Vlamingh ExpeditionPrint Page
A plaque commemorates the 300th anniversary of the Vlamingh landing and the establishment of the Vlamingh Parklands.
It was at or near this location that Dutchman William De Vlamingh, together with 85 crew of the ships "Geelvink", "Nijptangh" and "Weseltje" came ashore on 5th January, 1697 to become the first Europeans to visit and explore the south west of what was then known as "New Holland".
|Address:||Curtin Avenue, Near Vlamingh Obelisk , Cottesloe, 6011|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -32.015222|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Actual Event STart Date:||1697|
|Actual Event End Date:||1997|
|Actual Monument Dedication Date:||Sunday 16th November, 1997|
ON THE 3RD MAY, 1696, THE SHIPS “GEELVINCK” (CREW 134) “NIJPTANGH” (50) AND “WESTELTJE” (14)
SAILED FROM AMSTERDAM, HOLLAND, UNDER THE COMMAND OF WILLEM DE HESSELS VLAMINGH TO
EXPLORE “THE GREAT SOUTHLAND”
ON THE 30TH DECEMBER, A PARTY WAS LANDED ON ROTTNEST ISLAND FOR WATER AND FIREWOOD.
ON SATURDAY THE 5TH JANUARY, 1697, “WESELTJE” LANDED 86 OFFICERS AND MEN ON THE
BEACH IN THE VICINITY OF THIS MEMORIAL, EXPLORING AND NAMING THE SWAN RIVER.
ON THE 13 JANUARY, 1697, THE THREE VESSELS SAILED NORTH EXPLORING THE WEST AUSTRALIAN COASTLINE BEFORE SETTING COURSE FOR BATAVIA BEACH