Charles SturtPrint Page
A memorial commemorates Charles Sturt who camped at Stephen`s Creek in 1844 and 1845.
BROKEN HILL October 15. At 4 p.m. tomorrow the memorial to Captain Charles Sturt, recently erected at Stephen's Creek, will be unveiled and presented to the public of Broken Hill and Australia. A handsome bronze tablet, suitably inscribed, has been built into a cairn of rough stones, and, standing at the entrance to the main drive of the pumping station, will attract the attention of all who visit this place. It should stand as a permanent memorial to Start, who camped at this spot 93 years ago.
The Advertiser (Adelaide, SA), 16 October 1937.
|Address:||Barrier Highway, Stephens Creek Pumping Station, 16 kms NE of Broken Hill, Broken Hill, 2880|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -31.880112|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Approx. Event Start Date:||1844|
|Approx. Event End Date:||1845|
|Actual Monument Dedication Date:||Saturday 16th October, 1937|