspondence classes but local Art Linkletter offered to supply a building on his property, and on February 20,1961 Linkletter's Place School opened. In 1964 a permanent school was built on the Condingup Town site and 28 children transferred to the new school on September 29, 1964.



Art Linkletter was an American TV host and comedian best known for his hit show,' Kids says the darndest things'. He was involved in a farming syndicate, developing farming land in the 1950's with a number of other famous Hollywood stars, all of whom made the Esperance region a very well known part of the world. When the syndicate failed in 1958, investors were given parcels of land as reimbursement and one of the biggest was given to Art Linkletter, who decided to farm it. Linkletter helped the town establish its first school, school bus and shop.



Linton`s Diggings
Linton`s Diggings
Address: Linton-Snake Valley Road
City/Town: Linton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the site of the Linton's Diggings Township.


Gold was discovered on the northern portion of the Emu Hill pastoral run in 1855 and within months, there were hundreds of men and women of many different nationalities there, including many Chinese, digging holes, felling trees, erecting tents, and creating a settlement where before there had just been a forest of eucalypts. This became known as ‘Linton’s Diggings’, which subsequently became ‘Old Linton’s’ when a new township was built on Surface Hill in 1860. This was the beginning of the town we know today as Linton.


Lismore & District Pioneers Centenary
Lismore & District Pioneers Centenary
Address: 165 Moleswoth Street, Council Chambers
City/Town: Lismore
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

White marble tablet commemorates the centenary of settlement 1844-1944 and in honour of the district's pioneers.


Lismore Pioneer Memorial Cemetery
Lismore Pioneer Memorial Cemetery
Address: 2 Nimbin Road
City/Town: Lismore
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument at the front of the cemetery list the names of all those who are buried in unmarked graves .


The area was used as cemetery from a very early period. The first known burial was in 1860, the last in 1948. In 1970 the Richmond River Historical Society and Council relocated headstones to a memorial area and recorded names of other burials on memorial plaques. the area was opened as Memorial Rest Park in 1971. The area is associated with Aboriginal burials (in unmarked graves).


Liverpool City Heritage Wall
Liverpool City Heritage Wall
Address: Bigge & Moore Street, Old Liverpool Courthouse
City/Town: Liverpool
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Heritage Wall was erected in 1985 to commemorates the 175th Anniversary of the founding of the City of Liverpool by Major General Lachlan Macquarie on the 7th November 1810.


Liverpool Sesquicentenary
Liverpool Sesquicentenary
Address: College Street, Bigge Park
City/Town: Liverpool
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Obelisk commemorates the 150th founding of the City of Liverpool which was surveyed on the 7th January 1810 by Governor Macquarie and named after the Earl of Liverpool.


Liverpool`s First Burial Ground
Liverpool`s First Burial Ground
Address: Castlereagh Street & Elizabeth Drive, Apex Park
City/Town: Liverpool
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Pillar and plaque erected on land set aside in 1811 by Governor Macquarie as a burial ground, which was closed in 1821. The  land was dedicated as a public park in 1950. The plaque was erected in 1962 by the Liverpool Historical Society.


Loch Centenary
Loch Centenary
Address: Victoria Road , Centennial Park
City/Town: Loch
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument erected in memory of the pioneers commemorates Loch's Centenary 1876 - 1976.



Residents of the picturesque South Gippsland dairying district township of Loch are preparing for their centenary year celebrations which will be held over the Queen's Birthday weekend, June 12-14. Mr Albert Kent, with his bullock team, will lead the opening procession. There will be dancing at night, and after church on Sunday, a memorial plaque will be unveiled.

Australian Womens Weekly, 26th May 1976.



Lochiel Pioneer Memorial
Lochiel Pioneer Memorial
Address: Western Highway & Cocker Dam Road, Cemetery
City/Town: Lochiel
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn with marble tablet commemorates the Lochiel Lutheran pioneers and their church which stood on this site


Lockhart Pioneer Memorial
Lockhart Pioneer Memorial
Address: Urana Road, Showgrounds
City/Town: Lockhart
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Pioneer Memorial gates are a tribute to early settlers and are shaped as replica wool bales.


Lower Norton Pioneer Memorial
Lower Norton Pioneer Memorial
Address: Horsham-Noradjuha Road
City/Town: Lower Norton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Lower Norton Pioneer Memorial was erected on the site of the Norton Hall and is dedicated to the memory of the pioneers .



Loxton Pioneer Memorial Gardens
Loxton Pioneer Memorial Gardens
Address: East Terrace
City/Town: Loxton
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gardens commemorate the pioneers of Loxton and the surrounding areas.



Loxton Soldier Settlement
Loxton Soldier Settlement
Address: East Terrace
City/Town: Loxton
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates soldier settlers from World War Two who settled on fruit blocks in Loxton


Lutheran Pioneers
Lutheran Pioneers
Address: 75 Murray Street
City/Town: Tanunda
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A garden commemorates the Lutheran pioneers who left the Province of Brandenburg in Prussia and who arrived on the ships "Prince George" and "Bengalee".



 



Lyell District Centenary
Lyell District Centenary
Address: Driffield Street
City/Town: Queenstown
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

"Miners Sunday " sculpture commemorates the pioneers and the centenary of the district.



The area was first explored by Charles Gould in the 1860s but its inhospitable environment deterred settlement and it wasn't until 1881, when Cornelius Lynch found gold in a creek near Queen River, that prospectors and miners began to move into the area. Many of the miners came from the Pieman River diggings to the north. They travelled down the coast to the port at Strahan and walked inland to the diggings.



Two years later three miners - Bill and Mick McDonough and Steve Karlson - discovered the rocky outcrop known as Iron Blow. The find was opened in 1883 and by 1888 the Mount Lyell Gold Mining Co. had been formed. It operated out of a town called Penghana.



Lyrup Settlement 120th Anniversary
Lyrup Settlement 120th Anniversary
Address: Downer Avenue, Lyrup Sporting Complex
City/Town: Lyrup
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the 120th anniversary of the settlement of Lyrup. 



Lyrup was established in 1894 by the South Australian government as a part of the creation of a communal land system (one of twelve settlements). 243 people originally settled in Lyrup. The town was gazetted on 24 September 1896 and was named after "Lyrup's Hut", a boundary rider's shack.

Mackay 150th Anniversary
Mackay 150th Anniversary
Address: Greenmount Road, Greenmount Homestead
City/Town: Walkerston
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Time capsule commemorates Mackay's 150th anniversary. The capsule contains over 50 pieces of memorabilia and will be opened in 50 years time.



Maclean Bicentennial Memorial Cairn
Maclean Bicentennial Memorial Cairn
Address: Bent, Taloumbi and Harwood Streets, Herb Stanford Memorial Park
City/Town: Maclean
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the Scottish settlers of the area.



The decision to create a Scottish Cairn in Maclean grew from a Bicentennial gift of a Cairn from Scotland to Australia (1988). Despite intense lobbying from many towns with Scottish links, the Cairn was given permanent home in Mosman Park, Sydney. The Maclean "Scottish Town in Australia" Committee decided to construct its own Cairn under the supervision of Scottish stonemason George Kerridge of Canberra.



Stones were obtained from parts of Scotland, Scottish families throughout Australia and locally. The Maclean Scottish Cairn is a fitting memorial to the contribution Scottish settlers made to the Clarence and to Australia. Scottish Settlers who came to the Maclean area were mainly Highlanders driven from their land during the Highland Clearances. Responding to offers of immigration to Australia, several shiploads arrived on free or assisted passages.



Malabar Pioneers
Malabar Pioneers
Address: Cromwell Place & Franklin Street, Pioneers Park
City/Town: Malabar
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Pioneer Park  and cairn was named in 1966 by Randwick Council as a tribute to the pioneers of the Malabar District.


The pioneers are John and Alice Anderson, Thomas and Elizabeth Ivin, Harold Fletcher, Henry Weir, Alexander Graham, James Welch, Patrick Gray, Henry and Ellen Wilson and Darcy and Lillian Wilson.


