150th Anniversary of Woolshed Flat ChurchPrint Page
A plaque commemorates the 150th Anniversary of the Woolshed Flat Church.
James Kemp donated the acre of land where the church now stands as testament to the community’s determination to have a place of worship. Stone for the building came from a nearby quarry, and the building was completed in August 1859 – although parishioners originally had to enter through the back door as there was initially no money left to finish the steps at the front entrance, which were eventually made of Mintaro slate.
Pews were rented to local families to raise money for the church. The church began as a Wesleyan church, then Methodist, before becoming a Uniting Church.
|Address:||Rhynie - Balaklava Road, Woolshed Flat, 5412|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -34.122089|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Approx. Event Start Date:||1859|
|Approx. Event End Date:||2009|
|Actual Monument Dedication Date:||Sunday 30th August, 2009|
This plaque commemorates 150 years of WOOLSHED FLAT CHURCH
30 August 2009