Sailors Rest Centenary of HospitalityPrint Page
A plaque commemorates 100 years of hospitality to the community from this site.
The foundation stone for Sailors’ Rest was laid by then Premier of Victoria, the Hon. John Murray, MLA on February 3rd, 1912 as a memorial to honour King Edward VII. This two storey brick and cement rendered Edwardian period structure was designed by architects Seeley, King and Everett, the design being attributed to Percy Everett and was notable for the nautical art nouveau ornamentation and use of reinforced concrete in a raft floor slab.
Completed in 1913, Sailors’ Rest provided company and entertainment for sailors whom had spent weeks, and often months at sea in the confines of sailing ships. In fact Sailors’ Rest served as a home away from home for seafarers until 1986. The electric Sailors' Rest sign was erected in 1926 and is reportedly the oldest remaining electric sign in Victoria. It is still operational today and the inspiration for the current logo.
The current owners have been dishing up delicious food to locals and tourists alike since 2001 steadily building a reputation for excellence. The iconic Sailors’ Rest building is heritage listed and operates today amongst Geelong’s leading restaurant and function venues.
|Address:||Moorabool Road and Eastern Beach , Sailors Rest , Geelong, 3220|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -38.144354|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Actual Event STart Date:||09-November-1912|
|Actual Event End Date:||09-November-2012|
THIS PLAQUE COMMEMORATES
100 YEARS OF HOSPITALITY TO
THE COMMUNITY ON THIS SITE
9-11-1912 to 9-11-2012