Malanda Pioneers
Malanda Pioneers
Address: Malanda-Atherton Rd
City/Town: Malanda
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Dedicated to pioneer settlers. Malanda first developed in the 1880s when the discovery of tin and copper at Herberton saw a steady stream of miners and engineers moving over the mountains from the coast.


Maldon Pioneer Memorial
Maldon Pioneer Memorial
Address: High Street, Shire Hall gardens
City/Town: Maldon
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates commemorates pioneers of the Maldon region


Mallacoota Pioneer Memorial
Mallacoota Pioneer Memorial
Address: Pioneer Cemetery
City/Town: Mallacoota
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the old cemetery and lists six people know to be buried here

Mallanganee Pioneers
Mallanganee Pioneers
Address: Sandilands & Yabra Streets, Everson Park
City/Town: Mallanganee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected in 1984 by the Mallanganee District Progress Association to commemorate the district's pioneers.


Mandurama Early Settlers Memorial
Mandurama Early Settlers Memorial
Address: Gold Street, Memorial Park
City/Town: Mandurama
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Memorial erected by descendants dedicated to citizens of the community both past and present. The memorial is a wall with a series of black marble plaques containing the names of those early settlers in the district.

Manilla Town Centenary
Manilla Town Centenary
Address: Manilla Street, Pioneer Park
City/Town: Manilla
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the pioneers of Manilla.  A time capsule is enclosed in a cavity beneath the cement base.



Manjimup-Balbarrup Pioneers
Manjimup-Balbarrup Pioneers
Address: Perup Road, Balburrup Cemetery
City/Town: Manjimup
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial Cairn with a brass plaque commemorating the early pioneers of the district and this lists those early settlers and their children that are known to buried there. The special feature of this cairn is that a grinding wheel from a water-powered flour mill constructed on the property has been built into the cairn which was constructed by landowners.


Manly Settlement
Manly Settlement
Address: Esplanade
City/Town: Manly
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the centenary of the suburb of Manly.



European settlement of the Manly area first took place around 1860.  In 1882 land was sold by auction for the 'Manly Beach Estate' in the vicinity of Cambridge Parade .



Marida Yallock Soldier Settlement
Marida Yallock Soldier Settlement
Address: Princes Highway
City/Town: Boorcan
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the original soldier settlers and their families



Marion Survey
Marion Survey
Address: Market & Nixon Streets
City/Town: Marion
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Four cairns commemorate the early history of the area and the original survey of the village by Colonel Light and his company, Light, Finiss and Co., in 1838.



Maritime Centre Welcome Wall
Maritime Centre Welcome Wall
Address: 3 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle Maritime Centre
City/Town: Newcastle
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Welcome Wall was announced at the Maritime Centre in 2011 to mark the 62nd anniversary of Fairsea’s arrival into the harbour in 1949, the first displaced persons’ ship to dock in Newcastle.  The project highlights the significant contributions migrants who came by sea have made to Australia. In Newcastle the waves of migration helped to develop industry, enhanced innovation and research, and enriched the culture and character of the community. The first series of panels were unveiled on Australia Day 2012. 



The tribute means European migrants who arrived in Newcastle on boats will be able to have their surname, date of arrival and the ship they came on inscribed onto plaques to be erected at the eastern end of the Maritime Centre. Records of each family whose name appears on the Welcome Wall will also be kept inside the centre. There are hopes to create a digital database for the public to access their family ancestry in the future.



 



Marla Township Opening
Marla Township Opening
Address: Wattle Street
City/Town: Marla
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A monument commemorates the opening of the Marla Township in November 1982.

Marquis de Rays Expedition
Marquis de Rays Expedition
Address: 2 New Italy Road
City/Town: New Italy
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the Italian survivors of the Marquis de Rays Expedition who settled in the area in 1882.

Martin`s Cairn
Martin`s Cairn
Address: Clifton Street, Opposite Martin Street
City/Town: Kelmscott
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn to commemorate the centenary of early settlement.



In 1930, a cairn of local stone was erected by the residents of the Kelmscott district and members of the Royal Historical Society, to commemorate the centenary of the 63rd Regiment, who, from 1830, had been stationed at the Barracks - the first house in Kelmscott- at this site. The cairn also memorialised Henry Martin, who resided in this building until the time of its demolition. In 1962-63, the cairn was rebuilt on the roadside, outside the boundary of the property, with the Blessing Ceremony conducted by Reverend G.V. Johnson.



Kelmscott was one of the first settlements in WA and it has been continually populated since 1830 only a year after the Swan River Colony was established and is one of the oldest towns in Western Australia. The town of Kelmscott was surveyed and named after the birthplace of Archdeacon Thomas Hobbes Scott, founder of the colony's Anglican Church.



The unveiling of a tablet to commemorate the centenary of the first house built in Kelmscott took place at Kelmscott yesterday afternoon. Boy Scouts of the 70th and 44th troops assisted Mr R.S.Sampson M.L.A. to unveil the tablet and boys from the Seaforth Home sounded the Last Post. In telling of the founding of Kelmscott, Sir James Mitchell related how Governor Stirling rowed up the Canning River to Kelmscott and made a treaty with a black chieftain, the only one of its kind ever made in this State.  Kelmscott, Sir James continued, was first settled in 1830, when a guard of six soldiers and a sergeant built the first house there. Later, this house was occupied until its demolition, by the late Mr. Henry Martin, who arrived in the State in 1842. It was an interesting fact that Mr. Martin carted with bullocks all the poles for the Bunbury telegraph line and also the timber for Rockingham jetty and the first bridge over the Swan River.

The West Australian (Perth), 1st January 1931.



Mary Kathleen Memorial Park
Mary Kathleen Memorial Park
Address: Mary Kathleen Memorial Park
City/Town: Cloncurry
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Following the closure of Mary Kathleen uranium mine in 1982, the Cloncurry Shire Council, with contributions from the local Lions Club and Mary Kathleen Uranium Limited decided to preserve the history of the mine with four  buildings from the original mine site: the police station, police residence, town office, and the A.N.Z. bank building which houses a museum set in the park.



Maryborough Band Rotunda
Maryborough Band Rotunda
Address: Park Road, Princes Park
City/Town: Maryborough
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Band rotunda commemorates the Golden Jubilee of Maryborough


Maryborough City Proclamation
Maryborough City Proclamation
Address: Civic Square, Town Hall
City/Town: Maryborough
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the proclamation of the City of Maryborough


Marysville Centenary
Marysville Centenary
Address: Murchison Street
City/Town: Marysville
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A grove of trees planted State School pupils commemorates the centenary of Marysville.



Matraville Soldiers Settlement
Matraville Soldiers Settlement
Address: Anzac Parade & Beauchamp Road
City/Town: Matraville
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the donation of houses by the Tattersall's Club which were erected as part of the Matraville Soldiers Settlement which commenced after World War1. The inhabitants were all soldiers or widows of soldiers.


In 1917 a gift of 72.5 acres of Crown land, described as 'the waste sand hills beyond Daceyville, was made available for returned soldiers from World War I. A Voluntary Workers Association formed and between 1918 and 1925 some 93 homes were built, south west of Anzac Parade and Beauchamp Road, as the Matraville Soldiers' Garden Village... The houses eventually passed to the State Housing Board. In 1977 despite local protests, all but one of the cottages was demolished and the site redeveloped. The surrounding streets recall battlefields and sites of World War I.


 


Maytown Pioneer Monument
Maytown Pioneer Monument
City/Town: Maytown
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected to the memory of the pioneers in the Palmer region.



Once the busy administrative and commercial centre for the lucrative Palmer River goldfield,in 1886 the population of Maytown reached 154 Europeans and 450 Chinese. There was no Christian church, but there was a Chinese temple. By the turn of the century the town had a branch of the Government Savings Bank, a state school, courthouse, school of arts, hospital, police barracks, one hotel, eight stores – four of which were Chinese, a baker, saddler and Miners Institute. The population was 252 Europeans and 422 Chinese. But, by 1924 only Wah Chong & Co.’s store remained open. Buildings like the school that closed in 1925 remained, abandoned, until World War Two in the hope of a mining revival. Mining has continued on the field but has always been too small-scale to revive the township. The decline in gold mining activity on the Palmer River is essentially what saw its demise.



