Sturt Expedition Print Page
On August 10, 1844, Sturt's carefully selected and well-equipped expedition set out from Adelaide to explore the hitherto unknown interior of Australia. This year places along the route from Adelaide to beyond the Queensland border are planning to commemorate the centenary of that great expedition, and to honor the memory of the first white men to pass their district.
The president of the S.A. branch of the Royal Geographical Society (Mr. Hambidge), accompanied by Mrs. Hambidge and a number of fellow members, will leave Adelaide on a pilgrimage to participate in the unveiling ceremonies between Gawler and Renmark. The places visited will be: Gawler, Daveyston, Light Pass, Nuriootpa, Truro, Angaston, Koonunga, Morgan, Barmera and Renmark.
Barrier Miner (Broken Hill, NSW), 11 August 1944.
|Address:||Murray Street & Penrice Road, Angaston, 5353|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -34.5005|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Actual Event STart Date:||16-August-1844|
|Actual Event End Date:||17-August-1844|
|Approx. Monument Dedication Date:||1944|
Captain Charles Sturt
Central Australian Exploring Expedition
The Members Of
The Dray Party Passed Through
This District 16 - 17 August, 1844
And Were The Guests Of J. H. Angas