Proclamation of Shire of Mansfield Print Page Print this page

Proclamation of Shire of Mansfield : 17-June-2013
Proclamation of Shire of Mansfield : 17-June-2013

Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

Commemorates the proclamation of the Shire of Mansfield


Address:Highett Street, Mansfield, 3722
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.053447
Long: 146.0873
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Monday 28th October, 2002
Front Inscription

Municipal History

Shire Crest 1886-1994

1866 - The Shire of Mansfield is proclaimed.  Shire area corresponds ti the former Mansfield Road District.
1872 - The Merton Riding of the Shire of Alexandra joins the Shire of Mansfield.
1874 - The Shire of Howqua is proclaimed.  Shire area corresponds to the former Howqua District Road Board and the Borough of Jamieson.
1919 - The Shire of Howqua is divided between Mansfield and Upper Yarra Shires.
1985 - Alpine Resorts Commission assumes administration of Mt. Buller and Mt. Stirling.  Resort Management Boards supercede ARC in 1998.
1994 - The Shire of Mansfield is amalgamated with the City and Shire of Benalla to form the Delatite Shire.
2002 - The Delatite Shire is divided into the Rural City of Benalla and the Mansfield Shire Council.

Plaque commemorates the proclamation of the Mansfield Shire Council 28th October 2002

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design