McNicol Family
McNicol Family
Address: High Street
City/Town: Terang
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the McNicol family who were early settlers in Terang 


Memorial Arboretum
Memorial Arboretum
Address: Auburn Street
City/Town: Coonamble
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Memorial Arboretum commemorates the 811 settlers and inhabitants who were buried at the site prior to the closure of the cemetery in 1912.

Memorial Drive
Memorial Drive
Address: Pioneer Drive
City/Town: Mole Creek
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Memorial Drive commemorates the pioneers of the Mole Creek District.

Memorial Rose Garden
Memorial Rose Garden
Address: Lundy Avenue & Memorial Drive
City/Town: Cunderdin
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial garden dedicated to the pioneers of Cunderdin.



The first European through the area was Charles Hunt who arrived in 1864 and the following year returned to blaze the track which became known as 'The Old Goldfields Road'. He was followed by sandalwood cutters and itinerant shepherds.



Settlement in Cunderdin by Europeans started to progress following the building of the railway in 1884. Charles Hillman undertook the first farmlet in 1898 and by 1901 – thanks to the construction of the Goldfields Water Supply - more people ventured into the area. By 1902 Cunderdin boasted a small general store, a restaurant, hotel (also a receiving house for mail) and a school which was built by Charles Hillman.



Memorial Rose Gardens
Memorial Rose Gardens
Address: Walton Street, Lawton Gardens
City/Town: Corrigin
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Rose gardens are a memorial to early settlers.  Also known as Lawton Gardens, the gardens are named in honour of J.H.B. Lawton who served 33 years on the Corrigin Roads Board, thirteen of them as the Chairman. The bushes and trees were planted to a design by members of the local Rose society, who also maintain the gardens.



Memorial Stone and Commemorative Wall
Memorial Stone and Commemorative Wall
Address: Wide Bay Highway
City/Town: Goomeri
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial Stone and Commemorative Wall commemorates the town's centenary.



The Land Sale of 1911, when the town was established, was a defining moment in the history of the district. With the development of the the timber industry during the 1920s, the town boomed. New businesses were established, with all major services provided to a fast growing farming community.



Memories In A Suitcase
Memories In A Suitcase
Address: Watson Terrace, Civic Centre
City/Town: Mount Gambier
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memories In A Suitcase commemorates the contribution of migrants to Mount Gambier.  



Memory Markers
Memory Markers
Address: Barracks Street & St Georges Terrace, Stirling Gardens
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The five 3.5m high cast aluminium pen nibs are dedicated to the planners who designed the Stirling Gardens (Western Australia's first Botanical Garden). It also honours those who wrote the recorded history of the gardens.



This garden being the oldest in Perth were originally used as an acclimatisation garden where many of its mature specimens were raised from seed. Grapes and other import fruits were first grown here. In 1845 it was opened as a botanical garden. Stirling Gardens were reconstructed in 1965 with the Toodyay stone retaining wall and shallow pools which were designed by the City of Perth.



Menindee Cemetery Cairn
Menindee Cemetery Cairn
Address: Menindee Cemetery
City/Town: Menindee
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates indigenous and pioneering families as well as those in unmarked graves who contributed to the building of the community.


Merang Estate Soldier Settlement
Merang Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Hexham - Ballengeich Road
City/Town: Hexham
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque honours the soldier settlers of Merang Estate.


At the close of the First World War, Australia began an ambitious and controversial soldier settlement scheme, allocating small parcels of potential farming land to returned soldiers.


The government encouraged and regulated settlement, allocated land, and monitored land development. The aim of these schemes was to settle more people on the land and create a densely populated state of small family farms. The government made huge amounts of land available for small settlers. Crown land was opened up and large pastoral properties were purchased. This land was then subdivided, in some cases it was cleared and water channels created. Property was then offered to individuals and families for purchase at low interest on the condition that settlers live on and work the land.


When the World War 2 soldier settlement scheme was established, authorities heeded past failures. Blocks were bigger, were more carefully selected and roads, housing and fences were supplied to prospective settlers.


 


 


Merredin`s Bronze Horse At Work
Merredin`s Bronze Horse At Work
Address: Great Eastern Highway, Pioneer Park
City/Town: Merredin
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The sculpture "Bronze Horse At Work " depicts a clydesdale, the ploughman and his dog and commemorates the Centenary of Merredin in 1991 and was completed and unveiled by Clarrie Whitehead in 2001 to coincide with the Centenary of Federation.  The sculpture honours the part played by the Clydesdale horse in opening up the wheatbelt of Western Australia.



Merriwagga Pioneers Plaque
Merriwagga Pioneers Plaque
Address: Aix & Mons Streets, Meriwagga Memorial Park
City/Town: Merriwagga
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

 Merriwagga Pioneers Plaque


Methodist Pioneer Wall
Methodist Pioneer Wall
Address: 17 Emu Creek Road, Methodist Church
City/Town: Crows Nest
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Wall erected in honour of Fred and Caroline Swain and the pioneers of the Plainby District. Wall in Emu Creek Road Honours Crowns Nest pioneering families.


Migrant Children Memorial
Migrant Children Memorial
Address: Slip Street, Victoria Quay, Western Australian Maritime Museum
City/Town: Fremantle
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A memorial commemorates the British and Maltese girls and boys who left their country to find a new life in Western Australia.   Nearly 3,000 unaccompanied children who were shipped to Western Australia from Britain and Malta over a period spanning more than 50 years.

Migrants Memorial
Migrants Memorial
Address: Limekilns Road , Bathurst Sheep and Cattle Drome
City/Town: Bathurst
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the migrants who passed through the centre and to recognise their contribution to Australia.


Migrant hostels, also known as immigration dependants’ holding centres, migrant accommodation, migrant reception or training centres or migrant workers’ hostels, were established after World War Two to accommodate displaced persons and assisted migrants. The largest hostels were at Bonegilla (north-east Victoria) and Bathurst (New South Wales). Bathurst Army Camp was used as a Migrant Reception Centre. Circular cement base with inset circle of sandstone blocks enclosing a flagpole. This flanked by a pair of red brick walls, each with rising arms capped by flat sandstone blocks each forming a M shape when seen from above.


Migrants Monument
Migrants Monument
Address: Plain Street & Riverside Drive, Ozone Reserve
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A monument commemorates the early and ongoing contribution of migrant communities to the development of Australia. 



Migration Memorial Wall
Migration Memorial Wall
Address: 82 Kintore Avenue , Migration Museum
City/Town: Adelaide
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Memorial Wall acknowledges the fact that many of South Australia’s immigrants were forced to leave their homelands and seek refuge in Australia. The site is a place for commemoration and remembrance by South Australia’s cultural communities. The Memorial Wall has become a powerful tool in the education of visitors and students about the plight of refugees. It is a precious reminder of the freedom and democracy that Australians enjoy.



Plaques have been erected on the Migration Museum’s Memorial Wall by South Australia’s Armenian, Baltic, Bosniak, Croatian, Filipino, Hungarian, Jewish, Polish, Pontic Greek, Serbian, Slovenian, Tatar-Bashkurt, Ukrainian and Vietnamese communities. A plaque erected by the State Government also acknowledges British Child Migrants sent to South Australia.



Migration Monument
Migration Monument
Address: Lower North East & Montacute Roads
City/Town: Campbelltown
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Migration Monument is a tribute to those migrants who have given much to the heritage of South Australia over the years. The Monument features a circular compass base representing the world and its four main axes – north, south, east and west - symbolic of our State’s migrants who come from the four corners of the globe. The four parts become one as they harmoniously spiral upwards to a crystal-like spire of glass and steel representing the common spirit that binds us all. Touchscreen computers have been installed inside the Monument where visitors to the Migration Monument can enter in a family name and trace that family’s migration path; a kind of interactive history.



The Monument’s construction celebrated Australia’s Centenary of Federation and received a Centenary of Federation Grant of $45,000. The State Government has contributed $100,000, and neighbouring Council Norwood, Payneham and St Peters donated $15,000. The City of Campbelltown donated the land and in-kind administration support for the project.



