1927 Royal VisitPrint Page
A plaque commemorates the visit of the Duke and Duchess of York to Beaudesert in 1927.
The Duke and Duchess of York (later King George VI and the Queen Mother) were on a five week tour of Australia, beginning in New South Wales. The main purpose of their visit was for the Duke to formally open the new Commonwealth Parliament building in Canberra, which he did on 9 May 1927.
|Address:||Telemon Street (Mt Lindesay Highway), Jubilee Park, Beaudesert, 4285|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -27.989444|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
In 1927, the Duke and Duchess of York visited Beaudesert. They were later crowned King and Queen of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions in 1937.
The Royal couple arrived in Beaudesert by train and were welcomed by the Mayor, Alderman M Selwyn Smith and then taken by car to the Ilbogan Racecourse where a bushmen`s carnival, campdraft and corroboree were enjoyed.
12,000 people attended the carnival with 2,000 cars parked ten deep around the course. The many ladies present in their fashionable outfits added colour to the picturesque setting. The Duke and Duchess were entertained to lunch on the banks of the lagoon. As the Royal couple were about to depart the Aboriginal people sang a song of farewell, and presented their Highnessess with two boomerangs, a nulla nulla and a woomera and the crowd broke into a "heart, loyal Australian cheer."