Centenary of the Royal Australian NavyPrint Page Print this page

Two plaques on plinths commemorate the centenary of the Royal Australian Navy and those who lost their lives in naval service.

At an Imperial Conference held in 1909, it was decided to deploy to Australian waters a naval unit consisting of at least a battle cruiser, three second class cruisers, six destroyers, three submarines and a number of auxiliaries. The first units of this Navy, the destroyers, HMA Ships Yarra and Parramatta, reached Australian waters in November 1910 and in the following year on 10 July 1911, His Majesty King George V granted the title of 'Royal Australian Navy' to the Commonwealth Naval Forces.


Address:Rockingham Beach & Governor Roads, Naval Memorial Park, East Rockingham, 6168
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -32.261944
Long: 115.746667
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Conflict


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 11th December, 2011
Left Side Inscription

In memory of all our shipmates who have gone on before and now rest in the bosm of the Great Mariner

Lest we forget

Celebrating 100 years
Royal Australian Navy 


Right Side Inscription

1911 Celebrating 100 years  2011

They have no grave but the cruel sea
No flowers at their head
A rusting hulk is their tombstone
Afast on the ocean bed

They shall not grow old as we that are left grow old
Age shall not weary them nor the years condemn
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them

Lest we forget


Source: DVA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design