Campbelltown`s history has been enriched through a background of migration and the valued contributions of migrant families. Whether families came as early settlers or as recent migrants they have contributed to the fabric of this community and the State of South Australia.



Milestone Obelisk
Milestone Obelisk
Address: Military Road, Robertson Park
City/Town: Watsons Bay
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

An obelisk erected by Governor Macquarie in 1811 commemorates the 21 soldiers of the 73rd Regiment who built the South Head Road in 10 weeks.



Governor Lachlan Macquarie believed that making permanent roads and bridges was one of the first steps towards improving a new country.  As soon as the road to Parramatta was completed, Macquarie toured the colony. The Macquarie Obelisk in Railway Square, erected in 1818, marks the starting point from which all distances in the colony were measured . Old South Head Road (Now Oxford Street in places ) ran through Darlinghurst and Bondi Junction, terminating at Watson`s Bay.



Millennium Plantation
Millennium Plantation
Address: Kamilaroi Highway
City/Town: Boggabri
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
The Millennium Plantation was planted by members of the community in memory of all who have lived in the district. The trees which were planted in 2000 also welcome the new millennium.

Millennium Time Capsule
Millennium Time Capsule
Address: Fryar Road
City/Town: Eagleby
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque commemorates site of Time capsule buried by Eagleby Community.

Millewa Community Pioneer Forest
Millewa Community Pioneer Forest
Address: Red Cliffs-Meringur Road, Millewa Pioneer Park
City/Town: Meringur
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Millewa Pioneer Park was established in 1986 to recognise the efforts of early settlers creating a livelihood from humble beginnings.  500 memorial trees have been planted, each with a plaque documenting family histories of community and pioneering families. It is run by a voluntary committee, committed to creating a visual hands on display of early Millewa district history and lifestyle.



The Millewa is a large strip of land, situated between sections of Murray Sunset National Park. This area was opened for settlement in the 1920's where prior to that is was all large pastoral holdings, with remnants still evident, one example is Long Plain Pine log tank thought to have been constructed in 1870, on a natural water soak Morkalla. First settlement in the area began on a wheat growing basis where prospective settlers were allocated an average of 750 acres (300 Hectares) of land as purchase leases for agriculture, by 1928 600,000 acres had been taken up by 708 settlers in this semi arid land.

 



Milmerran Shire Council
Milmerran Shire Council
Address: Herbert Street
City/Town: Millmerran
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorating the Shire Council which was amalgamated in 2008.



Millmerran was proclaimed a shire on 24th April 1913 and for 95 years the area prospered under local government administration. On the 14th of March 2008 the shire council was abolished by the Queensland State Government and the Millmerran area is now administered by the Toowoomba Regional Council.



Milparinka Pioneer Memorial Wall & Silhouette
Milparinka Pioneer Memorial Wall & Silhouette
City/Town: Milparinka
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

In 2005 local residents constructed a stone memorial wall alongside the park, and invited the descendants of local families to provide plaques commemorating their ancestors. Complemented by a steel silhouette of a pioneer family and a wheel barrow laden with belongings, the site is positioned to be seen first as one approaches the town. It is stark and symbolic of the region’s social history.

 


The first proclaimed Albert Goldfields township, Milparinka is sited on the edge of Evelyn Creek. Charles Sturt had camped nearby at Preservation Creek for six months in 1845 and it was he who named a nearby gum creek, Evelyn Creek. Later, Mount Browne Goldfields miners camped on the banks. They chose this spot as a waterhole in the creek gave them much-needed water. At first this was a shanty town of several hundred souls huddled in huts and tents. Before long, though, civilisation caught with the gold boom and by the mid-1880s the town boasted a police officer, newspaper, chemist, blacksmith, photographer, two butchers, four hotels, a school, a hospital and a general store. But by the mid-1920s the golden years were only a memory.


Mingenew Pioneer Memorial
Mingenew Pioneer Memorial
Address: Mingenew Scenic Drive, Mingenew Hill
City/Town: Mingenew
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn dedicated to early pioneers.



The first settlers (Edward Hamersley and Samuel Pole Phillips) took up leases in 1850 but the area was to remain sparsely populated for quite some time. Township lots were privately sub-divided in 1891 by Samuel James Phillips (one source says 1890) and in 1906 adjacent land was sub-divided by the government. A year later the private land was also incorporated into the townsite.



Moana Pioneers Memorial Hall
Moana Pioneers Memorial Hall
Address: Griffith Drive & Nashwauk Crescent
City/Town: Moana
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Moana Pioneers Memorial Hall commemorates the pioneers of Moana.



Moana was originally farming land from 1841. In the 1850s a local landowner lent his name to the beach and it became known as Dodd's Beach. In 1855, when shipping was the primary means of cargo transport in the area, the Nashwauk was wrecked on the beach near the Pedler Creek outlet.



Due to an increased interest in tourism in the area, in 1927 the land was subdivided by Lake Beach Estate Ltd who held a competition to name the new town. Mr C.H. Cave won the competition with Moana, which means "blue water" in the Māori language. The land was divided into blocks of land suitable for holiday homes and wide streets were planned and laid out, but due to the Great Depression in 1929 development of the area was slow. In the 1950s Moana experienced renewed interest from tourism as the residents of Adelaide enjoyed the freedom and mobility of car ownership - Moana was a pleasant 40 minute drive from Adelaide.



Mobrup Pioneer Memorial Hall
Mobrup Pioneer Memorial Hall
Address: Mobrup Road
City/Town: Mobrup
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Mobrup Pioneer Memorial Hall was erected in memory of early settlers.



Monal Cemetery Site
Monal Cemetery Site
Address: Monal Road , Monal Cemetery
City/Town: Monal
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Stone memorial at the Monal cemetery was constructed using the wheels from the boiler that was pulled to the site by a team of 52 horses, and is dedicated to the memory of the settlers and teamsters who have been laid to rest in the cemetery.



Moonta & District Pioneers
Moonta & District Pioneers
Address: George & Henry Streets, Queens Square
City/Town: Moonta
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque on the "Discovery of Copper" monument commemorates the pioneer families of Moonta and District.

Moora Pioneer Memorial Clock
Moora Pioneer Memorial Clock
Address: Padbury & Dandaragan Streets
City/Town: Moora
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Pioneer Memorial Clock dedicated to early settlers. The clock memorial was the instigation of the Moora Rotary club who contributed $2000 with a community contribution of $5000. The Premier David Brand officially commemorated the memorial in 1968. The history of the CWA authored by A Topham was sealed into the plinth.



The area was first explored by George Fletcher Moore who named the Moore River in 1836. The settlement of the area occurred in the 1840s but there was no need for a township. As late as 1873, when the telegraph passed through the area, the operator was a member of the family at Berkshire Valley. The town eventually grew up on the banks of the river and was officially gazetted on 12 April 1895.



Mooramong Estate Soldier Settlement
Mooramong Estate Soldier Settlement
Address: Glenelg Highway
City/Town: Skipton
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the Mooramong Estate Soldier Settlement at Skipton which was settled between 1947 and 1954.



Moore Pioneers
Moore Pioneers
Address: D`Aguilar Highway
City/Town: Moore
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Commemorates the pioneers. In 1900 a Royal Commission was appointed to investigate the possible route for a railway in the area, taking evidence at Esk, `Cressbrook`, `Colinton` and `Stonehouse`, which were the coach stops. `Colinton` was cut up and sold around this time, bringing in many new settlers and `Stonehouse` acted as a provision store and butcher`s shop for them. A small township was surveyed at Moore, named for the then owners of `Colinton`, gaining a postal receiving office in 1903 and a post office in 1905. In 1910 a railway station opened at Moore.

Moorundie Cairn
Moorundie Cairn
Address: The Parade, Lock 1
City/Town: Blanchetown
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A cairn commemorates the first white settlement on the River Murray in South Australia, and the cairn was built by schoolchildren as part of a history project.



