Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page

Centenary of Federation : November 2013
Centenary of Federation : November 2013
Photographs supplied by Nancy Alford

Plaque at Gisborne as part of the Macedon Ranges Federation Trail commemorates the centenary of Federation of the Australian Commonwealth in 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government that they had developed as separate colonies but also would have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Aitken Street, Gisborne, 3437
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.487703
Long: 144.592428
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Approx. Event Start Date:1901
Approx. Event End Date:2001


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2001
Front Inscription

Macedon Ranges Shire Council

Centenary of Federation 2001
1901 -2001
Macedon Ranges Federation Trail

Settlement of this district began in 1836, with the arrival of John Aitken and Henry Howey. The Bush Inn was built in 1840 and in 1851 the township was surveyed and named in honour of Henry Fyfe Gisborne, a former Commissioner of Crown Lands. Discovery of gold at Mt Alexander brought many travellers through the town. With the opening of the railway in 1851, Gisborne became the centre of the pastoral district . In 2001, growth of industry and commerce has created a vibrant community, enjoying quality recreational , commercial and support services, yet retaining historic, tranquil and leafy surroundings.


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design