

[Block by courtesy of "The Argus."]

THE ELTHAM SHIRE WAR MEMORIAL TOWER.

The Governor-General, accompanied by Lady Stonehaven, and attended by Captain W. R. Broadhurst, chamberlain, performed the unveiling ceremony of the memorial to the soldiers from the shire of Eltham who fell in the Great War, at Garden Hill, Kangaroo Ground, on November 11. The following are additions to the report of last issue:—

The tower is constructed of stone and reinforced concrete with sandstone

rnbble facing, and concrete quoins and dressings. The foundations are in solid rock, and the base of the tower is 16 x 16 external, and 11 x 11 internal, the wall being 2 feet 6 inches thick at the base, tapering to 16 inches at the top. There is an internal stairway of jarrah, with galvanised iron pipe handrailings. It was gratuitously designed by Messrs Stephenson and Meldrum, architects, Melbourne; the stone was donated by Professor

the stone was donated by Professor Osborne (of the University) from the quarry at Kangaroo Ground; the brass figures over the gates by Mr C. J. McCormack (formerly shire engineer); and the sand by Mr Tom Scarce, of Kangaroo Ground. The list of subscribers and donations have already been published. The contractor was Mr Geo. Rousell, of Mordialloc (formerly of Ballarat). Mr W. A. Wippell (now of Ivanhoe), was the first to suggest a memorial park, and he gave £50 towards the land. Then Mr Basil Hall, as President of the Panton Hill branch of the R.S.S.I.L.A. suggested the tower, and organised a committee to work for it. After he left the council, Cr H. Ratter became president of the committee, and Mr Ben Johnson took over the secretaryship from Mr P. J. Mc-McMahon, carrying out the duties in a very complete and satisfactory manner. The other names of

the reception committee are Mesdames Bell, Bourchier, Rutter, Miss Shannon and Crs Price and Bell, and Messrs R. C. Bourchier and D. Rodger.

Amongst those present were Crs Hewitt (president), Andrew, Price, Bell, Lorimer, Rutter, Ryan, Hubbard (Eltham shire), and conucillors from surrounding shires, including Lilydale; Mr W. H. Everard, M.L.A., Mr Russell Clark, M.L.C., Professor Osborne, Mr Thwaites, secretary National Roads Association, who arranged for the taking of a film; Mr Meldrum, Messrs C. Monteith and J. Jones (vice-presidents of the Fathers' Association); Mr Turnbull, president of the Returned Soldiers' Association; Mr Basil Hall, Mr B. A. J. Rouse, Com. Gunnery officer, and others whose names we were unable to get.

were unable to get.

The committee entertained His Excellency and Lady Stonehaven to afternoon tea, after which they left amidst cheers.

The committee wish to thank all those who assisted at the opening by lending coppers for hot water, tarpaulins for tent, and forms, &c., from the Kangaroo Ground church.

The following further donations have been received :- "Turn to the Right," £25; E. J. McFarlane 5/, refund Shire of Eltham £1/1/, J. P. Barrow £1/1/, collection at memorial—H. Cracknell £1/5/6 and Mrs Jones £1/11/10; Hugh Robertson £1, W. Masson 10/6, Mrs Bourchier £5, Percy Leason £5/5/, C. and P. Frencham £5/5/, Mrs F. Lacey 10/. Miss Carr £1, Miss Hunter £1, Mrs Balakian £1/1/, J. McDonald £1, W. Pretty £1/1/, D. Lyons £1/1/, Mrs E. T. Scarce £2, L. Cameron £5 5/, L. Quilliam £1, Jack Hink 10/, O. J. Mueller £1, sale of portraits and collection £12/7/5, donation 2', Mrs Hawkes £1, Sir Wm. Irvine £2/2/;

total (including £998/17/9 previously acknowledged), £1077/7/. In a previous list Mr C. F. Pryor, £5, was only credited with £1.

The following are the names on the Honor Board :-

A. T. Abassie, Bert. Allen.

Edward Barrett, John Charlton Bell, Edward Bird, William Bond, Evelyn Denison Bourchier, Charles Broomfield, Arthur Brown, George Brown, John Leonard Brown, Walter Bruce.

Charles Callan, Thomas Cameron, Frederick Carpenter, Alfred Cassell, Albert Close, Harry Conway, Herbert Creed, William Crellin, Charles Chandler.

Robert Henry Davey, C. Dinsdale.

movert menry Davey, O. Dinsgate. Samuel Farlow. W. H. Gammon, Geoffrey Treacher Grant, Samuel Giles. C. Hubbard, E. Hubbard, R. J. Harris, S. Harris, W. Holding, George Arthur Horn, A. Hunt, Charles Hawkes. Francis M. Ingham, J. Irvine. H. Jarvis, J. Jell, Edward Jennings. John C. Lawrey, Rupert Laity. H. Marshall, Harold H. McDonald, A. McLeod, A. McLeod, L. McLeod, Robert Meadows, George Frederick Mills, Ernest Gordon Mills, George Frederick Moore, Walter Moseley, Albert E. Morris, Jonathan Lionel Mills. Henry Norman, Ernest North. William John O'Day. Henry E. Phillips, J. Pickering, William Prior, James Prior. Stevens Roslyn. Kenneth Sharp, D. Shilito, Reginald E. Sims, S. Smedley, Frank Smith, George Somerville, Donald, Spicer, Reginald Swift. R. N. Waight, George Weir, George Williams, John V. Wilson, Stanley A. Wilson, E. Colin Wilson. Edward Yates.