Moranghurk Estate Soldier Settlers
Moranghurk Estate Soldier Settlers
Address: 3320 Midland Highway, Moranghurk
City/Town: Lethbridge
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial plaque commemorates the 26 Soldier Settlers who settled on the Moranghurk Estate in 1953. Moranghurk Estate is south of Meredith.



Moranghurk Homestead is one of the oldest pastoral properties in Victoria, having first been settled in 1840 by Scottish squatters Dugald McPherson and William Taylor. Moranghurk’s position as a substantial sheep station came to an end in the 1950s with the compulsory acquisition of a substantial portion of the property (11,770 of the 18,807 acres) by the Soldier Settlement Commission. The remaining property was stripped back to 2,183 acres in 1953 and this was sold to the Soldier Settlement Commission in 1954.



Morton Plains Township
Morton Plains Township
Address: Sunraysia Highway
City/Town: Morton Plains
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the original Morton Plains township


Mosaic Time Walk
Mosaic Time Walk
Address: Sharp Street
City/Town: Cooma
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A bicentennial project to tell Monaro's history through a series of mosaic panels created by members of the community with Chris Graham as co-ordinating artist.


Mount Emu Soldier Settlement
Mount Emu Soldier Settlement
Address: Streatham-Carngham Road, Tennis Court
City/Town: Mount Emu
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates those who settled at the Mount Emu Soldier Settlement which commenced in 1947.



Mount Gipps Station Pioneers
Mount Gipps Station Pioneers
Address: Silver City Highway, 20 kms north of Broken Hill
City/Town: Broken Hill
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Tribute erected on site of the shearing shed on Mount Gipps Station to the pioneers of the pastoral and mining industry.


Mount Juliet Cairn
Mount Juliet Cairn
City/Town: Healesville
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the first Victorian Geodetic Survey


Mount Mulligan
Mount Mulligan
City/Town: Mount Mulligan
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Dedicated to the town and people of Mount Mulligan. In 1910 coalmining started at Mount Mulligan. A new mining town was built and in 1914 a branch line from Dimbulah was established. The town prospered until 19 September 1921 when an underground explosion killed 75 miners

Mount Stronarch Cairn
Mount Stronarch Cairn
Address: Summit, Mount Stronarch Forest Reserve
City/Town: Scottsdale
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn associated with the 19th century survey of Tasmania.



A concern by the colonial government about the lack of available farming land led to a request that George Scott survey the area between the Saint Patricks River and the north-east coast in the early 1850s. The area was unexplored and unknown. Scott found land suitable for farming and this led to settlement in the area. The cairn is a surveyor`s cairn, possibly constructed after the survey by Scott in the 1850s. It is part of the system of survey cairns used for the triangulation survey of Tasmania.



Mount Sturgeon Soldier Settlement
Mount Sturgeon Soldier Settlement
Address: Sterling Street & Wills Street, Dunkeld & District Memorial Park
City/Town: Dunkeld
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates World War Two soldier settlers of Mount Sturgeon.



Mount Torrens State Heritage Area
Mount Torrens State Heritage Area
Address: Townsend Street
City/Town: Mount Torrens
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque commemorates the declaration of Mount Torrens as a State Heritage Area on the 150th anniversary of settlement of the town.



Mount Torrens is one of a small number of places in South Australia that have been given State Heritage Area recognition for an entire area, because it is an outstanding example of a 19th century settlement in the leafy Adelaide Hills. The town was settled in the 1840's. Originally known as Barton Springs its growth was probably partly fuelled by a copper mine discovered nearby in 1845, then the town had a brief flurry of excitement in the 1870's when gold was discovered.

 



Mount Waverley Pioneer Memorial
Mount Waverley Pioneer Memorial
Address: Miller Crescent
City/Town: Mount Waverley
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Paving and pedestal of bricks from the old Closter homestead with a direction finder, commemorates Waverley pioneers.

Mount York Obelisk
Mount York Obelisk
Address: Mount York Road
City/Town: Mount York
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Mount York obelisk was completed in 1900. It was suggested that the obelisk should commemorate not only Blaxand, Lawson and Wentworth but also those others who had assisted in pioneering the route over the Mountains, including Evans, Cox and Macquarie. It stands towards the extremity of the mountain spur, just before the cliff line. The base of the obelisk has inscriptions on all four sides. These commemorate the Explorers, Blaxland, Lawson and Wentworth; the Surveyor, Evans; the Road-builder, Cox; and the Governor, Macquarie. The names of the Reserve Trustees at the time: Berghofer, Howell and Rienits, are also recorded on the monument.



Blaxland, Lawson and Wentworth reached the area of Mount York on 28 May 1813, and camped at 'the edge of the precipice.' On 29 May 1813 they descended from the mountain 'through a pass in the rocks'. When building the first road over the Mountains, the construction of a descent from this ridge took William Cox and his road party five weeks between 7 November and 14 December 1814. Mount York was officially named by Governor Macquarie in honour of the Duke of York (1763-1827), the second son of George III and commander-in-chief of the British Army from 1795 to 1827. The naming of this mountain by Governor Macquarie gave it prominent regal and vice-regal connections.



 



Mudgeeraba Early Pioneers
Mudgeeraba Early Pioneers
Address: Railway Street, The Village Green
City/Town: Mudgeeraba
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Sculpture dedicated to early settlers of the Mudgeeraba industry who worked in the logging industry.



In 1856, William Duckett White, a squatter from Beaudesert, leased a cattle run called Murry Jerry from the NSW Government. (Queensland was administered by the NSW Government until separation in 1859). Part of the 25 square miles of this cattle run included the town we know now as Mudgeeraba.



In 1868, Murry Jerry land was opened up for free selection many of the early selectors of the area were timber getters, saw millers and eventually dairy farmers.



Mudgeeraba Memorial
Mudgeeraba Memorial
Address: 12 Railway Street , Elsie Laver Park
City/Town: Mudgeeraba
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Mudgeeraba Memorial is a wall erected behind the war memorial which contains plaques dedicated to the history of the Mudgeeraba District. The right side of the wall is dedicated to the pioneers and indigenous people of the district while the left side details the war service history of the area.



Murrindal & Rodger River Pioneers Memorial
Murrindal & Rodger River Pioneers Memorial
Address: Bruthen-Buchan Road, Overlooking Murrindal Station
City/Town: Murrindal
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A road side monument of stone incorporating a metal wheel rim with inscription to the pioneers of Murrindal & Rodger River. There is a tribute to Buchan midwife Elizabeth Whelan who originally lived at the Pyramids in Murrindal. 


Perhaps Buchan’s most famous mid-wife was Mrs Whelan who originally lived at the the Pyramids at Murrindal. Although not fully trained before her marriage she worked in a city Hospital owned by her uncle who was a doctor.  She delivered many babies throughout the district and there were accounts of anxious husbands saddling horses in the middle of the night and making for her house. She would return with them, riding side saddle, and would sometimes be away for days, or weeks, attending the mother and baby until all was well. She was a mother of fourteen and often was heavily pregnant herself. Mrs Whelan settled in Buchan and had a room in her house where mothers could give birth and convalesce. As well as midwife, she administered medical care for accidents and illnesses when required.


 


Naming of Blackheath
Naming of Blackheath
Address: Great Western Highway
City/Town: Blackheath
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

This obelisk was built in 1939 by the Royal Australian Historical Society in conjunction with the Blackheath Municipal Council to commemorate the naming of Blackheath on May 15, 1815 by Governor Macquarie, who was returning from his tour of inspection of the newly discovered country west of the Blue Mountains.


Blackheath was first named by Governor Macquarie who, passing through the area on his way to the new settlement at Bathurst, declared `it having a rather wild heath-like appearance, I have named it Hounslow.` On his return sixteen days later he changed his mind and on 15 May 1815 he wrote in his diary `This place having a black wild appearance I have this day named it Black-heath.`


Naracoorte 150th Anniversary
Naracoorte 150th Anniversary
Address: Smith Street
City/Town: Naracoorte
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The bust of the the founder of Naracoorte, William Macintosh was commissioned by the Naracoorte Jubilee 150 Committee to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the founding of Naracoorte.



