Major Thomas Mitchell ExpeditionPrint Page Print this page

A cairn commemorates Major Thomas Mitchell who passed through the area in 1836. 

At the unveiling of the Bulla memorial for Hume and Hovell, Charles Daley the Secretary of the Victorian Historical Society suggested that the idea be extended to other explorers and a committee was formed to mark out the routes of Charles Sturt, Thomas Mitchell, Angus McMillan, and Count Paul de Strzelecki.

Thirty-six cairns or tablets to Mitchell were erected at Nyah West, Swan Hill, Cohuna, Mount Pyramid, Fernihurst, Wedderburn, Kanya, Stawell, Mount William, Horsham, Mount Arapiles, Miga Lake, Harrow, Coleraine, Casterton, Dartmoor, Isle of Bags, Portland, Mount Rouse, Mount Napier, Hamilton, Lake Repose, Dunkeld, Middle Creek, Mount Greenock, Skipton, Mitchellstown, Nagambie, Castlemaine, Expedition Pass, Kyneton, Benalla, Wangaratta, Chiltern, Gooramadda and a public park at Natimuk (Major Mitchell Park, Mount Arapiles, Natimuk).

In the presence of a large crowd on Saturday afternoon a cairn with an inscribed tablet was unveiled at the bridge at Fernihurst, on the Boort road, to mark the spot where Major Mitchell erected an improvised bridge across the Loddon River. An historical sketch was delivered by Councillor Gray, of the Korong Shire.
Argus (Melbourne), 31 August 1936.



Address:Boort - Fernihurst Road, Fernihurst, 3518
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -36.257749
Long: 143.871033
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Landscape
Approx. Event Start Date:1836
Approx. Event End Date:1836


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 29th August, 1936
Source: MED
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design