Naracoorte was formed from the merger of two towns, Kincraig, founded in 1845 by Scottish explorer William Macintosh, and Narracoorte, established as a government settlement in 1847. The name has gone through a number of spellings, and is believed to be derived from the Aboriginal words for place of running water or large waterhole. It grew during the 1850s as a service town for people going to and from the Victorian gold rush.



The railway reached Naracoorte in 1876 and this led to slow and steady growth which led to the town becoming a municipality in 1924.



Narembeen Pioneer Memorial
Narembeen Pioneer Memorial
Address: Brown & Currall Streets, Machinery Museum
City/Town: Narembeen
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial erected in memory of the pioneers of the district.



In the 1850s European settlers arrived in the area looking for pastoral land for wheat and grazing. Sandlewood cutters also frequented the area during this time. A settler named Charles Smith bought a property he called Narimbeen. By the 1900s more farmers moved to the area as land was opened upand by 1918 the town-site of Emu Hill was gazetted.



In 1920, the town-site of Narembeen only existed as a minor railway siding to the railway line that had only just been built to Emu Hill. By the 1920s Emu Hill was the largest community in the region but the local populace opposed the building of a hotel in the town. As a result of this a Perth lawyer, Henry Dale and a Publican, Paddy Conlon, purchased 30 acres  of land at the railway siding of Narembeen to build a hotel. The town of Narembeen was established in 1922 about 5 km from the Emu hill town-site.



 



Nathaniel Lucas
Nathaniel Lucas
Address: 156 Northumberland Street, St Luke`s Anglican Church
City/Town: Liverpool
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected to Nathaniel Lucas who arrived on the First Fleet.


National Wool Museum
National Wool Museum
Address: 26 - 32 Moorabool Street
City/Town: Geelong
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque commemorates the opening of The National Wool Centre to commemorate the bicentenary of Australia in 1988.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788.



Since the arrival of sheep with the First Fleet in 1788, the wool industry has dominated our economy, our agriculture and our reputation as a quality wool-growing nation throughout the world. Geelong is a city synonymous with wool and the wool industry – sheep farming began here in 1835 and the first of many woollen mills opened here in 1868. For many years the city was known as the 'wool centre of the world'. Two hundred years later, in 1988, the National Wool Museum was established as Australia’s only comprehensive museum of wool.

 



Nelligen 150 Years
Nelligen 150 Years
Address: Wharf Street
City/Town: Nelligen
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates 150 years of the settlement of Nelligen


New Italy Memorial
New Italy Memorial
Address: 2 New Italy Road
City/Town: New Italy
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A memorial commemorates the pride, strength and courage of the Italian settlers and their contribution to the North Coast community.



Australia was an uncommon destination for Italians in the latter part of the nineteenth century, but, among those who came, two parties of immigrants founded rural farming communities. The survivors of the Marquis de Rays’ ill-fated colonising scheme in New Guinea landed in Sydney in 1881 and eventually established themselves in northern New South Wales, where they called their settlement New Italy. The Marquis de Ray`s free colony of Port Breton, also called New France, which was promoted widely in Europe, raised more than 7 million francs and lured hundreds of Europeans (mainly Italians, French, Germans, Belgians and Spaniards) to take part in a grand venture to colonise New Ireland, New Britain, the Solomon Islands and New Guinea.



The scheme aroused the opposition of the French and Italian governments, yet four expeditions of colonists departed from Europe before the Marquis was tried and imprisoned for fraud. The third expedition to the colony consisted almost entirely of Italians from the Veneto region and included women and children. The Italian contingent departed from Barcelona in July 1880 on the India, with more than 300 people on board, and arrived in New Ireland three months later to find that the first two expeditions had failed. Fever and starvation soon caused many deaths, and the surviving Italians requested the captain of the India to take them to Sydney before they all died.



The India went instead to the French colony of New Caledonia, where the Italians refused to leave the ship and requested the assistance of the British consul in getting them to Sydney. Sir Henry Parkes agreed to offer them refuge in New South Wales and they arrived on the James Patterson on 7 April 1881, nine months after leaving Barcelona. More than 80 had died before the 217 survivors reached Sydney. After a period in temporary occupations in Sydney, their dream to be established was fulfilled. Early in 1882, the flow to this area began. After a few months, a total area of 3000 acres had been selected and named `New Italy`.



Newhaven Bridge
Newhaven Bridge
City/Town: Newhaven
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Two memorials commemorating the opening of the bridges to Phillip Island


Nhill Centenary Memorial
Nhill Centenary Memorial
Address: Victoria Street & Rintoule Street
City/Town: Nhill
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorates 100 years of settlement and honours the pioneers.



The first hotel, a general store and drapery were constructed in the town in 1880. A police report indicated 80-100 people at the townsite in July 1880 with another 450-600 people within a radius of about 7 km.  The next few years saw rapid development with the addition of a bank, mechanics' institute, foundry, shire offices, the Nhill Free Press, a cordial factory, more churches and hotels, a state school, a land office, an hospital, an agricultural equipment manufactory, a courthouse, a brewery and many private residences. Rabbit plagues and wild dogs followed by wheat rust frustrated the efforts of many local pioneers in the 1880s, although Nhill benefited from the arrival of the railway in 1886.



Nieder-Weisel Plaque
Nieder-Weisel Plaque
Address: Brooke Street
City/Town: Smythesdale
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Replica of plaque dedicated in 2010 in the Lutheran Church grounds in Neider-Weisel, Germany, in memory of those who had gone to Australia in the 1800's. This was due to the work of Kevin Williams in Australia who had researched and written up the history of each person and family in both Victoria and in Nieder-Weisel.



The largest number of people to emigrate to Australia from any town in what is now Germany came to Victoria from Nieder-Weisel in the 1800's, a Lutheran village in the Country called Hesse. Nieder-Weisel had been mainly a fabric producing cottage industry village for ages. Now the English production of steam engines and big factories put the cottage industries out of business.



When news of the gold rushes came, many of the Nieder-Weisel folk made their way to England to catch 37 different ships to Melbourne in the 1850's. Others left on eight different ships from Hamburg. From Melbourne they walked to the goldfields, where they suffered difficulties and tragedies trying to survive and buy land.



Nolan Commemorative Plaque
Nolan Commemorative Plaque
Address: 81 Bailey Street, St Thomas Aquinas Church
City/Town: Clunes
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque placed by John & Ellen Nolan commemorates their parents, pioneer priests, and the people of Clunes. 



Norseman Town Clock
Norseman Town Clock
Address: Roberts Street
City/Town: Norseman
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Norseman Town Clock was unveiled in 1994 to commemorate Norseman`s Centenary Year.



The quest for gold led to the establishment of Norseman. Today there are a number of small goldmining operations in the area but only the Central Norseman Gold Corporation can be considered a major producer. Gold was first found in the Norseman area in 1892, about 10 km south of the town, near Dundas. The "Dundas Field" was proclaimed in August 1893 and a townsite gazetted there.



In August 1894, Lawrence Sinclair, his brother George Sinclair, and Jack Alsopp discovered a rich gold reef which Sinclair named after his horse, Hardy Norseman. In January 1895 the mining warden asked the Government to declare a townsite for the 200 or so miners who had arrived. It was gazetted on 22 May.



 



North Station Estate
North Station Estate
Address: Mortlake-Ararat & North Roads
City/Town: Woorndoo
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the families who settled in the North Station Estate Soldier Settlement after World War Two



Northam Historical Sculptures
Northam Historical Sculptures
Address: Fitzgerald Street
City/Town: Northam
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

12 bronze and iron sculptures - installed on columns with engraved story plaques written by the Northam Historical Society - provide a unique visual tribute to the town’s past. Eight artists with links to the local community have interpreted through sculpture the significance of Northam landmarks and events in history.


Nowra Bridge Plaque
Nowra Bridge Plaque
Address: Princes Highway
City/Town: Nowra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

A plaque on the Nowra Bridge commemorates the bicentenary of European settlement of Australia



Numeralla Pioneers
Numeralla Pioneers
Address: McLean Street, Numeralla Diggers Memorial Hall
City/Town: Numeralla
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates local pioneers.


Nyah District Centenary
Nyah District Centenary
Address: River Street, Recreation Reserve
City/Town: Nyah
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Time capsule  and plaque commemorate the centenary of the Nyah District 1893-1993. The time capsule is to be opened in 2043.



Nyah, on the banks of the Murray River was formed as the "Taverner Community Village Settlement" in the 1890s by Jim Thwaites as a utopian socialist community, one of many established along the Murray, including Waikerie in South Australia. The communities were established in imitation of the New Australia settlement of William Lane in Paraguay. Lack of access to water for fields and a falling-out of favour of socialism led to the end of state support for these communities.



The Post Office opened on 4 May 1894 (though known as Tyntynder for some months).



Nyngan Centenary Fountain
Nyngan Centenary Fountain
Address: Pangee Street
City/Town: Nyngan
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Fountain commemorates Nyngan's centenary.


The first recorded visit by Europeans to the Bogan River was by a party led by Major Thomas Mitchell, who set off from Parramatta on March 9, 1835. On May 10, 1835 Mitchell arrive in what was then known as Nyingen (Nyngan). He described this spot as a 'long pond with many birds, ducks and brolgas'.


Eleven years later in 1846, Major Mitchell returned to what he called Nyingen, only to find burnt relics of the previous settlement. At this time Canonba, a small village on Duck Creek some 30 kilometres north of Nyngan, was a thriving village but declined following the completion of the railway line to Nyngan in 1883.


The Municipality of Nyngan was proclaimed on February 17, 1891 with Nyngan having a population of 1355, and in 1906 the Bogan Shire was incorporated. The Bogan Shire Council and the Nyngan Municipal Council amalgamated with each other 1972.


In 1983, Nyngan celebrated its centenary year with the unveiling of the Centenary Fountain.


 


Nyora Pioneers
Nyora Pioneers
Address: Nyora Road, 2km from Oaklands- Berrigan Road
City/Town: Nyora
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Tribute to Nyora Pioneers erected on the former town site. 


Settlers arrived in Nyora in 1906, a school was opened in 1910 and the Nyora Hall was opened in 1912. 


Oatlands Town Naming
Oatlands Town Naming
Address: Esplanade
City/Town: Oatlands
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the naming of the town by Governor Macquarie in 1821.



The area was first formally explored by Europeans when Governor Lachlan Macquarie and his party passed through in 1811. It was another decade before Macquarie returned to the district. On the second visit he recognised the present site as "a very eligible station for a town" and, according to a local plaque, he named the town "Oatlands" on 3 June 1821. The name reputedly referred to a rich grain-growing area of Macquarie's native Scotland.



Oatley Town Clock
Oatley Town Clock
Address: Frederick Street & Oatley Avenue
City/Town: Oatley
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Oatley town clock, built as a tribute to the village's namesake, James Oatley. It was unveiled on 29 October 1983 to commemorate 150 years since James Oatley was first granted his original deed. The clock was designed by students from the School of Architecture at the University of New South Wales, under the direction of Clive Stevens.



Oatley is named after James Oatley, a convict clockmaker, who arrived in the colony in 1815 to serve a life sentence. When he was pardoned in 1821 he received several land grants, including 300 acres (121 hectares) near the Georges River in the area that later took his name.



Old Doodlakine
Old Doodlakine
Address: 5 kms N of town
City/Town: Doodlakine
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque commemorates the centenary of the town of "Old Doodlakine".



Nothing remains of the original town site of Doodlakine, which was first gazetted as a town in 1891. The passing of the railway line five kilometres south of the original town spelt the end for `Old Doodlakine` which gradually migrated to its current location and set up adjacent to the railway line.



Old Elsey Station
Old Elsey Station
Address: Stuart Highway, Signposted Turnoff South of Mataranka
City/Town: Mataranka
State: NT
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Cairn commemorates the site of the Old Elsey Homestead, made famous by the pioneering adventures of the characters portrayed in the book "We Of The Never Never" written by Mrs. Aeneas Gunn who was mistress of the station.



Elsey Station is a pastoral lease that once operated as a cattle station in the Northern Territory. Aeneas and Jeannie Gunn arrived at Elsey in 1902, Gunn owned a quarter share in the property but died there in 1903 from Blackwater fever. Jeannie returned to Melbourne and in 1908 wrote the book We of the Never Never based on her time at Elsey.



Oliver Louis Milling
Oliver Louis Milling
Address: Bolaro Street, O.L.Milling Memorial Playground & Garden
City/Town: Dunedoo
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Gates erected on the occasion of turning on the town's water supply commemorate Oliver Louis Milling`s services to the town and district. A second plaque was erected to his memory in 1960. Oliver Milling died in 1958 at the age of 81.



The O.L. Milling Memorial Gardens and Playground were rebuilt by the community in 1999 and opened in 2000.



Ollera & Guyra District Pioneers & Ollera Church Centenary
Ollera & Guyra District Pioneers & Ollera Church Centenary
Address: Malpas & Ollera Streets, St James Anglican Church
City/Town: Guyra
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Windows commemorate the Ollera and Guyra District Pioneers and Ollera Church Centenary.



Settlement by European farmers began in the 1835 when Alexander Campbell took up Guyra Station, which encompassed the now town area. Ollera Station was settled in 1838 and had the first church in the Guyra district when it was built in 1876.



Ore Obelisk
Ore Obelisk
Address: St Georges Terrace & Barrack Street, Stirling Gardens
City/Town: Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Ore Obelisk also known as the Harmony of Minerals is a memorial to the State`s progress and a symbol of a decade of mineral expansion between 1960 and 1970.



The Minerals of Harmony Obelisk was erected in 1971 to celebrate the millionth citizen of Western Australia.



Oswald Bloxsome`s Landing
Oswald Bloxsome`s Landing
Address: Harnett Avenue, Reid Park
City/Town: Mosman
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Plaque erected to mark the landing site and path to Bloxsome`s mansion "The Rangers".


Bloxsome arrived in Sydney in December 1838 armed with letters of introduction to Governor Gipps, he took part in an expedition to seek land for settlement. Bloxsome was accompanied by Archibald Boyd and a representative claiming land for Archibald Windeyer. They explored and selected land in the New England region, an area nicknamed `Beardy Valley` or `Land of the Beardies` since the three explorers were bearded. Bloxsome named his selection Rangers Valley. Ultimately he owned `an immense amount of land` but never lived on any of his properties. The Bloxsomes returned to England in October 1856. Bloxsome`s Sydney home, The Rangers at Mosman Bay, was built with convict labour in the early 1840s to the design of the Sydney architect John Frederick Hilly.


Palmer Institute
Palmer Institute
Address: Randell Road
City/Town: Palmer
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The restoration of the foundation stone for the Palmer Institute was undertaken to commemorate the Bicentenary of European settlement of Australia.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. 1988 is considered the official bicentenary year of the founding of Australia. The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage.



 



Parndana Soldier Settlement Museum
Parndana Soldier Settlement Museum
Address: Wedgewood Road
City/Town: Parndana
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The hall was built by the Returned Services League and dedicated as a memorial to Soldier Settlement. The building has now been converted into a museum and contains memorabilia, photographs and stories relating to the development of Parndana and surrounding districts. The museum was established in 2001 with funding from a Centenary of Federation grant.



Funded by a community arts grant, a series of dioramas telling the history of the area is contained in boxes set into the windows, and can be viewed from the outside of the building.  There is also a shed beside the hall which contains agricultural equipment used by the soldier settlers. 



Parndana was established after the Second World War to support the Soldier Settlement Scheme on Kangaroo Island. The name "Parndana" means "The Place of Little Gums".



Returned soldiers and their families began to arrive in the area in 1948, occupying huts brought from a former internment camp, and began to move onto their farms in 1951. A total of 174 families came to live in the area, almost doubling Kangaroo Island's population by 1954.



Note: Soldier settlement refers to the occupation and settlement of land throughout parts of Australia by returning discharged soldiers under schemes administered by the State Governments after World Wars One and Two.



Parramatta Centennial Memorial Clock
Parramatta Centennial Memorial Clock
Address: Church & Macquarie Streets
City/Town: Parramatta
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Clock and fountain commemorates the centenary of the settlement of Parramatta. It was erected in 1888 to commemorate the founding of the Colony.



Its plaque also commemorates the Mayor, Charles J. Byrnes, and the names of the eleven aldermen in office at the time.



Paterson Monument
Paterson Monument
Address: Esplanade North, Windmill Point
City/Town: George Town
State: TAS
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument marks spot where Lieutenant-Colonel Paterson took possession of Northern Tasmania in the name of King George III. In 1804 he raised the Union Jack on Monument Point and fired a salute from his ship, HMAS Buffalo, making George Town the first European settlement in the north and one of the first in Australia.



Paterson ran the HMS Buffalo aground at York Cove and, apparently unconcerned by this event, duly ran up the flag, fired three volleys in the air, and played the national anthem.



An outline of the celebrations to be arranged on the day on which the memorial commemoratlng the annexation by  Lieutenant-Colonel Paterson of Northern Tasmania at George Town will be unveiled, was given by Mr. A. T. Farmilo in an address yesterday at the Launceston Fifty Thousand League's weekly luncheon. Mr. Farmilo is the chairman of the special committee for the George Town celebrations which it is proposed to hold on December 28.  Mr. Farmilo explained that in 1804 Lieutenant-Colonel Paterson arrived in the Tamar in the ship Buffalo and on November 11 of that year landed approximately where the monument is now being erected at George Town. He raised his flag and read the proclamation formerly annexing the north of Tasmania as a Crown colony.

Examiner (Launceston), 12th November 1935.



Peak Crossing Pioneers
Peak Crossing Pioneers
Address: Ipswich-Boonah Road
City/Town: Peak Crossing
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Honours the pioneers who first settled the district in 1842.

Peel Memorial Well
Peel Memorial Well
Address: Mandurah Terrace & Pinjarra Road
City/Town: Mandurah
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Erected by Mandurah Progress Association and funded by public subscriptions, the well/monument commemorates the arrival in 1829 of Thomas Peel and his pioneer settlers, who arrived on the Gilmore (1829), the Hooghly (1830) and the Rockingham (1830).



Peel was an influential figure pushing for the establishment of the Swan River Colony, and his name is indelibly linked with both the Murray and Mandurah districts. He was a key person in the foundation of Mandurah, having originally controlled | much of the land in the Murray District. Financed by a merchant, Solomon Levey, he brought out a number of skilled workmen to the Colony. Peel and his son, Thomas Junior, leased and pioneered farmland between Mandurah and Serpentine. A controversial character, Thomas Peel had many critics but his strong and independent personality dominated the Mandurah region in its first 35 years. He died on 21 December 1865.



Pennyweight Flat Cemetery & Pioneers Memorial
Pennyweight Flat  Cemetery & Pioneers Memorial
Address: Colles Road, Pennyweight Flat Cemetery , Moonlight Flat
City/Town: Castlemaine
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Large sandstone headstone marking the site of the cemetery and commemorating the pioneers of the Forest Creek goldfield who are buried there. Over 200 children are buried from the goldrush days of 1852-1857 in the children's cemetery. The cemetery was restored and fenced in 1929.


On 20 July 1851 Thomas Peters, a hut-keeper on William Barker’s Mount Alexander station, found specks of gold at what is now known as Specimen Gully. This find was published in the Melbourne Argus on 8 September 1851, leading to a rush to the Mount Alexander or Forest Creek diggings, centred on present-day Castlemaine, claimed as the richest shallow alluvial goldfield in the world.


Peoples Place Bicentennial Park
Peoples Place Bicentennial Park
Address: Heatleys Parade
City/Town: Rowes Bay
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
A plaque commemorates the opening of the Peoples Place Bicentennial Park which was a Bicentennial Project.  

Perenjori Pioneers
Perenjori Pioneers
Address: Mullewa -Wubin Road
City/Town: Perenjori
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial entrance wall celebrates pioneers.


The Perenjori area was first explored by John Forrest in 1869 but it wasn¹t until gold was discovered at Rothsay in 1894 that any significant settlement occurred. The township was established in the years immediately prior to World War I when the land in the region was opened for selection. The first few years were extremely hard and the farmers struggled to survive but the arrival of the railway in 1915 and improved cropping methods eventually saw the district prosper.


Peter Pagan & William Evans
Peter Pagan & William Evans
Address: Grafton Road, Pagan`s Flat
City/Town: Tabulam
State: NSW
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Monument commemorates the first Europeans to settle this section of the Clarence River basin and settled Tabulam Station in 1840.


Peter Cunningham Pagan with his brother in law and partner William Tucker Evans were the first Europeans to settle this section of the Clarence river basin. They took up Tabulam station in 1840 when Messrs Clay & Stapleton (who later settled at Casino), failed to take possession within the time allotted to them. Pagan lost his life in an encounter with aborigines in 1841 and was buried near the Clarence river.


Peter Pan
Peter Pan
Address: Hay & Plain Streets, Queens Gardens
City/Town: East Perth
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

In 1929 the Peter Pan replica statue was presented to the children of Western Australia by the members and friends of the Rotary Club of Perth to celebrate the centenary of the state of Western Australia.



The statue is a replica of Sir George Frampton's famous Peter Pan statue which is located in London's Kensington Gardens in England and is one of only seven made from the original mould.



In 1929, Western Australia celebrated the centenary of the founding of Perth and the establishment of the Swan River Colony, the first permanent European settlement.



The bronze statue of Peter Pan, the last work of the late Sir George Frampton, has been placed in Queen's Gardens, Perth, by anonymous donors as a Centenary gift. It is a replica of the famous Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens, London, which was unveiled during the night to create a belief among the children that it had been planted there by the fairies. This idea has been followed in Perth.

The Brisbane Courier (Qld), 10th June 1929.



Petrie Tableau
Petrie Tableau
Address: Adelaide Street, King George Square
City/Town: Brisbane
State: QLD
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Commemorates the early settlers of Brisbane and the pioneering spirit of the city. 


Andrew Petrie (1798 - 20 February 1872) was a builder, architect and Australian pioneer. Andrew Petrie and his family, the first free-settlers to move to the area, travelled to Dunwich aboard the James Watt and where then transferred in a pilot boat, manned by convicts that landed at King's Jetty, the only landing place that then existed, now known as North Quay. His first important task was to repair the mechanism of the windmill which had never worked. His general duty was the supervision of prisoners engaged in making such necessities as soap and nails, and in building. He also made inspections of government owned sheep and cattle and placed a number of beacons on navigational hazards in the Brisbane River.He was the first white man to climb Mount Beerwah, one of the Glass House Mountains seen by James Cook, and he was also the first to bring back samples of the Bunya pine.


Philptown Cemetery/ Chain of Ponds
Philptown Cemetery/ Chain of Ponds
Address: North East Road, Philptown Cemetery
City/Town: Chain of Ponds
State: SA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement
Plaque erected in memory of those who are buried in the cemetery. The plaque lists the names of those who were known to be buried in the cemetery.

Pictorial Quilt
Pictorial Quilt
Address: 259 Hargreaves Street, Bendigo Library
City/Town: Bendigo
State: VIC
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

The Pictorial Quilt was created to commemorate Australia's Bicentenary in 1988. The quilt features landmarks in the City of Bendigo.



The bicentenary of Australia was celebrated in 1988. It marked 200 years since the arrival of the First Fleet of British convict ships at Sydney in 1788. The Australian Bicentennial Authority (ABA) was set up to plan, fund and coordinate projects that emphasized the nation's cultural heritage. State Councils were also created to ensure cooperation between the federal and state governments.



Pilbara Pioneer Memorial
Pilbara Pioneer Memorial
Address: Francis Street
City/Town: Marble Bar
State: WA
Theme: Landscape
Sub-Theme: Settlement

Memorial commemorates the pioneers of the Pilbara region and was erected on the centenary of Marble Bar. It also honours Lang Hancock who discovered the Pilbara iron ore fields.



Marble Bar sprung up as part of the gold rushes to the Pilbara in the late 1880s.  Gold was actually discovered near Marble Bar in 1891